SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

A talent I don't have; Money Lessons
2004-08-12, 12:27 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

Written two days ago from 8-12-2k4:

I frequently read Entertainment Weekly magazine, and the frequency of this frequency is about once a week since the frequency of the magazine�s newest issues come out every week, how frequent. Weekly. Hence, the name of the magazine, Entertainment Weekly. You�re getting your weekly entertainment. Even though almost none of this matters because it takes me just over an hour to look through my entertainment of the week. That�s why I have my ps2 who calls me every so often. �Why Hollywood Cannot Find the Next Julia Roberts,� is the title and coverstory of this weeks� entertainment. Interesting, very, but I don�t have any more comments on this subject, it is a personal matter.

So, if you can, ignore that last paragraph, because I�m not deleting it.

I have recently become really excited about music. Yesterday, I went over to McB�s house, having Justin ask McB to invite me, even though I think it was Doug who he was talking to. There was McB, who seems to be good at everything, but the person who topped the charts in that house was: Doug. He is damn good at the guitar and I sat out in the TV room, actually jealous. I mean, he�s got talent, even if that talent is memorizing the songs. Its more fun to listen to guitars live. On the way back from McB�s house, Luke drove me, listening to the guitar on the radio, it took me a while to even start paying attention to the song. Luke and McB, I couldn�t hear, but they were the only ones with guitar�s. Justin, would be vocals, but I�m not sure if any of this information is stuff I can just talk about. Doug was loud, which gets him noticed.

My favorite instrument, or instruments are drums. They provide bass, which I like in any song. On the way home from up north, I listened to The Alan Parsons Project, awesome band, one of my favorites. I think they were a little ahead of their time, they sound funky, techno, maybe?

Alright, there�s a LOT I don�t know about music. I wish I did, but music I like is in the movies. I like instrumental music, loud music, trumpets and such, and there are actually some instruments that I cannot remember what they�re called. When I was in band, which was a damn class in school, I knew all the instruments, but not anymore.

Megan and Doug know a lot about music and Justin knows a lot of really awesome songs. I need them to burn me some CD�s, then I�ll just listen to those and be caught up with the music world around me. These days, singers are popular by looks, not by sound. Sure, Britney can sing, but can she really? She lip sinks, what the hell is up with that? She has looks, she�s very beautiful, but what does she do for her music? She doesn�t write her songs, she doesn�t create dance moves, and she also doesn�t play an instrument. I can�t figure out how she�s in the business, her talent is singing, but I�ve seen annoying people in the mall who can sing just as well. Ms. Spears shouldn�t be the only one being picked on, either. There are small bands who write their music, sing their stuff, and play an instrument, but is it good music? To some people, it is. People have different tastes in music, some listen to it for advice, some for to feel in love, some to feel different emotions, for sounds, sex, exercise, all of that. I listen to music for the sounds, and there is very few stuff in the market and on the radio that I get kicks out of hearing. The �Kill Bill� soundtrack, volume 1, listen to that, that�s my kinda good music. It�s so good, I must laugh. Though, when I have other people listen to it, they scream until it�s turned off, so some people really don�t like it. The night I got home, I actually listened to the radio, in my room, because there was some good stuff, oldies, being played on the station, and after a while, Lindsey Lohan was actually talking to the DJ and she was with some guy, or so it seemed, and it sounded like her, but then they played her new song. The background music is loud and crappy while I can�t even hear her damn voice. Lindsey, Lindsey Lindsey, what are you doing? You�re an excellent actress, I loved the movie �Freaky Friday,� it was a scene stealing fight between you and Jamie Lee Curtis. I�m suggesting you stick to acting, although I agree that everybody in this world should try everything. Never give up, girl power, whatever, don�t stop making movies though. I�m a fan of your movies, but I dislike your music. Though, I liked the song in �Freaky Friday,� where�s the actress who sang those songs?

~~

While I was up north, Uncle Robbie bought Ben, his son, a slurpy and it got me thinking about money. He�s a grown up, he�s not going anywhere, he could be able to spend as much money as he wants. He has a job. But, Ben needs to learn that money is limited and he cannot get whatever he wants. Dear ol� Uncle Robbie ain�t teaching Ben that. That�s a shame, because Ben will have to learn it the hard way someday. There�s a lesson in everything that we buy. I hate spending money on useless shit. I love the useless shit, because it�s used, but there�s always something better in this world, isn�t there? I want to be as rich as a snob, but without acting the same.

I spent $50 on a Nintendo 64 game after Game Cube had been out for a while. I was planning on spending my last $50 on the system, and I was ready to buy it, but then my friend said that his sister was going to use it, or wanted to use it. So, I had to wait. The night before this, I had opened the game all excited that I was getting a game system the next day. So, there�s $50 down the drain, that I never got to use. When I�m older, I will buy a Nintendo 64. By the way, friends, if you ever see a cheap on (they should be damn cheap nowadays), lemme know. I want a Nintendo 64. My friend was going to give me a bunch of games, too. Goldeneye, Extreme G, and Blitz Football were the three I was going to get free, with my purchase. But it all went to hell. I still have �The World is not Enough� for N64 though.

I spent $30 on the Millennium Force toy that was for Star Wars. There was a year in my life when new Star Wars merchandise was coming out. There were no movies coming out, they were 80�s days. I was very young, and $30 meant a lot. This toy, and over $60 worth of Star Wars stuff is now stacked away in storage where I will never play with it again. I wasn�t even very interested in Star Wars, but I bought all the shit to fit in, and have some of my own stuff to play with at the day care I went to. It just wasn�t worth it, so from now on, I have to think about how I will use the stuff I buy.

I mostly buy movies and CD�s now, though. I bought �Training Day,� the soundtrack, and when I first listened to it, I got depressed from all the songs because I thought they were crap. I wasn�t into Nelly at the time or into rap all that much. Why did I buy it? Because the music in the movie was good. The music by itself wasn�t worth it, so I felt depressed because of the $14 I lost.

The same lesson was learned when I bought �The Whole Nine Yards� DVD. I hadn�t listened to the CD before, or watched the movie. When I saw the movie, it had TERRIBLE music! I hated the movie and put it away. Same with �Get Carter� and �Double Take.� I bought those movies without seeing them first, and I hated them. �Get Carter� has few good scenes, and occasionally fun to watch, but I don�t really like the actors, and it�s a depressing movie. �The Whole Nine Yards� turned out to be a good movie once I learned that Papa liked it. It is funny and exciting, but at the time, I didn�t like it. �Double Take� is depressing just because it�s so bad. It�s not funny. Orlando Jones is one of the worst actors of his time, too. He�s got some good movies, one cheerleading movie, or band movie, maybe an action movie here or there, but I�ll never see them. He just sucks. He thinks he�s good, that�s his problem.

So, there�s some stories about me spending money. Read them, as you have, and learn something from them.

~~

The number one movie I want to see: �Collateral.� That looks awesome. Tom Cruise and Jamie Foxx are said to be a good team. I like hit man movies. I like taxi driver movies. (Though I�ve never seen Martin Scorcesse�s �The Taxi Driver.)

Quote from the movie �Collateral�: �If they open that trunk, they're going inside it.� � Tom Cruise�s character talking about two cops who have pulled the cab driver over.

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "A talent I don't have; Money Lessons"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top