SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

Uncle Rob and Aunt Amy; Divorce
2004-03-30, 3:09 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

My mind has lately been thinking about relationships. Not just mine, I'm not one to usually think about only myself. I have not really thought about lesbians recently, although the idea of it is still completely sexy to me.

The other day I was on the computer, which seems to be very usual, and my little sister Diana came up to me. I think she was telling me dinner was ready, and that our Uncle Rob was going to be over for dinner. "Why is uncle Rob coming over?" I asked, in a mean tone, but jokingly.

"You do know that he and aunt Amy got a divorce, didn't you?"

Oh boy.

A couple Christmas' ago, I realize now, I walked past Papa talking with Uncle Rob, and now I have a vision stuck in my mind. Whenever I think of Uncle Rob, I see him on a black futon with Papa, crying.

I think this vision has been stuck with me, because I don't ever see adults cry. I see my mom scream at me and then act crying. But she's a girl, and does that just to be hated by me, apparently, because I always tell her to knock it off.

But my Uncle Rob was crying on the futon during the christmas season. I'm deciding that because he is a man, that is why I have never forgotten this image. Its dark, and I am walking up the stairs to see what is going on between them.

As I am remembering this, I am getting a lot of new memories.

That was Christmas, and I am thinking about my trip to the upstairs of my aunt Cathy's house. Before seeing Uncle Robbie crying with Papa, I saw Aunt Amy, his wife, in the living room. She looked angry, and she was shrugging her shoulders looking like she was saying "I don't care."

Then I walked past Uncle Rob in a seperate room with Papa. This is why Nona and Papa moved to Florida, to get away from the family who causes so much stress. If you ever want to hear stories about my aunt Joanne, then you'll be busy with me for a while. Aunt Joanne is like The Fat One.

Speaking of Aunt Joanne, two summers ago (which included my favorite week of alltime), I was best friends with Katie. I went down there, talked with her, made jokes, and then drank for her so she wouldn't. My favorite week, my first time drinking, my last time drinking, and a lot of drinking, that was. It also included me going to Taco Bell at 1:00am, remember this story? If not, I will need to find out which entry it is that I talk about it.

Joanne was having problems with Katie and I remember Uuncle Rob and Aunt Amy having problems too. I can't believe I never thought of this sooner. They've been having problems for a long time now.

I live here in this part of Michigan and my whole family on my dad's side lives over there, in that part of Michigan. That makes us have to drive about 2 and a half hours to get there.

So I don't see these people that often. Me hearing news as to what the hell is going on over there is rare. Aunt Cathy only recently started email, and the last thing I heard from her was that she was having foot surgery, and she's happy to be off work.

Anyway, I'm kinda trying to tell a story here. IM is so annoying, I should really sign off when I am using diaryland.

Summer, THE summer of my life, only because it included the WEEK of my life, haha. That summer, there was a night, when Aunt Joanne was having problems. Nona, actually got sick that night because of all the "stress" that was going on around her. Papa took Nona to somebody elses house that night. That was crazy. That night I walked upstairs to talk to my two cousins about The Fat One's age, Jennifer and Melissa. They told me that night that Uncle Robbie and Aunt Amy might get a divorce. This was TWO summers ago.

From another source, I heard that Uncle Robbie, who is a police officer, was assigned a new job with a female officer. I'm guessing, either guessing, or I heard this, that Uncle Robbie was cheating on Aunt Amy with the female officer. I don't think it is true though. I'm pretty sure it wasn't. Uncle Robbie is not that kind of a guy, I know that, and I don't even really know him. He's way too nice. Aunt Amy thought he was, so she was angry with him.

Those two sure put on a show when the family is around.

So my Aunt Amy and Uncle Robbie are getting a divorce. I heard this from Diana and she said it in such a way that she could not believe that I didn't know.

So, to find out anything the easiest way...I email Papa.

I asked him if it was true, and if they had really gotten a divorce. I was surprised by the reply. Uncle Robbie was the one who filed for divorce. So when Amy was the one being hurt about what was happening with him, he is the one who ended up filing for divorce. I was actually surprised to hear that.

But there is a bigger problem with their divorce. They have a son. My only male cousin on my dad's side, Ben. Now, if you think about it, and I am sure this is true already, most kids today have parents who are separated. So really, Ben is a victim like most of us. My parents are still together, but I really don't care about it. I am old enough not to care.

Ben is living with Aunt Amy in the family home. Uncle Rob is either with Aunt Joanne, or that information is unknown. My respect for Aunt Amy dropped completely. Do you want to know why? Because she's a woman. I feel terribly sorry for Uncle Robbie. He was accused of cheating. He lost his house. He lost his wife, and I am sure he still loves her. He's getting older. He's pretty much done with relationships for the rest of his life. He's always got me, even though I am not very valuable to him anyways.

Ben is even more of a victim, as Papa says, but I can't imagine he has any idea what is going on. I can picture him asking "Mommy, where's Daddy?" and her saying "He's never coming back."

They are going to be going to court to find out who gains custody over Ben, and I think Aunt Amy will be the one to get him. I'll keep you posted. If any of my family read this, I would not be adding this entry here.

~~~~

Part of the email from Papa:

So, as you can see, adults have problems with relationships too. II always recommend to the teens that I deal with to learn as much as they can about relationships. I encourage them to do a lot of dating as teens because that is the best way to learn about relationships. Oh sure, you can learn from watching Mom and Dad or talking to Papa but the best way is to have experience so that you will know what to do in a relationship. They do not teach these things in school and it may be one of the most important things in life. I remember the struggles that I had in high school and then, in my senior year, I met Nona. She was the most beautiful girl in the world to me. I knew, from the first moment I knew her, that I wanted to spend the rest of my life with her. You will find the same things to be true, I�m sure. You will LIKE a lot of girls but you will find the one you LOVE and that is the one you will marry. How will you know when you are in love? Believe me, there will be something inside of you that says �This is the one for me�. True love is not the selfish love that is always �me, me, me, my, my, my but is the feeling where you would literally be willing to sacrifice anything for her. You would be willing to give your life to save hers. It is hard to put into words but you will know it when it happens.

~~~~

When I grow up, if I ever get married, it will be just to have kids. I will date for a while, just to know the person. I have always thought that, and I am not going to pretend that Rob and Amy's thing is making me learn anything. I have to say though, I think I am the worst candidate for a husband. I don't get along well. I don't like a lot of the romantic stuff, and I don't think I will ever have a lot of love in me. I am negative. I am not cutting myself down, I'm just warning everybody.

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "Uncle Rob and Aunt Amy; Divorce"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top