SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

Reviews...Movies
2005-08-19, 12:41 a.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

I knew I wasn't gonna make it through the whole day without somebody mentioning that I was a senior or that school starts in just over a week. And I also knew I wasn't gonna get out of answering my most dreaded question..."Have you given any thought...to your future?"

Yes, it's another Family Reunion...this time, on my mother's side of the family. I guess I spent most of my time talking with Tony and his fiancee, Anne. She knew she brought it up and that she just had to, but I hope I didn't make her feel bad about it. I talked about our family cruise, which was so long ago.

School starts Wednesday, sorry to remind you. I'm going to be a senior, and whether or not I pass everything, it's my last year in High School. And my future...let's play one school year at a time.

~~

WEDDING CRASHERS

Yeah, I couldn't help walking out of the theater feeling really good. It started out with the same feel a preview feels when you watch it before the movie starts. It was a long and crazy montage of the character's life together. They crash weddings, getting to know everybody there and that's how they feel good about themselves. And at the end of the night, they throw a topless chick on the bed, a chick who just can't help feeling all of the love at the wedding. Then Own Wilson and Vince Vaughn hit the big wedding, and their last one for the season. Wedding season. Christopher Walken is the father, Rachel McAdams is the daughter, and Isla Fisher as the sister of the daughter. Or the other daughter, haha. Jane Seymour is also featured in this movie playing a wife who is all-for adultery. You certainly sey more of a different side of her.

There weren't as many disturbing parts as I was told there was, except a weird and gay brother who paints while the rest plays football. While Isla Fisher falls in "love" with Vince Vaughn, who is afraid of love, Owen Wilson is falling for Rachel McAdams, the cute girl who has a boyfriend cheating on her behind her back. That reminded me of "The Wedding Singer." Everything is a laugh or a chuckle. Vince Vaughn is able to improvise to his best ability, using the advantage of the film being R rated. One of the funniest improvisations was when the line was "I like syrup on my breakfast," he went off saying all the different ways he uses syrup. "How do you think [my hair] stays up?"

The film ends with an outrageous introduction for Will Ferrell, who I was waiting for the entire movie, which may be one reason it felt so long. We did not need to see Owen Wilson so down-in-the-dumps for 20 minutes in the end. Certainly very clich�, too. But Ferrell steals his scene, as did Isla Fisher as a crazy-in-love daughter. Possibly the quote of the movie: "MOM! THE MEATLOAF! FUCK!"

GRADE: B+ for it's length and dragging on. And I felt claustrophobic during the montage of crashing weddings in the beginning. But it was a good laugh, and is recommended to everybody. Over 17, of course. Well, you gotta be mature enough to handle a certain kind of R rated movie. I wanna invent a new ratings system that has to do with maturity, and somehow a measure of maturity. Er, I want credit for inventing it, but somebody needs to invent it.

~~

CHARLIE AND THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY

For a Tim Burton movie, this was not well put together. It seemed like a horror movie with somebody dying in the scene after somebody died. Over and over, for four characters who didn�t really die, but were...discarded. I expected this to be wonderfully creative, but the only creativity I saw in the film was the songs of the new digital Oompa-Loompas. And I didn�t even enjoy them. Being a Tim Burton movie, you can�t expect funny. Absolutely no offense to Mr. Burton, his films are fantastic, I recently watched Johnny Depp in Burton�s Sleepy Hollow, which is a fantastic movie. Coming soon to a theater near you, Corpse Bride, which I will surely see at the theater.

The movie was not well edited, I didn�t think. Johnny Depp delivers another interesting character, and that guy is a scene stealer, but I guess that�s how he looks at his work now. As all actors should. The ending brought in the theme of family and was quite different from the book. In the end, though, I don�t think this movie needed to be made. We will always have the older one and we will always be able to watch it. I need to see it again, but not for a while.

GRADE: C-. Graded up for a Tim Burton feel and a Johnny Depp acting job.

~~

MAGNOLIA

An older movie, made in 1999. I guess it was entertaining. I needed to be home at a certain time, so the 3 hours of this film really started to feel long after 2 hours. But the first hour and 40 minutes felt like no time at all, that really flew by. It is entertaining, and I�m sure it is something some of us can relate to. Excellent acting, and I give my hat-off to Mr. Tom Cruise for being very good in it. That was awesome of him to be good. He�s such a movie star, yet...well...I�d be a jackass if I diss his acting.

In the end, I don�t think I understood it. I couldn�t see why this movie needed to be made. Sure there are lessons and there are situations we�ve been in, but it was pretty much just a bunch of different scene with different characters in the tradition of �Crash.� Yet, all of the stories didn�t interest me personally, and it just felt like watching somebody else living through a day...not a normal day, of course. The ending...and possibly the theme is coincidence. It was supposed to be weird...but why?? I didn�t understand it. I don�t feel like I should grade it, either. It�s different for everybody. Either you like it or you don�t.
QUOTE of the MOVIE: �Respect....the cock.� � Tom Cruise in a different role. He also has an epic crying scene that was really well done.

I gotta give something away though...so if you don�t want to see it, maybe this will interest you...a rainstorm. Not rain, though. Frogs. It rains...frogs. Maybe the writer/director was highly coked as were one of his characters through the whole movie, but that�s what happens. What happens...happens. Coincidence?

I won�t recommend it, though.

~~

Alright, I think that�s all the movies for now. The �Sin City� DVD lacks on special features, although there is a behind-the-scenes featurette, it only lasts 8 minutes and 32 seconds. I wish there was a preview of �Sin City� on it, because I always love the previews on the DVDs, and the previews have good music over them. But the movie, if you like it, is worth buying, and you get one of four collectable DVD covers. I own the movie, and have watched it, and will watch it again before Sunday.

Sunday, I�m going to Cedar Point. I hope to ride all the new stuff. Chelsey and apparently Mary are also going.

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "Reviews...Movies"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top