SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

"Tears of the Sun"
2003-04-04, 4:56 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

SPRING BREAK!!!

So far, this week looks depressing. Damn. The weather is terrible right now, and I don't think I am ready for this break. I have never not wanted a break.

Also, McB was telling his Mom all night last night that he didn't have homework, and later, his Mom came upstairs to see that he was doing homework. At around 10:00pm. So his Mom threatened to take his Game Cube away.

Walking home, he said that he might call me up to see if I could come over. He didn't. Something happened, and I'll talk to him about it.

My cousin Katie is at war with her Mom. She's moved in with her Dad now. Uncle Vito. Funny guy. I wonder how she's feeling about this, because she hasn't been on IM at all. Katie must be by a computer. She's always on. I don't really know or understand, but I'm sure this has something to do with why she was mad at me.

Katie has her "best friend" Megan, and I think that's awesome. I talked to Megan again the other day.

Last night I was going to surprise Dad by paying for he and I to go see "Tears of the Sun." Unfortunatly, Diana had some piano thing and he couldn't go. Instead, he drove me up to the Sun theater and I gave him my money and he paid for me. It was rated R, and that's why he had to pay for me. So, I go into this R rated movie, alone, and everybody in the theater is at least five rows back. I sit in the front, like always.

The movie was really awesome. It was scary though. I'm going to give away some major plot points here, so if you really want to see it you could stop reading right here.

Bruce Willis plays A.K. Waters. He is sent to get an american doctor, Lena Kendricks, and two nuns, and a priest. Cool plot. They must get these people out of South Africa before Gorjilla's come in to kill the whole town of them. They go by helicopter and parachute out. They find the doctor as soon as they get there.

She doesn't want to go without knowing that her people will be safe, which they won't. So Waters calls his cammanding officer, played by Tom Skerrit, and tells him about that problem.

Waters tells Kendricks that she wins, and to get only the people who can walk by themselves. They walk for about a day to get to a helicopter rendezvous. There, Waters grabs Lena and leaves her people just standing there. Terribly mean trick. She kicks and screams "You lied to me" and cries. This was great acting by Monica Belucci.

As they fly away the pilot says "We saw this when we came in" and Waters looks down to see Lena's village burned, and dead people are all over the place. Lena sees this too, and starts screaming and crying. It was a very emotional scene too.

Waters looks at her and orders the pilot to turn the chopper around. They meet up with the others and take away the elderly and children.

OH, and one time while they were traveling overnight, they stopped to rest a little bit, and Lena gave this one baby a shot, and the baby was crying of course, and then some Gorjilla's came. Gorjilla's are an urban force in south America. The baby was hurting and trying to scream, but they had to be quiet because of the badguys who were around and would kill any living thing. This was my favorite part because it was so scary.

After Waters' and his men stayed with Lena, they traveled around and found out that they had some people of their tail. Tracking them.

At this point, the only person that Waters' needed to have was Lena. The nuns never came, and they stayed with the priest, and the three of them were murdered.

Waters' found a hideout place where the Gorjilla's tortured people. What they would do is cut off women's breasts so they couldn't breast feed their children. This really made you hate the badguy's. They also had men dance in the rain while being shot at. This was all for humiliation. And, of course, these bad men would rape the women to get them pregnant, which would cause more pain for them.

The team of Waters' men sniped out some of these guys and that was a cool part. One soldier got really pissed off after seeing a woman brutally raped and terribly bloody, and he beat the shit out of one Gorjilla. I liked that part. They gave the beaten woman some drugs to kill her quickly because there was no way of saving her. That was a little disturbing, but really good. Brutal war violence. Bruce Willis had been hit with someones bullet in the arm, and Lena took care of them. They bonded. She was not bad looking at all either.

They were still being tracked, and by the end there was a whole army after these men. There were about 30 African Americans and 8 soldiers. Against what really looked like hundreds of Gorjillas. Luckily some air support came and killed the Gorjilla's after a bloody shoot out killing many of the good guys. The leader of the Gorjilla's died here. He screamed and blew up. It was cool, and really quick. The bombs were huge, and Waters' was near them.

After a while, Lena was looking into the fire and saw Waters' and three of his men come out. Bruce Willis lives. Good ending, and they fly away, Lena kisses him and holds onto his head, happy that he went back for her people, but sad that he had lost most of his men. Her people were reunited with their children and grandfathers/fathers. Happy ending.

This was one of the best war movies I have seen. Black Hawk Down is still the best though.

We Were Soldiers. I just watched that one in the basement on my ps2. I didn't like that one as much because of what war it was. Its Mel Gibson though, and that's what makes it really good. He's charming, haha. The music is good in that but the war-Vietnam is to terrible. I hate that war. I hate all wars, but that was really hot, dry, and in the movie all they had were guns and helicopters. I hated "Platoon" also because it was about the Vietnam war.

"Saving Private Ryan" was really good, but Tom Hanks dies in it, and I hate having the main guy die like that.

"Pearl Harbor" is a no no. Seriously, do you think that they would be playing "chicken" with the Japenese that day? Stupid movie. That movie did have the best music though. Awesome music by Hans Zimmer. He also did "Tears of the Sun."

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: ""Tears of the Sun""

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top