SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

Star Wars' hype
2005-03-16, 4:01 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

As a child, I was never a big fan of Star Wars, except that I bought all of those damn toys that they sold. Believe it or not, and I'm sure you will, George Lucas made most of his money off merchandise from his movies. For the past so many years, since 1977, George Lucas has been involved with directing only one movie, as he calls it. "Star Wars" is his life and he isn't known for much else except American Graffiti and More American Graffiti.

But there is something about hype that really gets me going. Especially when it has to do with movies. A couple years ago, when "The Phantom Menace" was about to hit theaters, people lined up in front of theaters, waiting for the premiere. I have a whole bunch of Star Wars toys, a box of Star Wars stuff kept in my closet. I have the Millennium Force, which was my first big purchase as a child. It cost $30, and I remember wanting it so bad and saving up for it. I would be the coolest kid at Kids' Korner the next day, which was basically my day care.

I remember playing Star Wars monopoly and acting the business man in me. Monopoly is big business, especially when trading. At Kids' Korner, I was big stuff, and even more so once I was in fifth grade, my last year at Kids' Korner. Ever since then, whenever I visit, it is so slow there and looks so boring. None of my sisters go there now, and since I work there, I notice that there is pretty much nobody there. The place is open to only those who have classes at night, such as Art class for the Senior's Center.

But back to "Star Wars," which came out while I was in fifth grade. The hype was huge. I had borrowed the first three from my uncle and watched them in three days. I even spent the night at my grandma's to watch them, since Uncle Jim lives next door to them. The movies, to me, were really cool, but I never really appreciated them for what they were. I remember loving all the different scenes, and seeing all of the characters my friends played with at Kids' Korner.

There was Han Solo, played by my childhood-favorite actor Harrison Ford. The death of Obi-Wan Kenobi. Yoda. "Luke, I am your father." The death of the emperor was, like, the greatest moment in movie history. And, of course, there were so many other scenes, but I haven't seen those movies in so long. I might only have seen them once, but see how memorable those scenes and characters are? I mean, movies aren't made like that anymore. I used to think I was amazing because I could remember every movie I ever saw, but then I thought it was weird until I couldn't remember certain movies. There are some movies that are just not memorable.

Like "2 Fast 2 Furious," which took a what-coulda-been awesome franchise, and shit on it. That movie is forever known as one of my least favorite movies ever. I don't even think I've watched it all, I just didn't like it.

But "Star Wars" had many memorable moments, and "Episode I" was coming to theaters in 1999. The same year "The Matrix" came into theaters. It was a huge deal, though, when "Star Wars" came. I read so much about it, and I was so excited. I was excited for people who were excited. And the day after it came out, all of my friends had seen it, and I just asked around about what happened. They made it sound so cool, but wouldn't tell me how Darth Maul died. I liked that guy so much, and I even bought a book for his picture in it. He was so cool, and looked so cool. Then I saw the movie...and it was actually my favorite movie of all time when I had seen it.

When I saw it, there was nothing that could make it a bad movie. Sometimes movies do that, they have a reputation, and cannot be bad. But as it turns out, I slowly grew out of liking Star Wars because "The Phantom Menace" turned out to be disappointing to a lot of people. You'd think that the movie couldn't be bad, when in fact, it was impossible to be good, I mean, you can't live up to the original Star Wars. Those characters are who everybody came to know, and none of them are in the new Star Wars movies. Sure sure, the hooded badguy, Darth Sidius (eh, I don't know his name), and Ewan McGregor as Obi-Wan Kenobi are there, but Ewan is no Alec. Alec Guiness is who we know and love.

The new Star Wars movies have been disappointing. When the second one came out, I didn't even see it in theaters. But now...Revenge of the Sith is being hyped about, there was a preview on television and a 60 Minutes episode about it. The music, oh, I love that music. I have the "Phantom Menace" on CD, since 1999, yo. That CD rocks.

The hype is back, though, and I am totally excited for the new Star Wars. I am even looking into buying the $50 Star Wars DVD set, with the three original movies. I want that so bad, and with my pay checks coming in, I may throw my money into getting them.

As a child, you see these movies, and you see how cool any movie is, you learn how they are supposed to look. I grew up with Indiana Jones, Basil Rathbone-starring Sherlock Holmes movies, the Lethal Weapon movies (and I remember how awesome it was to see Lethal Weapon 4 in theaters), and a little Dirty Harry. The Land Before Time, also, and so many Disney movies, like Aladdin and The Lion King. We grew up with these movies, seeing how they're supposed to be done, setting a damn high bar for movies today. I know how they're supposed to be done.

Let the force be with you.

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "Star Wars' hype"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top