SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

Christmas Eve Traditions
2004-12-24, 2:58 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

Well, I've continued my movie viewing week and finally got to see "Collateral." I wasn't disappointed, but I don't think it's one I want to see again. The only disappointing part was the end. The badguy's death (I won't say whose) was disappointing.

Wanna know the surprising best movie I've seen this week? Of course you do, don't be a hardass. "It's a Wonderful Life." That movie rocks!

It starts out with an interesting way of story telling with a very cheesy viewing of the universe and then shows our main guy as a young boy giving a little story and then shows him grown up. The way they showed James Stewart was very interesting and reminded me of Fight Club or something where the movie pauses and voice over says you should remember this. In this case, we were to remember our main character.

He dances with a girl for his dance at the school and they fall in a pool and it's romantic, like it should be. There's problems with the main guy's father's business and he ends up taking over.

The whole movie is based around showing you how the main character has affected so many people's lives and there's a love story that is very entertaining. Old movie romances are really cool. They really get into kisses and it's fun to watch. But the whole movie was about 2 hours and some minutes when the end of the movie, where our main guy meets his guardian angel, gets to see what the world would be like if he never existed. Interesting movie and very entertaining, but it could have been made so much shorter. 8/10 for it being so long. Replay value? Would I watch it again? Definitly, but it's quite a Christmas movie. Maybe once a year.

I have to return Collateral tonight, but I think I may rent another movie...although I don't know what. I might just watch "DodgeBall," I haven't watched that yet and I got it last weekend.

Movie watching is a Christmas Eve ritual. Chelsey agrees, she always watches a new movie on Christmas Eve.

Here's what I do, I start a movie around 6pm or so and we eat dinner later. This year my dad is gonna do my suggestion and is making lasagna and big shell noodles with cheese in them. This is like old days, like when I was 6 years old or 9 years old. We eat dinner together as a family when it's dark and we eat by candle light. We have candles all around the house and we just gather them all together. It's kind of romantic, but with family. So not that romantic.

After dinner I either finish my movie after clearing away the table or simply just enjoy the fact that I have nothing to do, I have no more shopping and neither do my parents. They're done, or they've just gotten done during the day. It's around 3pm right now, and they're sure to be done. And we just opened Nona and Papa's gifts that they sent in their big box which we will return next year with gifts for them...that's what we did this year...used their last year's box.

So our tree has an abundance of presents under it already. We're gonna eat dinner tonight by candle light and then after a couple of minutes we will open one gift.

I don't remember if Mom and Dad open gifts, but the three "kids" do. I don't really consider myself a kid anymore. I can see R rated movies without an adult. Yay.

After opening a gift, we will look for Santa, and I will think that the shiny red light that shows across our backyard is Rudolf even though it's just a power thing...whatever they're called.

Then somebody will read "The Night Before Christmas," "How the Grinch Stole Christmas," and "The Polar Express." Take note that I've been reading these books before any of their movies came out. "The Polar Express" was given to us in 1993, I believe. The Grinch and the Night Before Christmas are from before I was born, weren't they?

Once the reading is done, I will go to my room. Diana wants to read the books in her room this year. But I will be going to my room and I will lay down and think about how anybody could ever sleep. I seriously wonder how in the world people fall asleep. You have to be knocked out to go unconsious (how to spell?). I don't understand. But I've thought about it every Christmas Eve for some reason, it just pops into my head like it has now.

Have a Merry Christmas, everyone. Even if you don't celebrate it, you can still have a joyful Christmas Day.

Song Recommendation: Christmas Shoes. I am always on the verge of tears when I listen to this song. It's awesome.

Merry Christmas and To All a Goodnight.

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "Christmas Eve Traditions"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top