SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

"Hidalgo," and "Thir13en Ghosts"
2004-03-22, 3:54 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

After seeing "Starsky and Hutch" on Saturday, I used Sunday to watch a couple more movies, movies that I have never seen before. I hear people say "this was a great movie," and I don't want to tell them "no it wasn't." So this diary is just another place I can talk about movies that way, so don't take offense, I watch movies in a different way than anybody else and I don't have the same tastes as anybody. So read on, these movies I saw this weekend, and didn't like.

"Hidalgo" is a movie that a lot of people are liking. I can understand how people would love this movie and how some hype has gotten started. It has a weird feel, or look to it, where you think that you have to like it. I got a really strong feel similar to this when I saw "Seabiscuit." Movies I like are likable and not movies that you have to see or have to like, just because you'll feel bad if you don't. Maybe you have no idea what I'm talking about, so I'll move on.

I personally think that "Hidalgo" was one of the worst movies of the year. This movie had a couple really cool action scenes, and those were what sold tickets, those were what was used in previews and what got me to want to see the movie.

It started out with a couple guys, one of them being cocky, and the other being our main character. Hidalgo was his horse. The cocky one seemed like a guy thinking he was acting well, when really, was being laughed at by Vicky, although she was laughing at a lot of unnecessary parts. I think we were just havin a good time watchin the movie, though after the start of it, I didn't like it.

The main titles came on shaky and looked cheap, believe it or not, the main titles looked CHEAP.

While Vicky was getting popcorn, the Indian villiage where the main guy was staying was almost completely murdered. Then it was 8 months later, and he was riding his horse in a show with really messy lipstick on his face, and I suppose that it was on to either make him look like a clown or make it so we could see his lips. Or maybe it was cheap blood, I don't know. I didn't understand the whole beginning. It reminded me of "The Last Samurai," where I had no idea what was going on.

The main guy meets a fancy lady, who, no matter where she is, how sandy she gets, or whatever, she is always really clean.

The transitions from scene to scene were terrible. You may not understand, but I can recall a very heavy action scene where the music was getting louder, and then you could hear drums and it was going perfectly to the beat of the horse running. Then the scene stopped, the music stopped and it was night time and I was bored again.

That action scene was really great. This really large black man came on and had a huge sword. I have no idea where he came from. I had no idea, at the time, whether he was good or bad. All I knew was that when he killed a man by throwing his heavy sword at him, I was impressed. I leaned over to Vicky and said "He's my favorite character." THEN HE DIED! DAMMIT! He got shot!

I don't even think that Viggo Mortenson is a good actor. He got me to smile a couple times and maybe even laugh, but he's not really ready to drive a movie on its own. Just because he was in the "Lord of the Rings" movies, doesn't mean that he should be making movies on his own. I learned that from Orlando Bloom.

I'm sure most of you know the camera angle that shows the back of a man's head, and the person he's talking to. Well, in this movie, it showed a man's ass and the people he was talking to. I didn't really enjoy that view. There were a lot of camera shots that were extremely pointless.

"Thir13en Ghosts" was the other movie I saw. I think that whole movie was pointless. The ghost sounds were loud enough so that when something that seemed like it was supposed to be scary happened, it wasn't scary. Meaning when the sound of the ghosts were heard, the scary music didn't do anything for me. There were scenes when the characters were in the basement and saw somebody on another floor. I was totally lost in the house of the thirteen ghosts. The "eye of hell" in the end was stupid and a waste of my time. It was just a totally unbelievable movie. The ghosts were stupid. The body effects of getting killed were stupid. It wasn't fun, it wasn't a funhouse, it wasn't even exciting. It did nothing for me. I'm sorry, but this movie just didn't do anything for me. Joel Silver, the producer, has finally done a bad movie.

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: ""Hidalgo," and "Thir13en Ghosts""

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top