SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

Uncle Vito
2004-06-08, 3:07 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

When it is as hot as it is right now outside, I am reminded of Florida. Florida has that weather where the desert looks like the city...except there is water on all sides.

It is 3:00pm right now, and that means that exactly twelve hours ago, I was just getting ready to go to bed. I am definitly not proud of this, but I was just finishing up my Spanish and English projects. I told everybody online that I had finished them, but I was only barely done. I had to actually lay the pictures out nicely and lay the Spanish writing out nicely. I think it turned out awesome. I really enjoy looking through old pictures. Oh God, the memories. Memories that will last a life time are photographed.

There was an awesome black and white picture of me standing juxtapose (like my wordage?) of a fence. That means standing next to, but that's a cool word. There was a picture of me and Shadow on the beach with my arm around her, and I used that picture in my Spanish book. Then there was a picture of me sleeping (or pretending to sleep) while holding Shadow. That was a really cute picture...of Shadow. My favorite picture of all was Papa with his arm around me, conveying an enormous smile. He has never looked happier. This picture brought me to tears because lately, Papa won't talk to me. The other night, I enlightened Nona and Papa on the phone while my mom got something upstairs, and Papa got off the phone! He got off so he wouldn't have to talk to me, that only makes sense.

The picture was so great though. I can't look at it without my eyes tearing up. The picture reminded me of Florida. When I think of paradise, I think of Florida. The greatest memory I hold is when my dad's side of the family all went down to Florida.

The first night, I stayed up late with my cousins, Julie and Katie. This was before Julie had met Jacob, and before Katie had ever hated me. We talked about my uncle Vito, Katie's biological dad. He has a daughter, Angie, who is a really messed up kid (or so I go that vibe from Katie and Julie). Angie was one of those teens who got a tatoo against what my uncle Vito told her to do. So after talking about her and even making fun of her, I was told I was gonna meet her. So the rest of the trip, the most enormous family reunion ever, I avoided her.

We stayed at a hotel that week, Treasure Island Inn. I remember the drive there, Katie and I talked on Papa's CB radio. Awesome times. When we got to the hotel, I was officially in heaven.

(This is all a true story, by the way, I'm just recalling some awesome summer memories)

Uncle Vito got to the hotel that day. He and my sister Diana were attached by the cell phone. This was kind of back 'in the day' when the cell phone was much larger. Diana played with it and her small head looked funny with it. Actually, for a little girl like Diana was, her head was damned large. We went swimming, and for the week, Uncle Vito and my dad had a contest to see who could get the most tan and without sunburn.

My dad actually got really sunburnt and Vito had the nice tan.

This is mostly a hunch, but Vito is mexican. Since Katie is wearing Vito's genes (haha, get it?), Katie is partly mexican. I may be wrong, but I don't mean to offend anybody. That week was so awesome. My cousins were so cool.

Also that summer, we went up north to my cottage, and Uncle Vito brought two movies that he illegally copied from the video rental store, "A Night At the Rozbury," and "Payback." I don't think the family really watched these movies, but I watched "Payback." Vito was one who would laugh at the really violent parts.

The family played "Skip-Bo" with Nona while the guys watched the movies. When I was younger, I didn't care much for comedies. "Roxbury" was not one I watched then, though that is a great movie.

That week, Vito brought is super shooter water guns, and we had a lot of fun with those. We shot my Aunt Joanne, his ex-wife. I didn't understand a lot about relationships back then. Vito was a laughing guy, never seemed mean. He and I got along, but I sadly didn't talk to him all that much. I don't remember when exactly he divorced my aunt Joanne, but I don't recall ever seeing them very happy together.

I mostly remember him with Diana, and when they played with his cell phone. He was very good with kids and he was a really fun guy. I wish I could have known him better.

This entry is dedicated to the memory of Vito Laudicina, who died of a heart attack two nights ago, 6-06-2004. He will be missed. My mom is putting him in Nona and Papa's 50th anniversary scrapbook that she will give Nona and Papa this summer. I have to write a page for it, and because of all of the school work I have had to do, I haven't really gotten to it yet, but I need to. If you have any ideas for a 50th Anniversary letter, I would like them.

Yesterday, I was playing basketball when Dad came out and asked if I had heard the bad news. Dad is usually sarcastic about bad news, meaning he makes it up or says "Your sisters will be gone and unable to bother you for the night."

I almost said to him "This had better be bad." I almost said that because I wasn't in a very good mood, but something stopped me from saying it.

"What is it?" I said, instead.

"Uncle Vito died last night."

News like that hits me hard because I can't ever imagine death. I can't imagine somebody close to me dying, so someone like Vito, who I haven't seen in so many years is impossible to imagine being...gone. I felt bad. I got online to see what the deal was with everyone else. Megan told me that things were crazy at her house. My cousin Katie had called her house and told her sister the news. Katie was crying on the phone. I felt really bad for Katie. I just hope she isn't wishing that it had been her instead of her dad. Sure it was Katie's own Dad, but I didn't know that they were close. I didn't think Katie even liked him...so I felt even worse.

I know Melissa, Katie's younger sister, was closer to Vito. I am hoping to God that they are alright and that they will be alright.

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "Uncle Vito"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top