SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

Star Wars; Hitchiker's; House of Wax
2005-05-27, 2:09 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

Hype so turns me on. I mean, when I see other people excited, then I am equally or greaterly excited. It's just awesome.

The little advertisements showed pictures of different movies, these are before the previews. Most of which I seen...the movies, that is. You know, some theaters show little trivia things before the previews. Speaking of which, the previews were really cool, Batman Begins, Fantastic Four, both of which I gotta get out and see.

The opening music of John William's score got me shaking, I was so damn excited. Everybody was talking about Episode III for the previous two days. It was Friday night, and Wednesday was basically Star Wars day, everybody had Star Wars t-shirts and plastic light sabers. It was a really fun day to be at school.

The first 10-15 minutes of the film was a huge battle in space, finally putting "Star Wars" in the title. It was really amazing to watch, and actually felt like a ride, especially when Justin, next to me couldn't help but say "Weee."

Ewan McGregor and Hayden Christensen landed in a space craft to save the chancellor Palpatine, who we all know is a Sith Lord. With a cool lightsaber battle with 80-something-year-old Christopher Lee and then an introduction to the memorable General Grevious, the beginning created an awesomely entertaining film until they crash landed back onto a planet.

Then it stopped. Everything stopped. There weren't any memorable moments for me until maybe the wookie war. The Grevious fight, with his four lightsabers really got me excited, but I dunno how cool that was. It was one of the more fun moments. Then Anakin goes bad, turns to the Dark Side, and a montage of the killing of Jedis. It was depressing because of John William's music, which is nessesary, but it leaves you feeling that way.

As sorry as I am to say it, "The Phantom Menace" has been my favorite of the new trilogy. Darth Maul is such an awesome character, and his fight scene in the end always gets me excited. I haven't seen that movie in years, though. The only memorable scene in Episode II was Yoda fighting Count Dooku (Christopher Lee). Episode III, Revenge of the Sith, was just not fun. With Episode I, we had even the Pod Race that got us excited in a fun Star Wars way. But Revenge is not fun.

SKIP NEXT PARAGRAPH, SPOILERS:
The dialogue sucks, even though I liked the lines between Anakin and Obi-Wan in the end, but Anakin's being burned alive was such a stupid idea. It wasn't creative! Then they put his well known suit on and made him half man, half droid, as the Darth Vader we all know. The depressing funeral of Padme after she gives birth to twins happens, and when Darth Vader hears of this, he drops to his knees and creams "NOOOO," delivered by James Earl Jones, which is something that was just too cheesey.

Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith: Grade C. Rewatch value: C.

~~

The following night was finally my chance to take Diana to a movie since I lost a bet a couple months ago. I said to her, "This is it, this is the movie, we're going to see it."

The Hitchiker's Guide to the Galaxy. I was expecting Spaceballs or a Monty Python-inspired film. It started out with a little bit on dolphins, and went into song with some cool dolphin footage. When the song felt long, I was wishing that I was in Star Wars. And the feeling never left me.

The Hitchiker's Guide to the Galaxy is the worst movie of 2005. It was zero fun, the little gags weren't funnier than me to give a chuckle less than breathing out of my nose. My favorite character was Alan Rickman's voice as the depressed robot, because I felt just like he did watching that movie. I wanted to leave in the middle of it, and I still can't figure out why I didn't. They raised the prices at the theater, that's why.

That film was awful, but it should really inspire confidence to those of whome want to be in the movie business. If they are making crap like that, then any of us could make crap like that and sell it.

Grade: F. Rewatch Value: D-, since I think watching it with friends could make it the slightest bit better. But still...D-.

~~

House of Wax was the best movie of last weekend, and I think Paris Hilton is hot. She gave a strip-teasing dance just before her much-talked-about death scene. The film had character developement, something most horror movies lack.

I felt like I was with the group of people going on a road trip to a football game. It was a lot of fun! Nothing happened for a while, but you are really entertained. It was fun to watch, and even well made.

Walking into the House of Wax was even fun to look at, and when the main characters got scared, you got scared. The badguy was a freaky lookin guy who doesn't care about hurting people. He turned the characters into wax while they were alive. I gotta relate it to "Red Dragon," because in both of these films, I was just so afraid of what the badguy was going to do to the characters. And you liked the characters, too, so when they were being hurt, you felt bad.

It really gets to anxious, building a lot of tension.

The only part I gotta warn you about, is the big fire in the end. The House of Wax is made of wax. When they were filming, the set burned down accidentally without cameras running, so most of the end is computer generated. Some shots looked so bad it was enough to ruin the ending. But the film is definitly worth a look-see.

Grade: B. Rewatch value: B+. Horror movie scale: A.

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "Star Wars; Hitchiker's; House of Wax"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top