SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

Kurk Douglas/"Memento"
2003-04-10, 12:48 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

Memento is one of the best movies ever made. Guy Pierce stars as a guy whose wife is murdered, or so he thinks, and the killer hits him while trying to kill his wife and his brain is damaged in a way that he cannot make any new memories. The acting is awesome, superb, and the directing is definitly awesome because the director wrote the movie also, Christopher Nolan. The film editing I definitly noticed. I always notice film editing but here, the editing is very unique. The movie is told backwards. I heard that the movie was told backwards, but I didn't believe it, but it really is and it looks really cool.

Warning: I'm going to give away the whole "ending" here:

The plot is the guy, Lenard, was sleeping while he hears his wife being hurt, and she is screaming, so he runs and sees this man raping her, and he tries to stop him. He was hit on the head and then fell down to see his wife. She is barely alive. She actually survives and learns that her husband, Lenard, cannot remember anything after what happened, and she becomes depressed and hates her life now. One day, she wants to find out if her husband is faking it or not, and she tells him that its time for her shot. She's a diabetic. He gives her the shot, walks away and sits down next to her, and she tells him that its time for her shot. He gives her shot to her and when he sits back down to watch TV, she turns her watch back and tells him that its time for her shot. After the third shot in about 20 minutes, I think what happens is her heart starts beating really fast and she dies. He thinks that the man who came into his house killed her because that's the last thing he remembers. So, he goes into town to find the killer. He meets a man, Teddy, who uses him and makes fun of him because he can't remember anything. He also meets a woman, Natilie, who uses him to have sex and kill any of her boyfriends who hurt her.

That is definitly one of my favorite movies. He describes how he remember his wife dying, and whenever he wakes up in the middle of the night he feels his wifes' side of the bed, which is cold, to remind him that she has died, and he will never see her again. Sad movie, but only because you feel so sorry for this guy. He slowly gains little memory back, and instead of him killing his wife by giving her so many shots, he hears about this other guy, named Sammy, that is totally imagined by him. He tells the story about Sammy killing his wife and then going to a mental hospital, but in the "end" of the movie we find out that Sammy is really Lenard. The movie has many memorable characters and was just so dramatic. There was not a lot of action but the movie definitly keeps you interested.

In the very end, we find out that he got mad at Teddy for using him so badly and then wrote Teddy's liscense plate down and after taking his picture writes on the back "Don't believe his lies." The only way he can leave himself clues is by taking pictures, he had to take a picture of the hotel he was staying at, and by writing things on the pictures. Teddy is a cop, and uses Lenard to catch some badguys by giving him fake clues. You must see this movie, but you'll need to pay attention. I'm going to watch it again.

"Heist" was a stupid ass movie with terrible action, terrible acting, and a stupid story I have seen many many times. I like the actors in it, Danny DeVito, Gene Hackman, and newcomer Sam Rockwell, but the movie was really stupid. I was very disapointed.

My Mom just took my sisters to the dentist and told me that they were going out to a movie after. Instead Mom came home and is now laying in bed upstairs. Wasting her day, she is reading or sleeping or something. Reading is great, but I only like to do it just before going to sleep. Mom bought me a book about an actor, Kurk Douglas, who tried to kill himself because after his stroke he couldn't talk very well. When he put the gun in his mouth, the barrel hit his teeth and he just started laughing. He laughed so hard that a woman came in to see if he was okay and he told her that he tried to kill himself but the gun hit his teeth and sent a weird feeling through his whole body.

I haven't seen many movies with Kurk Douglas but I think I should start to. He was in "20,000 Leagues Under The Sea", and "Diamonds."

His latest movie is "It Runs In The Family" starring his wife, and his son, Michael Douglas, and Michael's son.

I haven't started reading Kurk's book "My Stroke of Luck" yet but I can't wait to.

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "Kurk Douglas/"Memento""

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top