SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

Idolizing
2004-03-31, 5:32 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

Question of the Day: Who do you Idolize?

After school today, I had already decided to go to Vicky's house for dinner. No, she doesn't have dinner before 5:30pm (the time right now), but I decided not to stay, considering I didn't feel like having ribs.

So I came home, walking. As I walked in the door, the Fat One was already listening to the Britney Spears song "Toxic," and that song sucks. It sounds cool, but like most rap songs these days, listening to it a couple times annoys me. The Fat One listens to "Toxic" over and over again. Since Monday, she's been playin it in the living room loud enough so that I cannot hear my peeps Instant Messaging me.

Anywho, Vicky and I were laying on her white carpeted floor watching "Punk'd" with Ashton Cutcher. That show could be funny, if it tried harder. And since it's on MTV, that is one clue as to why its not funny enough, it didn't make it onto regular television.

Then we switched the TV over to "The Big Lebowski," a very funny movie. As the main characters were in the bowling alley, Steve Buscemi's character comes up to John Goodman and barely says anything before John says something that was bleeped out.

"Shut the fuck up Donnie," was the original line. I only knew this because it was in Alec's profile. So I said that to Vicky, and her reaction was a very noticably-unenthusiastic "Uuh."

So I questioned her about it.

For some reason she thought I idolized Alec. "Thought," I say, because I corrected her.

Lemme tell y'all about Alec. He was the most popular guy in our production of "Robin Hood," and that was not only because of his acting like Capt. Jack Sparrow. It was because he has a lot of friends.

Alec is usually seen every friday on "Williamston Weekly," our broadcasting class at our high school. I once questioned some girls about their favorite actors. Johnny Depp was the most popular to that conversation. But the information I tried to find out next was "Do you like any guys from our school on 'Williamston Weekly?'"

I don't remember who they named except for Alec.

I wouldn't say he's good looking, but I guess he's not bad looking. I try not to look at guys like that, I don't, so move on.

Once, Alec was hangin around his friends outside the auditorium and one of them thought it would be funny to punch me. Alec said "No, I like Chris."

I rememeber that because I wrote it in ChrisLand the day it happened. Before that, I can admit, I hated Alec. Of course, hate is a strong word, and yes, too strong in this case too. I disliked him. The reasons I had to dislike him were small, but they included the ways he got attention. He's really random, but sticks out. He's pretty tall, and unusually skinny. He was one of the leads in "Robin Hood," because he was friends with the lead in the play, who got to choose the roles.

Vicky said the she thought I looked up to him. That's where her noticably-unenthusiastic "UUh" came from.

I'll tell all of you something. First of all, no I do not idolize Alec, or look up to him, however you wanna say it. Second of all, I don't idolize anybody.

I do not look up to too many people. There is nobody who I want to be like. I always want to be better. I want to be the best. I want to be somebody OTHERS look up to and idolize. I thought it was insulting that she thought that. But nobody knows me as well as I do. There's always something to learn about me. I guess this is why I have been here in ChrisLand for more than a year.

I don't think of myself as the best, by the way. I just want to be the best. I look at "the best," maybe people like Mel Gibson, he is extremely popular because of his "Passion of the [Money]." But as some of you may not know, I say "I hate Mel Gibson," because he is somebody people probably look up to now. He created this violence that supposedly looks real, and people will be getting more violent movies out there.

I haven't seen the film yet.

I think it's questionable if having an idol is even healthy. I don't think you will get anywhere in life wanting to be like others. You have to be yourself. Look at M. Night Shyamalan. I'm sure he was extremely into movies that Alfred Hitchcock made. But he is himself creating drama's and scaring audiences, featuring good actors like...Mel Gibson! And Bruce Willis. "The Sixth Sense" was an excellent movie. "Signs" was pretty fun to watch also. "Unbreakable" was extremely entertaining to watch also, but his least popular film.

NewsWeek says that M. Night could be the next Spielberg. But seriously, did Spielberg ever make a drama that included horror? "Schindler's List" was drama, I'm sure.

Should people have idols? Yes. It's fun to have idols. But I think people should have more than one. I don't idolize Alec or anybody in my school, for that matter. My school sucks. Although, I am pretty excited about getting on "Williamston Weekly" next year. That will be tons of fun. Coincidentally, Alec will be in it too. I'm sure he'll be in Advanced Drama also. But do I wanna look like him? Absolutely not.

For the record, I like Alec, I talk to him sometimes on Instant Messager. We're buddies. That's it. This isn't a big deal though, I enjoyed writing this entry.

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "Idolizing"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top