SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

Oscar Night 2005
2005-02-28, 5:55 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

I think Oscar night turned out pretty damn well. In the beginning, "The Aviator" was sweeping through the awards, taking anything in it's path except for...Alan Alda. I'm sure he deserved it, but Morgan Freeman's done so much and has been nominated before. I can't imagine Alan Alda NOT owning an Emmy at least...you know, for M*A*S*H.

Best song went out to The Motorcycle Diaries' song, which I haven't heard and I may never see that movie for as long as I live. For that category, I think that "Phantom of the Opera" could have been the one to get an Oscar, even though the set design was really cool, but it took place mostly only in a theater. "Learn to be Lonely" reminded me of some James Bond song, I liked it a lot, and it is performed by Minnie Driver. That was the only song she sang for the movie, even though she was in the movie.

For best Animated feature, it was between three computer-animated movies and it was pretty much no competition in my mind. Shrek 2 was a spoof of too many other movies, but The Incredibles was greatly original and just looked beautiful. Shark Tale, oh man, I was too disappointed, but I wasn't expecting much.

"The Passion of the Christ" could have taken, and should have taken home the Oscar for make-up, that was extremely realistic looking, and was just plain awesome make-up. Not being nominated for any other categories, although it could have been and maybe should have been. But that's all I'll say about that film.

The movie that wasn't getting enough attention but was probably my favorite movie of the year was "The Polar Express." It was an awesome movie and I think it should have definitely been up for Best Picture. It looked great, had awesome music, another category it should have at least been nominated for. Gimme a break, "The Village" was even in that category along with "Finding Neverland," which took home that Oscar for best original score. When I see that movie, I had better be impressed, because "The Polar Express" score was just too awesome. I want that CD.

The Aviator got best costume design, best art direction, best achievement in editing *sigh*, and had the best cinematography, all of which I can't believe. It's a period film, right? It's gotta have a good costume design, so I'll give them that one. But art direction? Okay, okay...remember, I haven't seen the movie. But we'll give them art direction. Some older lady picked up the Oscar for editing even though I think that one should have gone to "Eternal Sunshine." Of course, that movie wasn't even nominated in that category. Now, cinematography, if The Aviator can take home all of these, including this one, why didn't it get best picture? I think The Matrix Revolutions could have gotten that more than...well, more than "Phantom of the Opera," which was nominated.

"Sideways" won best unoriginal screen play, which is fine by me, I'm happy with that, I still haven't seen the movie, but I haven't seen too many of the Oscar worthy movies this year. I'm glad it took something home, this movie started small and just grew. "Eternal Sunshine" took home Original Screenplay, thank God, even though it should have gotten more than that.

I was sure Martin Scorsese was gonna take the Best Directing Oscar, but NOOOO, Clint Eastwood, and I am VERY happy about that. There is only one movie that Martin Scorsese has made, called "Gangs of New York," and that movie was good, his only good movie. In my opinion. But way to go, Clint Eastwood, nice job. I gotta see "Million Dollar Baby."

And just for the hell of it, I must see "The Aviator," perhaps I'll write about it when I do see it. We'll see if it looks as good as they say it does.

Cate Blanchett got �Best Supporting Actress,� which was great, I like Laura Linney a lot, too, but Cate, from what I saw, looked really good. They�re both very pretty, too. Morgan Freeman took the �Best Supporting Actor� category, although I think Alan Alda should have�but again, I haven�t seen either of their movies. I just really like Alan Alda. Morgan Freeman deserves it, though, he�s been nominated other times and I am happy for him. But, in his little movie clip that they showed, I didn�t even understand what the hang he said.

Hilary Swank gave a beautiful speech mentioning living in a trailer park when she was younger. That�s beautiful, truly. Giving hope to so many women who would just love to be where she is, people looking up to her now. Her career will surely get boosted to bigger and better roles, and I really want to watch her in �Million Dollar Baby.� But, I gotta say, I would have loved to see Kate Winslet win Best Actress, that would have been so awesome. She was awesome. In "Eternal Sunshine." Same with Jamie Foxx, who talked about his grandmother who passed away. It was a beautiful speech and I was almost in tears through it, almost. His grandmother (if I remember correctly) taught him acting.

And for best picture�the Oscar goes to� �Million Dollar Baby,� congratulations, hats off to you. I wanna see it, I gotta say. �The Polar Express� should have at least been nominated. That�s all I will say.

Best host of the Oscar�s�Chris Rock. Well done, man, I like you.

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "Oscar Night 2005"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top