SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

My Farewell to "Friends"
2004-05-06, 1:12 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

Walking down the hallways of my high school, I smelled pizza, and craved it. "Chelsey, I'm horny for pizza now."

She didn't smell it, so I'm sure she thought I was crazy.

The next hour was film class, and the class before her had JUST had a PIZZA party! I had about four slices, and that is a lot for eating it in school. But now I feel so full, and fat. I played some basketball, so there's my exercise for today. I need to work on my upper body strength again. Grandpa won't be offering me a job handling bales of straw this summer on the farm, so there goes my yearly workout! I need to really bad.

Well, no working out tonight (and I wouldn't expect me to, ever) because "Friends" is on Thursdays, and tonight is not only the finale of the year, its the last finale ever!

I have never liked the show, until very recently. The Fat One loved it, so I didn't watch it because of the fact that she liked it. Same story for "That 70s Show."

One Thursday, about three weeks ago, I saw one episode where Joey, played by Matt Leblanc, goes to check out Chandler's (Matthew Perry) new house with his wife, Monica (Courtney Cox Arquette). At the house, he meets a little girl played by Dakota Fanning. She is so cute. That was practically the first episode I watched. That one episode made me fall in love with the series. Then, two weeks later, its already time for Rachel (Jennifer Aniston) to leave for a job in Paris, and she's saying goodbye to everybody. I CRIED!

So last night I watched a special NBC "Farewell to 'Friends'" and I saw how much fun they had and I watched some of the bloopers they had on the show. The job looks like so much fun. I thought that doing sitcoms would take up a lot of your time, but really, doing movies takes up more time. You get to see your family every night when you get home doing sitcoms. I don't know why I thought differently.

Matt Perry had a drug problem for a long time while doing the show. I don't understand why the hell. I mean, SO many actors do that, and I just don't understand. Maybe I will someday. I would love to understand. But I can't.

The news about "Friends" coming to an end is crazy. It is seriously one of the most popular TV shows. This show included a romance, Ross and Rachel, that is one of the most longest running romances ever. I learned a lot from the NBC broadcast last night.

First of all, my favorite of the "Friends" group is either Joey (Matt LeBlanc) or Ross (David Schwimmer). Joey has hilarious facial expressions and really likes food and likes sex the same. Ross is, well, cute, he just seems really nice and like a fun friend to have. Chandler has matured a lot over the years, and become more like the actor himself. When asked how he and Chandler were alike, Matthew Perry said "Well, we look alike."

The girls are pretty damned attractive. Lisa Kudrow, (Phoebe) is extremely cute. I don't know a lot about her except what I learned from the broadcast last night. She's musical and occasionally sings on the show. These moments were her favorites, singing. Jennifer Aniston is really popular now. Everybody likes her. She has really nice hair, even I notice that. She's married to Brad Pitt and so many girls like him too. In real life, I think Brad is worried about his appearance, he's said that he doesn't like doing movies that make his appearance look bad. Jennifer Aniston (which is her real name, but shortened from Anastassakis) was really odd when the cast was together during this broadcast. When Courtney Cox Arquette said that the girls would get together, Jennifer said something as if she was questioning that. She did that more than once. Courtney is a really nice woman, I learned during the broadcast. For some reason I didn't really like her on the show (until last night) or in her movies. But she's cool. She's married to David Arquette and he is a really funny guy, and he collects weird things.

Starting out on "Friends," they got paid around $2,200, which grew to one million dollars two years ago (maybe just last year). The show was originally called "Friends Like Us," and before that, in the draft, it was something funny using the word insane or psychotic, I don't really remember. Most of the actors started out working in commercials or their parents had been in show business. Jennifer's father, who left her and her mother, worked on Soap Opera's. Matt Perry's dad worked in commercials, and on a tv show.

Now that "Friends" is ending, fans have a spin off to look forward to. I hope everybody's favorite Friend is Matt LeBlanc, because the spin off, "Joey," will take place in California, I think. That's where the studio will be. David Schwimmer, interested and experienced in directing (he directed about four episodes), has already signed on to direct one episode of "Joey," with his pal, Matt LeBlanc. That's another reason why he's one of my favorite friends.

The writer's are infamous now. The show was an instant hit when it aired (in 1994?). Matthew Perry has created one of the ultimate TV personalities. Look at him, his humor, his personality, is copied in television. I would notice that, except I don't really watch the show, and it did talk about that in the broadcast last night.

