SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

Memorable Shopping Trips; Best Buys
2004-09-02, 7:56 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

There was Chelsey�s birthday, in which I didn�t get her anything (I had not YET) and that was a total blast. It was filled with normal good stuff, swimming, �Catch Phrase,� and ice cream cake. So that was a bunch of memories, not to mention going to Lansing and going down under into an arcade lair. Also not to mention the rap dude. But I must mention the car rides were awesome. Not only is Chelsey a fine driver, but the company is great, Sara and Kelly were also in the car.

So that was parte uno of Chelsey�s birthday BECAUSE I had not yet gotten her anything. Part B was driving Chels around shopping until we found something for her. I thought this would take hours, because she is naturally a girl. Girls, I have always thought, were pains to take shopping (but, of course, I was not worried that OUR trip would be painful at all), but Chelsey was not. We walk to my house right after school and I show her around, barely, mostly online. �Here�s my background,� I said, showing her a picture of �Cedar Points� Raptor.� Getting online was just to kill time because, apparently, my mother had been home only seconds before we arrived and my mother had not yet had enough time to get back to the school where she works.

We were online for half an hour and then I called.

Our first stop was supposed to be the mall, but I prefer Best Buy�s parking lot, so we drove in there, which is connected to roads getting to the mall much easlier (I made that word up, pass it around). So we�re in the Best Buy parking lot, and I turn to Chelsey �Hey, how would you like to go to Best Buy?�

I mean, once you�re in the parking lot, it�s hard to get out without going in. So we go in.

Easily, she finds the Second Season of Friends and picks it up as if she�s gonna buy it, and I got the idea that she was gonna buy it because it was under her shoulder. That just made sense. So I asked her if she wanted me to help pay for that�and she said �Sure.� Well, that was almost too quick. So we walked around for a little bit and looked at some cool movies and looked at some PC video games. Then we made our way over to the CD�s and�what do ya know�there are movies on the ends of the rows of the CD�s! That�s just�amazing. So I looked at a few of them. Chelsey asked me if I liked Michael Douglas because she saw �The Game� sitting there (a movie I have been trying to see but was never in the mood when I saw the cover). That movie doesn�t have an attractive cover, and I do �judge books by their cover.� Among other things�like movies! (By the way, I told her that I had had enough Michael Douglas after seeing a depressing role and too much man-ass in �Basic Instinct. It was a good movie, I�d see it again�but not for a couple of years.) I saw �Army of Darkness� down below, a movie I saw because Justin recommended it, and it ended up being really funny, not too scary at all. That was the third in a trilogy starting with two �Evil Dead� movies.

I hadn�t heard of �Evil Dead� until I found a site online that talked about favorite horror movies. Most people didn�t have �The Ring� or �Stir of Echoes,� which surprised me, and I saw a bunch of other movies that weren�t as good. Occasionally, on these lists I saw some really good ones. �A Nightmare on Elm Street� has my vote for a good horror movie�but then again, �Scream� has my vote. I�ll admit, there aren�t that many good horror movies out there. So for the top ten best, the list still might not be that great.

But the movie I saw the most�and as number one on so many of these lists�was �Evil Dead.� So I thought to myself �I gotta look up this movie.� And I looked it up. It had a very eye-catching rating�X. Now, there are not that many movies rated X, but I have seen that rating before. Nowadays they call them NC17. But this movie was rated X/NC17�and I don�t think that was because of nudity, like most NC17�s. This was because of horror/violence. So how cool can a movie get�it�s rated NC17 for violence. That�s damn cool. So I went to my local video store�and they DIDN�T have it! I don�t really go anywhere else, so I kinda forgot about it for a while.

But anyways�back to Chelsey and I being in Best Buy�I�m looking at �Army of Darkness.� That movie was awesomely cheesy. And I almost put it back�but I see something.

�Evil Dead� is on DVD. It had Fully Restored quality, which is fancy for saying �Good picture,� or maybe that was sound. But it had good picture and sound, and I knew it was an older movie. But hey, it was in my hands�on DVD�for $11.00. Hey, why not? I need to see this movie. Especially if I�ll ever get to writing my top ten horror films list. I have high hopes�hopefully not too high.

So I quarreled with myself about whether or not I should spend money. I haven�t bought a movie since way way before summer. I decided �Yes I should.� So we bought our stuff, and I gave Chelsey $20 for the second �Friends� season, and that was my birthday gift to her. And I bought �Evil Dead.� We got back in the van, which is now mine because my parents recently bought a red van, a really cool red van. And then we headed over to the mall. I looked at my new �Evil Dead� DVD, which is a horror film that uses a lot of make up. I�m not sure if it�s a zombie film, but it�s as cool as one. I�ll have to get �Dawn of the Dead� 2004 AND the old one when they come out. That�ll be on my Christmas list.

