SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

Summer Sinks In
2005-06-12, 2:00 a.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

Doug's car...even though it had been sitting in the sun thus far in the morning (11:00am), it still felt really good. It was the heat of freedom, and I finally felt it. Phil, Doug, and I hit a red light. Doug slowed to a stop. I could see the heat rising off all of the cars around us. A woman in an orange sports bra ran in front of us, on beat with the music in her ears. Our conversation had died down, and I took the silence as a cue.

"We're on SUMMER vacation."

"I know, this is awesome!"

The feeling of summer vacation has never sunk in so fast.

~~

This year's seniors have been having open houses this weekend. I have 4 to go to. I've been to 3. My mom bought the cards that I gave to them. I picked them out. I wrote the cards. I wrote what I wanted to say. I signed them. And I wrote their names, Cody, Rob, Stephanie, and Laura on the envelopes. The three that I have been to had good turnouts. This morning, at about 1:00pm, Cody's started.

Flashback to the day before the last day of my junior year. I'm walking down the long hallway. From my locker to the outside world, walking out on the florescent lights that are always on at the High School. This would be my last walk down the long hallway...until Fall. But before I could get outside once again, I saw Cody in the art room. Had to say Hi.

I asked him if he had found his senior pictures, which he still didn't have on him. But he asked me if I would like to come to his open house. Just to get a picture? Of course I would. He frisked himself for a sheet of paper without luck. He looked around the room for a sheet of paper. C'mon a sheet of paper. Something to friggin write on. Aha!

He pulled out a scrap piece of wood that they kept in the art room. With a sharpie marker, he wrote me the time, the place, and the date. "There you go," he said, and then, sarcastically, "Something convenient enough or your pocket."

I thanked him, and headed out.

The next time I saw him, he was at Brady's house. This was where I first met Cody, and the reasoning for both of us being there was for exactly the same occasion as the previous year. Brady's birthday.

Brady's house was as kickass as always, and it was just fun to be around that group of people again. They are all such awesome people, and I totally miss not being able to talk to them as much. I hope Brady invites me to future parties.

He had a karaoke video game, something I had never seen before, and although I was too afraid to touch one of the cool microphones that went with the game, I wasn�t too sure how fun it would be to watch anyone else. It was. I think Ms. Listy owned all�and she was afraid of it at the beginning. Justin came in second, unless it was Phil who came in second. I was surprised to see Phil there, since I had seen him the previous day. He�s a really nice guy who I haven�t ever hung out with before this weekend.

Brady�s party, though, just couldn�t end without me being thrown in the pool. Along with Justin. I actually have no idea how that happened. I was joking with Cody that we should throw him in, then I pulled Justin back, so he wouldn�t get thrown in. I was his ride, I didn�t want him wet in the car �n stuff. But somehow, I ended up yelling my way in a slow-motion fall. My clothes stuck to me the rest of the night. Except for my shirt that had to be removed because every time it touched me, I flinched, reacting to the freezing wetness.

Justin and I conversed with Cody about making movies and ring tones in the darkness next to the pool. Laughter in the background and the lighting of Brady�s porch set an unforgettable mood. This was summer. The feeling of summer vacation has never sunk in so fast.

~~

�Isn�t that a cool ring tone?� Stephanie held her new graduation cell phone up to my ear. I was at Laura�s graduation. I hadn�t even seen Laura at Stephanie�s. They both had really good turnouts, as well as Cody did. I had been to Cody�s earlier in the day, and Stephanie�s the previous night. Laura held me close. I don�t know what she�s thinking.

It must be really scary�graduating. I mean, for most people. For most, they�re moving onto a higher level of education. A harder and more demanding level. College. They�re on their own�or at least more so. They�re growing up.

We�re all getting older, we�re all maturing, and we all are graduating from life�s stages. School years. College. Then career mixing with marriage �n stuff. But we�re never alone. We will always have our friends. Keep my phone number, I�m free all of the time.

I really hope to hang out with Cody this summer. Perhaps with Justin and Byrdman�making the movie I�ve been talking to Byrdman so much about.

~~

We weren�t exactly making a movie�

I went out filming with Chelsey, Mary, and Kelly. Chelsey has an idea for a music video. Although the idea for the song came from an intelligent�idea�making a music video for that one song would seem hard to me. And I was kinda �hired� to film it. So I did the shots, many and plenty (I hope) of them for Chelsey. And she said it took her two viewings to like it, but she liked my film work. I hope it turns out well for her.

~~

And on a last note for tonight�to finish how I�ve started my summer vacation�also taking place in the last weekend�I have seen�the best movie thus far during break.

�Mr. and Mrs. Smith� was totally fun. It was really funny, funnier than you�d expect. Adam Brody played a small part, and I don�t think it�s only his personality that makes him out to be a funny guy. There was also a really cool car chase that had a huge crash that took place behind the minivan that Angelina was driving with two enemy cars. It was art. It was a comedy filmed like an action movie.

It starts out with Brad and Angelina playing John and Jane Smith, almost obviously not their real names. They�re in therapy, talking about their marriage. John says they�ve been married 5 years. Jane says 6. Then we flashback to �five or six years later.�

It is simple comedy. But it works. And it works really well. Then, when the hits come, they come hard. Brad takes a hit to the testicles, and Angelina is kicked around on the floor�in the same minute. Adam Brody is interrogated and asks for something to eat or drink, and Angelina smacks him in the face with a hotel phone.

Possible spoiler paragraph, please skip if you wish:

It ends with a beautiful shoot-out, and no badguy. I don�t think I�m giving anything away when I say don�t place any bets on who will win the fight between husband and wife. Mr. and Mrs. Smith work together, and they do it good. With Adam Brody being bait (so that the couple learn that they are both agents, and therefore, enemies), he gives the story purpose. The film could have been starring any of our favorite action actors. But Brangelina works, and Mr. and Mrs. Smith, in the end, save their marriage.

See this movie, please. It is entertaining for all people, especially for any couple I would think. It�s a hot movie. Movie Grade: B+ (marked down for some lacking script�it just didn�t seem complete in the end, and wasn�t much more than a marriage being saved). Action movie scale: A- (It�s hard to make a really good action movie and capture it in an entertaining (and really funny) way). Re-watch value: B- (Most jokes are only good once).

The worst movie I�ve seen this summer (out of two so far) is Team America: World Police. It was well made, having Bill Pope (the man behind �The Matrix�s� camera) behind the camera. The script lacked enormously�the best monologue was about Dicks, Pussies, and Assholes�made out as an analogy. And the monologue is said twice. There is some musical elements just as South Park the Movie had. But I felt that the movie was a serious drama. And then, in this serious action movie (almost spoofing a Jerry Bruckheimer Production), there were gay people.

My favorite line in the movie (which isn�t saying much): �I�ll cut off your balls and shove them up your ass. So the next time that you shit�you�ll have shit all over your balls.�

Movie Grade: C-. Re-watch Value: C (I wanted to watch it again). Action movie scale: C+. Comedy Scale: C-.

~~

Quote of the Day: �Why don�t they pay me not to think? I�d be rich by now.� � Centaurlord banner (on diaryland). (This person�s name is Chris, too).

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "Summer Sinks In"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top