SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

Looking around the corner with as few words as possible
2005-06-07, 2:33 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

Summer�hardly known as a season to me. Being just around the corner, summer truly starts (for me) only when that last bell rings on the last day of school. Then we are released into a world of freedom. When we get bored, we can feel good about it. Summer is there for your doing of nothing. Truly nothing. Nothing can be defined as sitting there. Of course, now that you�re on summer vacation, sitting there is not just sitting there. I mean, you don�t have to think about having to go to school the next day. You don�t have to think how long you can procrastinate on any stupid homework or project. No worries, mate. You have nothing to do.

This is when nothing can be something. Nothing can be anything. You can do�all of the anything that you want to do. For summertime, you have all of the time in the world. For a limited 2 and a half months, you have all the time in the world to do anything. That is what I will be thinking about when I wake up this Friday while also thinking about no school. Of course, since I have no school I will lay my head right back down (considering I pick it up), and I will sleep the time away. Don�t worry about wasting days�I�ll be making the time up later that night.

This weekend, let�s see�*looks at make-believe schedule*�Brady�s got a party happenin ON Friday. So�it looks like I will definitely be getting up that day. Saturday, aha, Stephanie�s open house, and also on that day I belieeeve�Robert�s openhouse. I gotta get his senior picture. Maybe Chelsity will accompany me.

~~

This past weekend I went up north. When it�s just my dad and I, it is always a bunch of fun. Maybe that has something to do with why it is so different from when the whole family goes. Dad and I pack the car, passing each other on our ways back and forth into the house. After stopping at Felpausch (for crab, mmm, sea food), I pop in an Everybody Loves Raymond audio tape. We listen to that with a little conversation during each one about the seniors, their graduation, prom dinner, prom night, and post prom.

Shadow hops up in the back seat, wagging her tail harder agaist the window as we near the house. Her tail always smacks me in the face on her way out of the car since she always goes out Dad�s side of the car, not waiting for the backseat door to open. It�s almost 10pm, since Dad didn�t get out of work any earlier, although he did get out quite earlier than usual.

Again, we�re passing each other on our ways from the car or the house. It�s warm. It�s nice. Way up north, I�m always expecting it to be cold. But it really is summer already. And summer up there is just starting to get warm. It�s nice.

Inside the house, I take out my little ps2, set it up, and hand my DVDs to Dad. He picks out four. �Psycho,� �Good Morning, Vietnam,� �Broken Arrow,� or �Lethal Weapon.�

I eliminate the John Travolta movie because I know he would. And I also eliminate Robin William�s army comedy because the choice between the last two is more difficult. He eliminates �Psycho.�

I knew he would.

After that, I show him the movies on tape that I brought up. He picks out �The Scarlet Claw,� starring Basil Rathbone and Nigel Bruce. They made fourteen movies together in the Sherlock Holmes series. Although they are quickly paced for dramatic movies, they are still some of my favorite movies of all time. I grew up with them.

We fell asleep to the movie. The next morning we decided that we fell asleep around the same time.

Also the next morning we went on a couple of walks. I read some of my stupid �Dandelion Wine� book. Ray Bradbury is supposed to be this cool science fiction writer. A known science fiction writer. He refers to himself as an enchanter in the introduction of the book. He sucks. Damn you Ray Bradbury.

And damn you, too, Charles Dickens. Jeez, you�re such a little dickens. I hate you.

But I regret not going to sparknotes.com. Man oh shit, would it have been worth it. I was so frusterated with myself today. The test seemed easy, so easy that I�m sure if someone only skimmed over sparknotes, they would have passed with flying colors. I felt so terrible. Duffman is definitely my favorite teacher of the year. He makes you feel comfortable. He�s positive in everything he does. He�s actually a good teacher.

And I won�t have him as a teacher ever again. Not after today.

I�m also done with Video Production for the year. Until next year.

Every morning I have to force myself out of bed thinking about how much I hate school. I keep reminding myself how much I want school to be over with. I must think that hatred will end it more quickly.

Saturday night at the house was Braveheart night. I finally got to watch it. I bought it from the stupid Columbia House a couple months ago. I�m glad I joined Columbia House because -as Doug would say- I�m obsessed with movies. Who doesn�t love getting a new movie? I mean, it was practically free. But it�s been a pain in the ass anyways. Don�t join Columbia House, they really try to screw you over.

Braveheart ended, Dad says it was a good movie and that he�d want to watch it again. But I don�t think I�ll believe that. Dad likes dramas. He doesn�t like watching new movies, it seems. I mean, we haven�t been up north yet this year without him asking for �Red Dragon.� That is a great movie, and I owe Justin a movie for buying me that. I�ve been waiting for his birthday, but I wasn�t there on his birthday last year. Anywho�

We pack the car on Sunday. I take Shadow for walks. We vaccuum the house. The weekend is over. Somehow it went by really fast, and it seemed to go by really fast. Somehow it ended. We drive home the same, it�s raining, hard. It�s storming and we can see flashes of lightning. It looked really cool.

But that whole weekend went by with as few words as possible.

And I stayed up that night studying a little and long enough to watch a couple of Seinfeld episodes. Good times.

But I can�t wait for school to end.

And on that note:

Written by special guest writer, Justin...(taken from his blog).

"We tend to take our days for granted. Every time we wish a class was over, we wish for our life to be accelerated, and just get to the good stuff. But really, every moment is precious, even the boring or unhappy ones. Even when you sit there crying, feel lucky that you are able to cry. With every minute we get closer to growing up, closer to getting married, closer to dying. I treasure every second I am alive, and I am fully prepared to accept whatever my destiny turns out to be. This has been life lessons with your host Justin [Last name deleted]."

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "Looking around the corner with as few words as possible"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top