While I was looking at my �Evil Dead� DVD, I looked down in between the seats and then looked at the �Sex in the City� DVD�s which Chelsey let me borrow. We had gone to her house to do something or get something that she needed to do and she let me borrow the first season. I didn�t pay attention to what we had to do/get because I was into the latest magazine from Victoria�s Secret. But anyways, in the van, I had a bunch of new entertainment material, all of which I had not seen before. I�m sure you can understand my excitement, but then I�m also sure you cannot understand.

Then we drove over to the mall, where I always park in front of the food court.

Where do you go to sue McDonalds? The food court.

I just made that joke up, so laugh out loud.

In the food court, I wasn�t very hungry yet, so we decided to walk around a bit. We both walked by �Cajun Caf� and �Sbarro� (that is spelled right, you dumb spell check computer). There, they each gave us something to sample. The chicken was alright, but the breadstick from �Sbarro� was really awesome. The lady there really wanted our business as consumers of the food industry. But, the breadstick only made us horny for food. Chelsey said �Alright, now I�m craving more breadsticks.�

So we walked back�to Cajun Caf�, sorry lady with pizza, but the Louisiana Chicken and fried rice was gonna be way more filling for less money. �I had pizza from here last night� I told her. And I had had pizza the previous night. I enjoyed stromboli. �I�ll come back another time.� I think I pissed her off�poor lady. She wasn�t bad looking, and that�s why I�m calling her a �poor lady� instead of a bitch.

I�m such an ass. But seriously, she was sweet.

Chelsey and I walked by this one girl who worked at Blimpie �I�d let you do her� Chelsey said. I should have said �Thanks, Mom,� because that would have been funny, but I don�t think I replied with anything so inventive. But that was funny of her to say in the first place. She talked to me about how women can check out other women. It�s a jealousy factor. Her mom and herself checked out women recently, only they say �Hm, she has cute boobs.� I only use the word �boobs� here because Chelsey did. I prefer �breasts.�

�Hm, she has a pleasant ass and a superior set of tits.�

Anywho, Chelsey and I enjoyed our Chicken and rice, except I had an ordeal with my soy sauce, which was impossible to open. It had no cut to tear from! So I used my fork, which worked with both of them, except on the second one, the sauce splurged all over me, giving me brown spots on my cool tropical-themed shirt. But other than that, we had an awesome dinner. We talked about everything in about an hour. Alright, we talked about everything the entire night, there was not one moment of silence. But that�s just something to appreciate about a friend when they�re as cool as that. I mean, Chelsey�s a girl, and she and I are greater friends that most people have with anybody.

But here�s the scene, two people talking, occasionally picking up some chicken, pushing it around in rice, and then taking a bite. The table only seated two. There are plenty of people around us and there are couples�Chelsey and I didn�t look at any of the other couples. But here we are, talking about sex and relationships too normally and chatting over food. That�s a scene out of a movie. Well, actually it�s not�because we weren�t eating Chinese (like most movies have scenes of) and Meg Ryan was not faking an orgasm. Our scene was not from a movie or television show, because it would be too hard to film in a food court (�Jackie Brown� did though). Our scene was a first and a classic one at that. It was awesome.

After that we went to Schuler�s, and walked in and out, not even looking at anything. We didn�t plan on where to go, we just walked and talked. After we had driven to Target and walked in the store, Chelsey asked me about our friendship and how it seems like her relationships don�t last (she and Brady seem to be going through a low point in the relationship right now) that long, and yet, she and I have been friends since the beginning of freshman year and have been best friends ever since. We have, unfortunately been through a lot of stuff dealing with relationships and maybe a couple of nights of fights during last summer (two summers ago) but we stuck with each other through other relationships and have been able to talk whenever we need to.

In Target, she asked me how we have been such great of friends and how most of her relationships don�t last as long or as great as our friendship has lasted. �It�s something people will, one day, if not already, envy. It�s something people should be amazed by, inspired by, and wish to God they had.�

We�ll have to find out later how she and Brady are doing.

I dropped Chelsey off at her house, and I watched two episodes from the second season of �Friends.� Then I just left. Chelsey�s not big on goodbyes, it�s just really quick and easy�but I, however, usually take a while with goodbyes, because there�s nothing I want to dumben (another word made up) myself. When I say dumb things, I think about them a lot�but I didn�t have a chance to say anything dumb, which is cool and quick.

A great day, and now I have �Evil Dead� to watch and �Sex and the City� to enjoy.

~~

Today at school I had to go through so many people�SO MANY people and tell them that I would not be able to do anything with them this weekend. Apparently my family has been �talking about this a long time.� We�re going up north yet again.

