SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

Of School and of some movies
2005-04-25, 2:50 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

I've been up to a whole bunch. What to start with? First of all, I have actually been in a really pissy mood. There seems to be only two things that seems to be wasting my life away. I'm ready to get up on outta here and actually get into a career while there are still people coming into our classroom talking to us about everything. Giving us ratios on how other people have ended up. I don't want to know OTHER People�s chances of actually starting a life worth living...I want to know my chances.

High school is so stupid, and I'll complain about it, but it's important. Socially. Thank God for my friends, I'll tell you. Don't waste your High School life. Zach, who I've been wanting to hang out with for quiet a while finally got something going. We went to go see "The Amityville Horror" and I was really excited about it.

There's just something about a creepy house movie that makes me want to smack the heck out of the actors and say "Just leave." Ryan Reynolds didn't want to leave, and the house was driving him mad. Why was he going mad? I couldn't figure that out, and eventually, I didn't care. I just wanted to see his head get chopped off with that scary axe that seemed familiar to me since I saw "The Shining." In fact, that movie was quite similar. And Zach, saying "I just hope this movie doesn't end up being like 'The Shining'" really didn't make me feel any better about it. There was one really cool scene, though. The scary feeling of the nighttime and the windows opening gave me...that scary feeling, you know? And then the boy goes to the bathroom, which reminded me too much of "The Sixth Sense," but anyways, all of a sudden, a bloody guy popped out of nowhere, like it was in the audience's mind. It made me jump, I calmed down, and nothing ever picked up for me in the jump department. Ryan Reynolds is awesome though, delivering a couple of good lines such as "What the hell is wrong with this family" and "The kids have gone crazy," but you'd have to see it to know what I'm talking about there.

Reynolds was also just too buff for the role, which, no doubt, was from Blade Trinity, which he was also quite awesome in. I like Reynolds, but he's gotta make wiser film choices. Amityville: grade: C, replay value 2/10.

So we went back to Zach's house afterwards and played Euchre. Something we also did this past weekend at Chelsey's, but lets talk about that later.

Sra. Espanol gave out three different projects. One was a 5-chapter auto-biography in Spanish, which is lame, but I'm liking the writing, so I can live with that. Another was a project about a famous artist, and my partner, who was Sophomore representative Jessica, chose somebody who is very similar to Picasso. The third project was as stupid as just telling the class:

"Alright, and for your third project to cram into your already busy-with-other-teacher's-crap lives is for you to make a Paper-Mache something-or-other. PINATA! You can make anything you want as long as it's school-appropriate, of course, but you have to make it all on your own time. I don't have any of the materials, so why don't you bother your parents to go out and buy the stuff for you. Alright, you have two other projects you have to work on this hour, choose wisely and I'll see you guys in a couple of weeks."

Not only am I getting projects here and there, but the weeks are going so slow. Whatever I have to look forward to on the weekends is just too much. I am so excited for the weekends that they go so fast, making Friday night and Monday morning feel like one night combined.

I was just reminded, last night, that I have yet to even start my SECOND Cartoon Notebook. I'll admit, the first one was fun, and when it's fun, it's almost easy. I enjoyed looking through them all and picking out the best ones to write up. But I've been reading comics lately, and I don't understand a goddam one of them.

Re-goddamn-diculous.

And then I got pissed off and told my mom to get out of my way before I got pissed off and just went off yelling at the teacher of Government. She gives us all of this work to do and says "Do it," much like the Spanish teacher and her pi�ata shit. I don't even understand the stupid essay thing we have to do, except that it has to be 3 pages. I'll whine and cry all I want to, and I'll write 3 pages on how I really don't want to do the project. Which should be able to work, since it's a position paper.

But she doesn't fucking teach. I told my mom that I hated her and that I am thanking God for future students of Government class that they won't be having her as a teacher. She's not retiring, I'm firing her. She doesn't have the choice of coming back or not, I'm not going to let her come back, haha. Williamston High School shall be grateful that we are rid of her.

