SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

The Haunted
2005-07-29, 3:47 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

The Quote from that Day: (editted slightly): "You know, we really do have crazy ways of thrillseeking." - Justin.

I got off work at 9 o'clock at night and drove over to Brandon's house since we scheduled him to come over to my house for the night. I had Panera Bread on the way, probably one of my favorite restaurants now. I have a usual. It's a really nice place, and I like the atmosphere. There's college kids sitting around with their college books. There's people with laptops hooked up as if they couldn't just sit at home on their laptops. It almost has a diner feel. And I like that feel. All it needs (or not) is a bar where you can sit at and eat. Diners and sports bars have cool atmospheres. I don't know why I like them so much. When it comes to food though, I have a different set of favorites.

I pick Brandon (Byrdman) up, and when we finally get out of his house, we head over to Justin's. Luke, Justin's cousin, had seen this creepy looking place over on Noble Rd. and stopped his car to go check it out. It was nighttime and I guess after each step closer to this abandoned barn-like building, he got more and more scared. Something got the better of him and he decided to go in another time.

Justin and I drove by the building several days ago just to look at it. This was basically scene siting for a documentary-style video that we could do. This could be even scarier than the movie we've been trying to film. So once we had all met at Justin's on Wednesday night, Byrdman and I were the last ones there, we headed out with a fresh battery in my video camera.

Then we needed a flashlight, and thank God we remembered that, because I sure didn't remember mine. At first we needed to find a place to put Luke's car where nobody could see it. We ran to the stone steps and saw the messy brick interior of the building. The sandy white bricks were what sold me (to go filming) when Justin and I did our drive-by. I think there were two small rooms that we could go into once we stepped inside. Then, walking deeper into the barn, there was a large room, which was the whole thing.

There was a stage-looking platform, where I would think cattle would get on to be milked or something. When I was talking to the camera, I began to say something about that, but then, just stopped. And I didn't remember stopping mid-thought when I was filming. On video, there's a lot of darkness. My night vision doesn't reach farther than a couple feet in front of me.

"Justin, you gotta bring your light in here, I can't see without getting closer!"

On camera, there's darkness, and at a certain moment, Justin's light is seen and the camera focuses...into a chair standing alone in the middle of the room. As I walked toward the chair, I started stepping on glass that would break even more under my feet. Then I saw a window, which had fallen to the floor, and shattered. There was glass all over the place. Then there was a long spirally object used in farm machinery that was lying on the ground next to the chair. On camera, I looked up to see where the glass could have fallen from and saw a big hole in the ceiling. The ceiling was definitely caved in and a large object had definitely fallen from the ceiling. And the large object was found...in the floor. It must have been attached to the ceiling or something. The other guys think it fell through the ceiling.

We went back to Justin's and watched much less than 5 minutes of footage. They say it didn't do the scary experience justice. I agreed, but next time I'll let the camera roll longer. I mean, for a documentary, you want lots of footage anyways. I don't know why I kept stopping the tape. There's one moment where I turn around and I can't see or hear the other guys. I thought they were playing a joke on me or something, but I guess at that moment, they saw a firetruck and ran out to the car. Then they came back.

Walking back to my van with Byrdman, he asked me "Did you think that was that scary?"

"Not at all, but it was fun."

"I didn't think it was scary either."

"Byrd, I never saw you in the building, you couldn't have gone inside, in the room. You were scared out of your mind."

Our ideas of thrillseeking...are different. But hey, all those horror movies possibly could make more sense. Why do the main characters go in the creepy places? Now we know.

Before deciding if we should go in or not, Luke kept driving until we could turn around. There were driveways, but Luke kept going past them. Then Byrdman said where to turn. Justin calls this Byrdman's endless intelligence in his entry, but once Luke started turning around, it wasn't even a driveway. In fact, it wasn't even someone's yard. In fact, it was the worst possible place we could think to turn around in. It was a cemetary.

Me on camera: "Turning around in someone's yard."

Justin: "Byrdman, you drove us next to a cemetary. We've woken the dead. ...*pause*... good job, Byrdman."

~~

There's another abandoned place we need to check out. Story...a witch used to live in there. Haha, yeah yeah, who believes in witches? Well, years later, a family lived...in the house. And the father went all Amityville Horror on his family. Shot his family with a shotgun...and then hung himself.

So we gotta check that place out. Supposedly there are "haunted" stories about it. You know all those kinds of stories. Where, if you do a certain something you'll see a certain something. Like, my cousins went to a playground near where they live, turned off their car and put their keys on the hood of their car...then they claimed they could see a little girl's feet walking up stair to a slide. Apparently that was where a little girl died. Interesting. Unbelievable.

Unfortunately I don't believe in the supernatural. I don't believe in ghosts. Aliens? Maybe. I don't believe that there is nothing in space. But then, I don't believe anything would care to watch us living. I mean, humans are not that interesting.

If you were watching a human, and watching a dog...which would you think held power in this world? I mean, as an alien, you watch a man hold his dog on a leesh. But you also see the man, walking behind the dog, following it, with a bag, and with it, picking up the dog's shit. Who would you think is in power?

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "The Haunted"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top