SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

How was your Prom Night?
2005-05-29, 12:45 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

Prom is a twice in a lifetime chance for a guy like me, and I went bowling. With a group of friends. Zach. Chelsey. And Kelly and Casey. Kelly is a short sophomore who has been in advanced drama for the last two years, also starring in drama club plays. She must hear how cute she is, like, a million times a day. Casey is also from drama with a beautiful singing voice. She called me cute at the bowling alley, and I don�t think anyone has called me cute to my face in quite some time. I pretend that people are always talking about me behind my back. And I work hard for these things they �always� say are not bad. But who knows. Tonight I was cute for not knowing who "the wings" were. Obviously, I did realize, they were talking about the Red Wings. I just didn't know what color wings they were talking about. I was "cute," we all move on.

~~

Ukai is a restaurant that is exactly like one that my family used to go to whenever we visited Nona and Papa in Florida. I remember the feeling of being at a hotel, not having to worry about a thing in the world. I was young then. I remember loving the atmosphere and the smell of the summery sunshine state�at nighttime. I remember driving through a city of neon lights back to the hotel where we would change into our bathing suits and go swimming late at night. Those were some of the best days with my family. We were younger.

I�m definitely ready for summer. Two years ago I talked about a surprise of which I made any of my readers wait until a future entry to find out about it. Well, now I have another surprise. And it�s the same thing. Not as surprising, but a million times more exciting somehow.

I�m going on a cruise again this summer. This time, not only for four days. But for an entire week. And not only will my family be there with Nona and Papa, but my entire family on my dad�s side. Basically free. Free plane tickets down to Florida. Limo transportation to the boat. All expenses paid cruise. There is honestly nothing more you could ask for.

~~

But yeah, Ukai reminded me of Florida years ago. It�s the Japanese place where they cook everything in front of you with a bunch of tricks, such as spinning knives around their fingers and flipping shrimp tails into their big white cook hats.

By the way, Ukai reminded me of Florida�reminded. Past tense. Now it reminds me of Feb Follies, going out to dinner with that one girl, Victoria. And Chelsey going with RyMo. Ryan was there last night. Almost awkward? But maybe not. Weird, perhaps.

Zach and I were definitely enjoying the show with the girls sitting on their own side of the table.

After dinner we needed to kill time since we just weren�t going to prom. I mean, none of us were dates. So�we went bowling. The first game, I dominated, but the second game I was not so lucky, and didn�t even break 100. I dunno what happened.
After that, we still had time to kill. �Anchorman� is not only a really good comedy with memorable characters, but it�s also really well made. It�s just damn fun. We watched that at Chelsey�s while Casey looked at a Friends magazine and I looked at Chelsey�s scrapbook. I�d want a scrap book, but I wouldn�t wanna go through the trouble of putting it together. Or taking pictures. I don�t like pictures of me unless I�m having a lot of fun. Like, I have a picture of me in my bathing suit without a shirt � definitely not one of my favorite pictures of myself � but I�m holding a bird on a beach in Florida. The picture was taken right after the cruise those years ago. We hadn�t been to a beach while on the cruise. And I love the beach.

~~

Post Prom. We arrived almost fashionably late, except nobody was there for so long. Chelsey didn�t seem to be having fun for too long, and I think Kelly and Casey might not have been too excited about it, either. I had a blast, I was talking to plenty of people including Red. Have I talked about him here? I hope not.

Bungee running. �Rock� wall. Obstacle course. Twister on a huge mat. All of these from a company that blows up these things into huge�balloon-like things. Like a moon bounce, except we didn�t have a moon bounce. We didn�t need it. The people running these things didn�t seem to be having any fun. The DJ�man, if you watched him for too long, you would get down on your knees and cry. I felt bad. Didn�t show them I felt bad. Didn�t do anything about it, although I wanted to just go up to one of them and say �Pretty repetitive, huh?�

There was also laser tag in the library. This was, of course, at our high school. That was fun, maybe, but we didn�t see any scores, so it was basically going in, shooting people, not being able to really see anything. Not that great.

The post prom theme was Hollywood nights. That was really awesome. Cut-outs of Clint Eastwood, James Dean, and Marilyn Monroe. Obi-Wan was stolen. As was Clint Eastwood, I believe.

Not enough people were there. That was disappointing. Almost a really slow night. Stephanie being there didn�t make things better, I�m afraid. I mean, when I first saw her, I talked with her for two seconds, turning my back on Justin, who vanished. Then I said to her �Hm, where�d that Justin go? Did I lose him already?�

She replied in a serious �Get over it, will you? You�ll see Justin again.�

I didn�t know what to think. Sometimes when women overreact, which I never accuse them of doing, it scares me.

For the last hour, these really calmed down. Everything closed down. And I shot hoops with Byrdman and Justin and Rob. My arms hurt like no friggin other. Right now my elbows are, like, ripped open with a burn. Silly bungee running. That was too much fun. I don�t know what�s so great about being pulled back so hard. Either the feeling of being pulled, the collision with the air-mattress-land, or the reaction of my friends watching. Justin says I take hits the best. That�s probably not a good thing.

~~

Back at Chelsey�s, we didn�t do anything, really, before starting �Closer.� The Natalie Portman movie with her as a stripper. She�s so cute. The acting was really good, even for Julia Roberts. She was different, I guess. Julia�s not a good actress, but she was enough in that movie. Natalie was really good. She can do good emotional scenes. I don�t think Jude or Clive can, I�m afraid. I was laughing at them when they cried. I didn�t really feel bad for either one of them. Oh well. I like the ending just because I didn�t care for them.

When the movie ended, Kelly and Chelsey were somehow awake. I could have gone for another movie, but we ended up talking. I realized that Chelsey is actually a really good story teller. I mean, maybe you have to know her or the people she talks about, but she�s always got a punch line. If only she could put that into words and write. It just doesn�t have the same effect.

Maybe it was Kelly�s reactions making me laugh, or maybe Chelsey just seriously lives a sitcom. Seriously living funny. That�s life. That�s all I�d ask for. I mean, minus any drama that Chelsey goes through.

We left the high school at 5am. Started the movie obviously after that. Fell asleep just before 8am. I watched all of �Closer,� and the girls were asleep for at least half an hour. Then, on the other couch, the futon of slumber, Mary started speaking alien in her sleep. Then she was confused because we were laughing at her. Then�she had to pee.

Kelly comically took her spot on the futon, before Mary came back from the bathroom. The look on Mary�s face cracked me the hell up. She saw Kelly and just looked so confused. It was beyond belief for her to see her spot taken. Kelly started laughing, and returned to her warm spot next to Chelsey.

Anybody can sleep with a girl and�cuddle/snuggle. Any girl can do that with any girl. And guy can do that with any girl. But few men can do that with those few men. I don�t really know why I raise this point, but�nevermind. I was jealous of Chelsey.

~~

The whole day was awesome�yesterday felt like a whole weekend. It was totally fun. After hanging out with Justin during the day, and for the rest of prom night�I was wearing leopard print underwear. And you had no idea.

Gross.

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "How was your Prom Night?"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top