SPOILING SHIT! That just pisses me off, god damn it. We�re going up north and here�s what I would be missing out on. Today�s Thursday and Eric is having a get together at his house. Eric and I haven�t talked in forever, god damn it. He�s an awesome guy, too. But we haven�t, and his staying-the-night party will not include me. Then, on Friday, Brady was having a sleepover at his house�and Chelsey was gonna stay the night, too. So that got pooch-screwed, just thank my parentals. Then, on Saturday night, or evening, Brady�s leaving for a cottage in South Haven and he invited Chelsey and I. Chelsey isn�t going though. She�s busy with something, Brady told me.

But that all would have been great. I had to see a lot of disappointed faces �Aaw, Chris, c�mon, dude�you gotta go.�

But I�m missing out, and that�s what I told everybody.

Kelly, Chelsey, Brady, and I took a trip down memory lane (the Elementary School) to meet up with some teachers and see some kids. Mrs. Scott (no longer Mrs. Scott, but I�m calling her that because I don�t use real last names) was my second grade teacher and we visited her class. Mrs. Scott seemed to roll her eyes a lot, as if us big high schooler�s would think her elementary methods were lame or something. She was just seeming to act cool so we wouldn�t think less of her. But she presented us up in front of the class. We called off our names, and I stalled, I was still looking at everybody.

�Oh�uh�my name�s Chris, yeah�yeah.�

And after a short silence�one kid spoke �My name�s Brady, too.�

Then a girl raised her hand, and the four of us pointed at her and said �Yes, question?�

She was terrified at our enthusiasm of calling upon her. Then she spoke about her mom being named Kelly.

I talked among my friends and told a little joke that I wanted to tell to the whole class, but I was actually too afraid to speak in front of them. Here�s what I wanted to say, especially when Mrs. Scott said that we (the high schooler�s) wanted to see well-acting children. I wanted to say: �You know something, kids, our high school teachers always look at us when we�re horsing around and say �You guys are acting like second graders.� But now, here I am, looking at all of you, and you�re all awesome! You�re great kids. Our teachers are wrong, we don�t act like second graders. Second graders are nice and good.�

I so should have said that. Damn myself because I didn�t. I�m sure Mrs. Scott would refer back to that short speech whenever the kids would act up, and perhaps that little speech could change their lives, haha. When I was that age, I was quiet (I think) and watched older people and figured out their personality and developed in into myself. If you were to watch my life over again, you would see that I am made up of some great people. Jeremy, who worked at Kids� Korner, a day care center I went to, was an awesome guy and had an awesome personality, and I used to wish I was him.

We didn�t leave the classroom for a while. We actually stood around and talked amongst ourselves in front of the class while they had �silent reading time.�

But we did leave after a while and Brady and I even checked out the playground. There was this metal house that I was almost taller than and Brady got on it, we talked on that for a while about fifth grade classes and what middle school and high school is. Middle school is a preparation school for the high school. And high school is�well, we didn�t get that far. That�s my least favorite thing to talk about. But we talked about our �benchmark� projects. Those were such a pain in our asses. The girls were waiting for �The Far Side� teachers to come out and Brady and I didn�t know them, so we got outta there. On our way, I spotted Diana. We walked up to each other as if we were gonna �Draw� like they did in all of those old western movies. Then I asked her if she was walking to the buses. �Nope, I was gonna walk home.�

�Wanna ride?�

�Okay.�

So Brady, Diana, and I walked to the van�the old tan van, four years old, but old compared to our new red thing, which has �new car smell� all over it.

Finally, Brady has been inside my house. I gave him a short tour, including getting on the computer, but I didn�t want him to sit behind me while I did anything, so I just showed him my background�Cedar Points� Raptor. Then we drove out to the mall�and we were gonna go to the mall, but I prefer Best Buy�s parking lot, which is connected to roads leading to the mall. And once we were in the Best Buy parking lot, we couldn�t get out without goin in. So we went in, checked out the prices of �Family Guy� and then went to the mall to buy it�because Best Buy didn�t even HAVE it.

We talked about music and such in the van and bought �Family Guy� at the mall. I actually did have a lot of fun, that was great. I like driving, too. And I like listening to music. I dropped him off at his house and speeded home�not because I was in a hurry, but because I contain the need of speed.

We�ll have to do that again. Perhaps others shall come. Perhaps.

SONG of the last TWO DAYS: �So Cold,� by Breaking Benjamin. The music video was on in Target, and Chelsey and I watched a little bit of it. Brady and I talked about it today while listening to the song. I love the intro to the song, it feels like Mexican music. It also reminds me of music from �Bad Boys II� in the end with the very wide shot of the mansion that gets blown up.

QUOTE of the DAY: "The art of leadership is saying no, not yes. It is very easy to say yes." - Tony Blair.

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "Memorable Shopping Trips; Best Buys"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top