SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

Our Movie Business: A History ; Batman
2005-06-16, 9:06 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

Today being Thursday, I am a day late on seeing the new �Batman� film by one of the coolest new directors ever, Christopher Nolan. Being the director of �Memento,� that movie solely gives him a good track record. But I hear already that he doesn�t need that movie on his track anymore since this movie hits theaters. Batman is grade A superhero stuff. We�ll see about that. The action won�t start for at least an hour into it. I�m just afraid that there�s gonna be too much drama/nonsense like in the movie �Hook.� Peter Pan couldn�t fly until the last half hour. But the action really picked up then. �Hook� is a good movie though, so don�t think otherwise.

But we�ll see about �Batman Begins.� Tonight. Either at 4:05pm or 7:00pm. We�ll see.

~~

In two days, it�ll be the 18th of June, correctomundo? Si. One week from that day�I�m leaving on el cruiso. We float to Caribbean Islands, the Bahamas and the Virgin Islands. On board the M.S. Zuiderdam, and from Fort Lauderdale in my own personal paradise of the Sunshine State we go to Half Moon Cay, in the Bahamas. From there to St. Thomas in the U.S. Virgin Islands. Then to Road Town, Tortola, in the British Virgin Islands. And lastly, a place I�ve been to once before, Nassau, in the Bahamas. In exactly one week from the day we board the ship, we get off the ship. That will certainly be a sad day and the end of a forever-lasting memory. This is all going to happen. If the plane isn�t attacked by terrorists or crash on its own, I�m going to the Caribbean. God forbid.

I will be home on the 5th of July.

~~

In the dates that I will be home on, we have to plan shooting a movie. The �we,� being Justin and myself, and Zach is the only other authorized individual allowed on set. The official �okay� has been given for filming in the community center of Williamston. Byrdman has been designated as the introductory star. It�s getting pretty exciting, I went over to Zach�s house last night, for the night, with Justin, and the three of us talked about the premise of the script that has been written by Justin. I�ve written the first couple of scenes. For some reason I am used to writing for myself, and I don�t know why. I had myself playing two characters, but that was corrected last night.

The premise has been marked Confidential and will not be released to any press for any price. The parts have been chosen, and carefully selected.

The idea for the film came to me while working at the community center. Of course, shooting a feature film has been something Justin and I have wanted to do for quite some time. The last movie we made together was one of the standard formula, with Justin as the badguy mostly played by his pants (showing only his legs walking toward a kill�an effective horror-film trademark). His cat has also made an appearance in every one of our films. However, our contract ran out, and I went off on my own to shooting movies in my own backyard.

Among them, the Monster Hunter was filmed for a younger audience with younger actresses being my sister and her friend. Her friends� sister had an important part in the film as well, along with my silly cameo as the Monster Hunter with Shrek�s accent (poorly portrayed). The movie was basically a statement against cloning, being a spin-off of a previous film of Justin and mine.

Our cloning films were an attempt at horror but actually, don�t you doubt it, were action. With an amazing fight sequence between Justin and 5 or 6 of me, you wouldn�t ever want the action to end. Of course, our films have always ended with some sort of teasing cliffhanger, and that ending is suggested as a �don�t� in our movie business.

Our first movie was an attempt as science fiction. With Doug as our camera man, the planet earth was landed upon by an alien spaceship. Justin and I went out to look for them in his backyard. I hope Justin has this video, because it is not in my room. This fantastic piece of work, �The Uncomfortable Encounters of the Fourth Kind,� had the special effect of moving objects with nobody touching them (except for Doug and Justin�s sister off-camera). Wanting to keep up with any kind of special effects we could without the technology of computer generated material, our brilliant follow-up to the critically acclaimed �Encounters� incorporated the use of a cloning machine with the simple trick of keeping the camera in one place giving the illusion that the shot was all in one take. And from there came the action packed sequence�of Justin fighting the Chris Clones.

Now Justin and I team up once again, not for the saving of the world, but for the idea of a feature film in which Williamston is in jeopardy. You just wait.

~~

It is now ten to 11 and I have returned from the movie. Bruce Wayne couldn�t get the revenge he needed for the death of his parents. He uses his anger to fight crime in Gotham City. Not with anger, of course, because that would destroy him. The theme of the film was definitely all about fear. Bruce Wayne has always been afraid of bats. Going out to fight crime like he does, he cannot be afraid of what is out there. He gets quick justice upon the big gangster badguy played very well by Tom Wilkinson. The movie first treats him as the main villain until Cillian Murphy�s doctor is realized as being a bad guy. His mask is used to show people what they�re afraid of�to scare them, and, in effect, turn them crazy with the drug he gives them at the same time. A twist at the end (which I won�t say) places The Scarecrow as a secondary character. My favorite character was The Scarecrow, and I wanted more action from him�but I must mark it down for being insufficient.

Movie Grade: B+. Rewatch value: B (marked down for not getting into the Batman action soon enough. However, it was necessary). Batman movie scale: A. �Batman Forever� is my second favorite, though. That movie worked for what it was, but for that one movie.

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "Our Movie Business: A History ; Batman"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top