SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

Movies; "Donnie Darko;" Jimmy & Vicky
2004-07-18, 3:12 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

Summer is the best time for all of these Summer blockbusters. Have you ever noticed that the previews look so much more awesome for all the new movies in the summer? Well, previews look SO awesome, and then you go see the movies, and then the movies turn out to be not as good. Sometimes the previews are much better than the movie itself. But, I gotta admit, I haven't seen too much where movies turn out to be crappier than the previews. I'll admit, I didn't like "Pirates of the Caribbean" more than the preview. I liked Johnny Depp and Kierra Knightly, but the preview made the movie look awesome when really it was a messed up movie.

I saw "Anchorman" with Justin and [his cousin/friend] Luke, and I thought it was awesome. Christina Applegate is actually damn hot. She was a scene stealer because of her looks. She wasn't bad at all though. Will Ferrel though, he's who you must talk about in any movie he's in. He played Ron Burgundy and the movie was about him the woman taking over broadcasting the news. Will never got out of character and was making me laugh the whole time. My favorite part was when Will was eating a burrito and talking to his dog that he loves a lot. Then he says "Man, this burrito is filling!" and throws it out the window. It hits a man on a bike who falls over, which was a funny crash by itself. Then the biker gets up (hilariously played by Jack Black, just because he's Jack Black), and punts the dog over the bridge. Then, Will cries into a pay phone that his dog got kicked over the bridge. That was my favorite part.

Anchorman was awesome, better than I thought it was going to be. It's not one I would want to watch over and over, but I could.

Will Ferrel was in "Old School" with Luke Wilson and Vince Vaughn, and those people kind of have started a family. Vince Vaugh was in "Starsky and Hutch" (another really good movie) with Will Ferrel who was in a cameo which starred Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson starred in that. Owen Wilson was the only one who was not in "Anchorman." Ben Stiller was an awesome spanish Anchorman.

Tonight, I'm gonna witness Ben's crazy character in "Dodgeball" with Byrdman. That will be fun, I know it. I hope there are some cool cameos. All those guys have a family of movies, kinda. I think that would be so much fun. Vince Vaughn, I had no idea was so funny, and he's not really funny in the movies, but I guess he is behind the scenes. Luke Wilson, always in comedies, but he's never really funny, but I like him because he's friends with Will Ferrel and in this little family. He's included with his brother, Owen, but never in the same movies (with the exception of "The Royal Tennenbaums").

Ben Stiller's real-life wife is in "Dodgeball," and I think they are the coolest couple. Celebrity relationships are never anything I have any interest in, but I know about a few. Brad Pitt and Jennifer Aniston, Jake Gylenhaal and Kirsten Dunst (whome I just learned about), and there is Ben Stiller and Christine Taylor. Kirsten said in an interview "I don't know why anybody cares, we're just boring and normal." Well, she was along the lines of that. Boring is good, and boring is boring to everybody but anybody else.

~~~~

Speaking of Jake Gylenhaal, however the hell you spell his name, there has been talk about a new forming cult going on that is based on the movie "Donnie Darko." I saw that movie last night, wondering what all the hype was about.

It seemed like a poorly directed movie. The special effects were very cheap, but they still got the job done. The music sounded like "Traffic" shit. The acting was alright, not bad at all, but the characters disturbed me. What in the hell does this movie have anything to do with any cult?? I don't know the message most people got, but what I got from it was "High Schoolers do less damage if they were dead." Lets see, the scenes were of him flooding the school and burning a local famous author's house and few other things. The scenes with the therapist were good, but I disliked that actress. I have so many complaints about it, but I have to admit: I liked it. It was totally entertaining the whole time, it kept me interested, and I always wanted to know what happened to these characters. There were so many funny parts, too, that were meant to be funny, but I don't think the cast and crew knew how funny this movie was. The special effects got the job done. The ending was hard to follow, but you got the idea, though there's no really satisfying explaination for the things. I'll recommend it. It's rated R for language and probably nothing else. There's no R rated violence, there's no horror (even though I found it in the horror section of my video store). There was no nudity, which disappointed me because that is a nessesity in a horror movie. The actress, from "Stepmom," I don't remember her name, but she would have been the giver of nudity. But too bad for me. 8/10 stars, but that seems really high. It's not something I'd want to watch too many more times.

I was recommended that movie by Vicky and Jimmy, who I went out with on Thursday. We went to Pinball Pete's, where I attempted DDR, Dance Dance Revolution, and figured out that my tempo is screwed up. I mean, I couldn't keep beat very well. Okay, I am fine at keeping the beat of songs, but in this game, I was watching what I was supposed to be doing rather than listening to the songs.

After going to Lansing for a while, we went to Jimmy's house and played "Hungry Hungry Hippo's," which was hard, I never won, Jimmy always did. I think he plays that with himself. Just kidding. Then we played Jenga "Truth or Dare." Vicky talked to me about going out with Justin (not like a date or anything) and he had fun. I believe I had more fun than Justin. It was actually very fun, and I'm saying actually, because I didn't think it was going to be. Anywho, it took me a long while to be comfortable with the both of them. It was fun though. Around 12:30am, we went out again to Belle's Pizza and then to Krispy Kreme where we bought breakfast for the next day...and the next couple of days for me.

So...it was fun...

'Til next time...

QUOTE OF THE DAY: Donnie: "Why are you dressed in that stupid bunny suit?" Rabbit: "Why are you dressed in that stupid man suit?"

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "Movies; "Donnie Darko;" Jimmy & Vicky"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top