SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

Fear and Loathing Up North
2005-07-11, 3:18 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

Waking up at two o'clock in the afternoon doesn't help summer go much slower. My summer is flying by. How do you make time fly by? Well, time's fun when you're havin' flies.

And time flies by when you're having fun.

Whenever I go up north, I must have something to read. Reading is the most fun when you're with your family. I mean, when you're really into a book, they can't bother you. Nothing can bother you, really. This past weekend, I read "Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas." I have not seen the movie, but the book was written by Hunter S. Thompson, who died in the last year.

The book started out with our main character who we will know as Duke and his attorney. They are on the road to Las Vegas in search of the American Dream. With a trunk full of illegal drugs. Our main guy hallucinates about large bats flying over his Great Red Shark, his car, while they're speeding 100 miles an hour into the neon city.

There's something about neon that sets an interesting mood for me. I've written a story about a neon city before, which you can read, but you'll have to find it. The images I get are just so cool. Maybe it gives an old-time feel, or maybe Las Vegas is just so beautiful to me.

The book seemed hard to follow in the beginning, because it jumped around in time a lot. That's a hard thing to do successfully when writing well. I mean, when you can smoothly give signals to your reader that they are in the past and jump to present time. But the book was like a journal, being in the nonfiction section. Each chapter was like its own story and it was really entertaining.

The hitchiker they met on the way to Las Vegas, interestingly written. The lawyer, a main character, pretty much a crazy guy. He's hilarious, too. I was laughing while reading this book. I seem to be able to find the best books. The green water with the weird suicide attempt. The naked underage woman, Lucy, who paints portraits of Barbra Streisand. Hilarious tips to getting out of a speeding ticket which you wouldn't ever want to try.

"Back Door Beauty." "A Brutal Connection with Alice from Linen Service." "If you don't know, come to learn, if you know, come to teach," - Drug Convention motto. The main guy goes to Las Vegas to cover this, since he's a journalist. He's with the press, and his press badge allows him to do more things. "A terrible experience with very dangerous drugs," which shows what happens when you take too much. The book has many other stories to tell, like sub-plots which tells a story about what happened to other people when they did certain things that Duke is trying to do.

It is a weird book, but enormously entertaining. I wanted to read it again, but I need to move on. Next week I'll have a whole week with my family. I'm afraid. But Jimmy Buffett had better entertain me. If he can't, hopefully the new Harry Potter book will be out this week so I can buy it. I hope it's huge.

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas...on the book scale...a 10/10. A really cool chapter was written playwrite-style, and it was hilarious. If I ever write a book, it'd be like this, except not as drug-inducing. Now I want to see the movie directed by Terry Gilliam, starring Benicio Del Toro (as the attorney, no doubt) and Johnny Depp. I'm too afraid that it will be too weird of a movie. The book got away with it, it was entertaining. I dunno if a movie could pull it off.

The weekend up north wasn't as good when I wasn't reading "Fear and Loathing," or watching a movie. Dad goes up there to talk to our neighbors. Our neighbors are awesome people, but again, it's like my cousins, I don't see them enough. So I pretty much go up there to get away from people. I mean, I'm on a beach, I can get a tan, I can read a book by the water, and I can go skinny-dipping at nighttime. Well, not really. Not anymore. There's algae mixed with seaweed...or whatever...we don't really know. I don't think it's seaweed and my parents don't think it's algae. Whatever it is, it's really gross, and smells like cow crap. I mean, it's just so nasty. We were cleaning it up before we left, but I dunno how much good that will do. I may not go swimming this year. Up north, I'm afraid will be a time killer of the summer. I need my cousins to come up, too. When will that happen?

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "Fear and Loathing Up North"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top