SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

"Bye Bye Birdie"
2005-01-22, 12:12 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

Written Opening Night:

It'll be fine. I'll go out there and put a smile on, that's the easy part. I know what to say. I know how to say it. I know what to do. I know when to do it. Everything is good. Everything will be good. Nothing to worry about, mate.

I say that over and over again to myself. It's all true, although there's always the possibility of screwing something up. The teaser went okay except for me. I feel so nervous for everybody else though. Gideon, who plays Conrad Birdie, in the title role, has to do so much singing. I watched him and it was just amazing. I don't know how he does it. He's a really cool guy.

I have five performances to go, as do all of us in the play. My character has a few lines and a couple songs, but only one little solo. No big deal anymore. My character is a 12 year old, the little child of the MacAffee family. Mary plays my older sister even though I am taller than her (but not by much). Ben and Anna play my parents.

Conrad Birdie, who, again, is Gideon, is a teen idol, who makes women faint wherever he goes. He is basically like Elvis, from the clothes to the songs. One day, he is drafted and there is a billboard announcing it to everybody. Of course this makes women hysterical. Conrad's being drafted puts his agent, Albert's (played by Alec) job in jeopardy. His secretary (Sarah) takes him and Conrad out to tour a small town, Sweet Apple, before Conrad goes off to war.

Albert writes "One Last Kiss" for Conrad to sing to a lucky girl selected at random (Kim, my sister, played by Mary), and like the song says, Conrad gives his one last kiss to this girl before going off to war.

Kim has just gotten a steady, which nowadays we call a boyfriend, who becomes very jealous of this Conrad Birdie because he is stealing Kim away, making her faint just like all of those other girls. So Hugo, Kim's steady, played by Andrew, causes some plot twists.

I think the script is hilarious and I am very glad we have stayed after school three days a week to learn the dances, the songs, and the rest of the play. The set is so awesome with the MacAffee house and Kim's bedroom, which you can turn around this huge set piece to become a revolving door for a train station. The steps for the train station are the same steps leading from a courthouse, and are very beautiful. There is also a train station entrance that looks so awesome with a door that has "Train Station" on the window. Out of our two directors, one who is an English teacher, and her Intern, the Intern has dedicated so much time and work into making the set. I didn't do half of what I did last year on "Robin Hood," and even though that set contained awesome forest scenery, this one is way better.

The music is really good, jazzy, although I don't like my song because I sing it. On the CD, the kid in that is amazing and I could never live up to his performance. It's probably a girl. But that is good even for a girl.

By the way, the play is "Bye Bye Birdie." A musical, obviously, and it's going to be great. I'm so ready for all of these performances, that I don't want it to end. After this weekend, I'm afraid of it all ending. I love all of the friends I see in that class and after this weekend, it's gonna be a wildly long time before I see them again.

I am coming back again next year just because of how awesome I am feeling right now. I mean there have been so many times that I have felt too nervous. I don't like singing, and I can't sing. But it's SO worth it when I get to hang out with all of these great people who are so much fun to be with.

Next year I'll be a senior, and if this is my last time acting in my life, then I want to be a part of all I can be. Next year the class lasts for a whole year, which is so much better. I hope there will be many returning people.

I am going to miss Hannah and Mary, who I love. Hannah switched out of Video Production, too, which I found out today, and that is just awful. I don't think I'll be able to stand it for so long without Hannah. I gotta call her up or something. Mary, I hope to God I see again, even though I haven't really hung out with her since New Years, which, I'm sure makes me look like the gayest guy on the planet. However you spell gayest. She is one of the greatest people I have met.

I'll still get to hang out with Chelsey and Justin, because they're probably my best friends. I almost freaked out when Stephanie invited me for pudding next week. "Oh my GOD, what if I never see you again?!"

But then she reminded me that I see her everyday at lunch. "Oh yeah, that's right." *big sigh* *sits down*

I switched lunches, which makes everyday seem like a big surprise when it comes to lunch time, because I won't learn to expect it, because I am so used to B lunch.

Oh my God, look at the time. It's almost 5:30. I need to get to the high school...holy shit am I nervous. Oh wow. I'm going to freak right out.

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: ""Bye Bye Birdie""

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top