Each episode is entitled "The One with the ____," so here's each of the actor's favorite episodes. (From Entertainment Weekly):

David Schwimmer: Although he talked about really liking the shows where the whole cast was together on the broadcast, he loved Season 2's "The One With the Prom Video" the best. This shows Ross' history of liking Rachel. This episode was emotional and funny, which the actor likes. Last night on the broadcast he said that "The One with All the Poker" stuck out in his mind.

Lisa Kudrow: She loves all of the ones where she sings. She likes singing. I believe that is a one-woman show kind of thing. People like Alan Alda (who starred in M*A*S*H) loves doing the "one-man-shows." Lisa's favorite was season 5's "The One Hundredth," where Phoebe gives birth to triplets. It was the hundredth episode, and with the other five friends dealing with relationships, she liked that her character got some attention.

Mattew Perry: Season 1's "The One with the Blackout." Chandler gets stuck in an ATM vestibule with a model during a power outage, and the other friends swap secrets in Monica's apartment. Some of these secret were of where the friends had sex, their most unusual places, I believe. Joey says in the bathroom of a library. Phoebe, shocked, says "Wow...you were in a library?" This episode seems like it had little to do with Perry's character, but maybe he thought it was really funny. David said that he liked this episode because the friends were talking and were together. That would have been a fun one to see.

Courtney Cox Arquette: Season 4's "The One with the Embryos." There's a trivia contest in this episode. I think I caught this one on TV when the fans voted on which episodes to watch on TV. This episode, with the trivia contest, was about the boys and the girls competing for the apartment (haha) and asking questions like it was a fast paced game show. Courtney learned a lot about her character from the questions. Matt LeBlanc, his character's occupation has never been established, and everybody's been completely stumped. That is a question the girls got wrong.

Jennifer Aniston: Her favorite is season 8's "The One Where Rachel has a Baby (Parts I and II). Great characters walked in and out of these episodes. Jennifer likes the "suspended reality," which I call randomness. Jennifer is weird though. When the broadcast ended last night, I asked out loud "What is wrong with those people?" talking about Brad Pitt and Jennifer. Jen doesn't seem really happy with "Friends" for some reason. SHE wanted to end the show before this. I don't understand why she was acting so weird when they were together, she seemed questionable about whether the girls would get together or not. Brad just seemed too attached to his looks.

Matt LeBlanc: His favorite is also "The One with the Embryos." He says "The pace was great. It was really fun to watch characters rely on their history together to succeed." Matt also likes the scenes when the six of the actors are together. Matt is always a funny guy, and he seems really nice in person, and of course, really nice as a friend.

The writers of the show are brilliant. These guys don't include the man who changes the picture on the door every week. There is a quick erase board that has a neat picture every week, and few fans recognize it, or see it.

SONG OF THE DAY: "I'll Be There For You" by the Rembrants.

The band, the Rembrants had very few hits, and never went to the top (correct me if I'm wrong, please), and the original song for the start of each episode was "Its the End of the World" by R.E.M (Correct me if I'm wrong, on the band). Then the creators asked the Rembrants to write a song, and the song went straight to the top of THE list, and stayed there for 8 weeks. Now, the two man band wishes for their other songs to be as popular. They've written more songs to be released soon, but the song "I'll Be There for You" is "putting the kids through college."

QUOTE OF THE DAY: "When you're alone in the big city, alone, all you need is your friends." - The creators, written in the preface for Friends. The show was a huge hit and so many people are gonna be so sad to see it go.

In the first years, "Friends" was very sexual and inappropriate sometimes, but now, most shows are like that, so we don't notice it. The personalities on the show is copied and loved by so many people. Although they will be missed, the writers are coming back for "Joey," and other shows have similarities.

Alright, grab a box of tissues, because I'm gonna need some tonight, I already know it. One hour finale, and a one hour "goodbye" tonight! Then, later, "The Tonight Show" will be viewed on the set of "Friends." I love the set, I really do. The wardrobe was created by the crew, and I'm sorry that I don't know many names. My favorite guest has to be Dakota Fanning (blonde young girl from "I am Sam" and "Trapped) because she was the first guest I ever saw, on the first episode I ever saw. That is also my favorite episode...out of the four I've seen.

"Living in the big city alone, all you need is your friends."

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "My Farewell to "Friends""

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top