And I was thinking about all of this in class today as she passed out a 3 page list of vocabulary words for us to look up. Of course, there are plenty of these words not in the book, since the book is our only resource since she doesn't fucking teach. And then Steve (aka Red) said "Maybe we'd get this done a little faster if you would lecture more rather than just hand out work."

I freaked out and said "Steve, that was awesome, it needed to be said."

Then I freaked out again when the "teacher" turned around and had heard me. I was thinking "Damn, I was just so rude," but I didn't think she'd hear me, she had started yelling at the rest of the class again. I felt bad, but then said "Wait a minute."

The night before my mom asked "How would you feel if she actually heard you say that?"

I didn't feel bad about it last night and I don't feel bad about it now. She doesn't care, she's RETIRING! She could fail all of us and not feel bad about it. She used to like me if she doesn't anymore...but God Damn it. I still felt bad.

My lack of interest in school, from what I was afraid was a complete lack of interest...is growing.

This was after this weekend. Byrdman really wanted to go see a movie with me. Stephanie wanted to go see a movie with me, so we killed two birds with one Byrd and one Stephanie and went to see "Sahara." I don't remember what Stephanie actually wanted to see, but Byrdman wanted to see a movie with me, so we chose "Sahara." I used to have high hopes for it, thinking there would be some cool action sequences.

I got in the car after the movie, after dissing the movie the whole time during it with Byrdman. Then Stephanie talked about it and said that she liked it. I kept my mouth shut. It was way worse than "The Amityville Horror," even though they're very different movies. What the hell is wrong with filmmakers these days? Amityville should and could have been so much better, even though it wasn't actually a true story. "Sahara," I'm afraid, just couldn't have been better. And I don't mean that in a good way. I mean, it was based on a book, and that's just how it went down.

From now on, if I don't have high hopes for a movie, I'm not gonna see it. I don't wanna spend the stinkin' money. I'm not even happy that I saw it.

This was Saturday night, after Friday night when Chelsey had her get together where we played Euchre. Then we watched "Scream 2," which I think is not that bad of a movie. Lots of bad acting, that's allowed in some horror movies, but no sex scene? C'mon!

Anyways, Zach jumped a couple of times, so he is forced to like it. If a scary movie can make me jump a couple of times, then it's a good movie. And that movie made me jump, even though I had SEEN it before! We watched it on Chelsey's huge screen with surround sound, and that was awesome.

Then Chelsey let me borrow "Moulin Rouge." I didn't expect much, my dad didn't like it, and I didn't like Ewan McGregor movies all that much.

There are a couple of elements that movies need. All movies need a few of these elements. They need a good story, director, actor, good music, OR special effects. I mean, you won't go see a movie just because it has nice clothes. Or good sets, it's how you use them. But Moulin Rouge started out with a nice tune to an interesting start with the 20th Century Fox logo. It had superb music, too.

I actually didn't like the directing by Baz Luhrman, who did "Romeo and Juliet," a movie I liked. I didn't like some of the characters, and I didn't even really like the story. But the movie rocked out, and it was awesome, and it was fun to watch, visually exciting, and it was an awesome movie. It was very entertaining throughout, because you did get into the story. These characters who would sing familiar songs as if they invented them and it all made sense. The story worked, I'll say that. I was thoroughly entertained.

But I hated the ending. See it if you haven't, although I wouldn't watch it if you had a headache, because it is an insane movie. It's an artsy film but fun to look at. The music is awesome and makes you love at least the main characters played by Ewan McGregor and Nicole Kidman. It was an awesome movie.

And now the weekend is over and tonight at work I'm planning to start my stupid cartoon notebook. My second one of the year. But I'm afraid that my cartoon notebook grades will be the ones that will pass me. I suck.

"Don't let school interfere with learning."

p.s. I am going up north this weekend for the first time this year. All parties and/or get-togethers on hold, please."

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "Of School and of some movies"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top