SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

Slithering to Sleep
2003-09-10, 8:06 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

This is a paper on Myths and Legends I did for english class. Myths have morals and conflict, and everybody had to do one. Here's mine:

When I was little, my dad was the parent who would lie and tell scary stories. All kinds of stories, and they were only stories. Most did not have morals or anything to actually make me think. I had two sisters, younger than I, and we all loved hearing Dad tell us scary stories. He had stories about a black �magoon.� A monster, I�m guessing his parents told him about. Sometimes, us kids would get up from watching television and yell out �MOM!?� Dad would answer in a high voice, terribly imitating Mom, �yes?� When we asked where she was, he would tell us that she was doing laundry, and when we checked out the laundry room, she wasn�t there. I used to love staying up late with Dad and watch movies. He always had episodes of �M.A.S.H.� that he taped. He would watch them a lot, and I always loved the first �Batman� movie. Nine o�clock was our bedtime, and we would never want to go to sleep. We never wanted to get up to go to school either. I�m guessing that�s because we never went to sleep on time, but I still do not get up for school as early as possible.

Most parents would just sing or read a bedtime story to their kids as they drift off to sleep, but not my dad. My dad came up with the most brilliant plan of all. His plan is only brilliant to my mind now. He would bring my sisters and me upstairs in our bedrooms. He would make sure that we were in bed, and then he would tell us not to get out of bed for the rest of the night because snakes were under the bed. The snakes would bite our feet if we left our beds in the night.

Snakes had not bothered me before. I had seen them in so many movies like the �Indiana Jones� trilogy. Knowing that snakes would bite my ankles if I stepped out of bed during the night was so frightening to me. I think I was about 5 years old at the time. This was when my mom was pregnant with my second sister. The thought of snakes scared me, and I remember not being able to watch the great action packed �Indiana Jones� trilogy without turning away from the television whenever a snake came on the screen. The movie frightened me.

After so long of being afraid of snakes and thinking they were under my bed to bite me if I got out of bed, I asked Mom to stay with me. I was too terrified of sleeping alone. I started thinking that the snakes would come out from under my bed and bite me in my sleep. She would tell me to think of being on a beach before going to sleep. I would think of lying on a beach, and falling asleep on the beach.

One day I decided that there was no way that snakes would be under my bed. How would they get under there? Dad, he would put snakes under my bed. Sometimes, right after he left me in my bed, he would sit at the top of the stairs and make hissing noises, like a snake would. I walked down to the basement to find a box of snakes that my dad would have kept. I never found the box, and Dad would not tell me how snakes got under the bed.

I am still afraid of snakes today. I can watch movies with them, but seeing a live one in front of my face makes my face turn pale. When I thought about why Dad would ever tell me there were snakes under the bed, I think that it was just to scare me. No moral could have come from that. I never actually saw the snakes, and the thought of them just went away after a while. Telling me there were snakes under the bed was supposed to put me in bed for the night, and instead of getting up I would fall asleep. So my dad told me there were snakes under the bed so I would get a good amount of sleep each night so I would be more prepared for the next day. I would never do that to my kids!

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "Slithering to Sleep"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top