SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

"Panic Room" experience ; Homecoming Friday
2005-09-17, 12:29 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

Friday night lights. Colors of green and white moving all around me. Cheers from the crowd sound so much better from a distance. An artist�s view of the most perfect fall night. Williamston. Football. Friday. Night. Lights.

The game was won before the second half started. Our opponents scored two touchdowns with a long distance throw. That�s what I heard.

And of course, after the game, I always watch a scary movie. It�s not even October, which is almost depressing. It�s not that I like October at all...there�s no break from school. It�s still September, but hey, I always feel like a good movie (or a scary one). I looked online for the movie I wanted to buy, and the movie that would start my post-Homecoming-game viewing of a Halloween movie.

Halloween. And it�s not even October. Almost depressing. But I�m always in the mood for a scary movie. Last year it was �Nightmare Before Christmas,� which was a Halloween-type movie, but obviously not scary. It was more of a musical. So, for the first two years, Danny Elfman has been my...theme...or whatever. Danny Elfman may very well be my favorite musician, or orchestrate, or whatever you wanna call the guys making all the music happen. Music IS the most important part of any movie...in my opinion. Second is acting. Third is story.

�Army of Darkness� includes the �March of the Dead� theme by Danny Elfman. Directed by Sam Raimi, Danny does the music to all of his films now.

This year, right before the game, I had my mom rent a movie for me. Another movie having an important musical portion...the music being by a director. And I got it right out of the horror section. The music and the movie wasn�t directed by Danny Elfman, though, I�m afraid. This time, Rob Zombie sits in the director�s chair. And helps out with music.

Yes... �House of 1000 Corpses,� children. If it�s worth it, maybe I�ll be back writing here tomorrow.

~~

After the first half, I went to Emma�s house. I forget, and don�t understand how I talked the girls back into the idea, but I thought the idea was forgotten or something. We were supposed to be watching a movie, and I thought it was going to be �The Ring 2,� but I think they both forgot about it. So Kelly and I stopped at my house to pick up some movies.

When I got to Emma�s, there was a Sara[h] there, who I wasn�t too sure about liking scary movies. I quickly queried my selection, wondering if Sara[h] would be the kind of person to want to watch any of the movies I picked out. The one I was hoping for, (laugh out loud for picking this movie for a couple of girls), �Evil Dead II� was almost immediately out of the question. Then someone named Cassie showed up. Although she�s...pretty nice (I�ve known her for years)...she�s quite sheltered. And the only thing she considered, although she claimed she didn�t care, was �Panic Room.� Emma knew she didn�t like scary movies. So no �Dawn of the Dead� for Cassie. Instead, we watched �Panic Room.�

For the first time you watch a movie like that, it�s pretty thrilling. Maybe even scary. Or really scary. But it�s supposed to be thrilling. Heart stopping. Directed by David Fincher, the man behind �Fight Club,� and another one of my favorite movies of all time... �Se7en.� He�s one of the greatest directors, but hasn�t made enough movies. �The Game,� I�m sorry...but I guess all directors have at least one bad movie in them. Doesn�t mean they have to make a bad movie...but I guess maybe they do.

Anyways, I had the pleasure of watching �Panic Room� in the theater...awesome time.

But watching the movie with these girls, especially Kelly, was a really fun time! I mean, I�ve seen so many movies, and Justin has said this thing before. We�ve seen so many movies, that we�re either scarred for life, or we just aren�t effected by people getting smacked in the face with a sledgehammer. Scarred for life, meaning, nothing will scare us once we�ve seen...whatever scarred us.

Kelly gasps, unannoyingly somehow, at all the right moments. My favorite people to watch movies with includes Kelly, Chelsey, and even my mom. Kelly, I saw �Hide and Seek� with, and really enjoyed the movie just because Kelly was having such a...an experience watching it. She was so afraid. And that�s what I had tonight, watching �Panic Room� again. An experience.

Chelsey, I�ve had a million and one horror-movie viewings with, but most memorably, �Stir of Echoes.� She screamed at the one scene where Kevin Bacon turns on the TV. And that�s what made me just love that movie (besides the fact that it was well made, well written, and a fuckin� A grade movie). I own it.

Also, I think �House on Haunted Hill� was one that maybe frightened her. Maybe it was one of those thrilling scary-as-hell movies that she just had to like because it scared her. I mean, movies are all about emotions. If a movie can give you the emotion that it�s trying to give you, you have to like it. It�s the law. Chelsey loved �Friday Night Lights� because it made her cry (or almost did). We have to love �House on Haunted Hill� because it�s actually scary. We have to love �Old School� because it makes us so friggin� happy, like �Anchorman.�

Watching �Panic Room� scared Kelly to death. It�s scary the first time, I even thought so...it�s just so thrilling. And shocking.

�I love movies that scar. Like, I liked the movie �Jaws� because it made me never want to go into the ocean again.� - David Fincher (from the top of my head). Actual quote at the IMDb (link below).

But the only thing that bothered me (after so many times), was Cassie gasping at the F word. I asked her if it�s only the F word that bothers her. �Swearing in general.�

�And using �Jesus,� too, then?�

�Yeah, that bothers me.�

�But you gotta admit, this movie is realistic, and when people get angry...they talk like this.�

�No they don�t. This isn�t realistic.�

Panic Room is fuckin� realistic. That�s why it�s so good. Some people may say it�s predictable, but somebody somewhere will always predict the next movie. Kelly predicted the most impossibly predictable things. But hey, it�s a movie! It doesn�t matter how predictable it is...what matters is how good it is. I mean, the second time you watch it, are you gonna be able to predict stuff? No, you just enjoy the movie...like you should have done the first time. Predicting stuff...too much thinking. That�s what�s great about movies. The director thinks for you.

But Cassie is sheltered. We went on talking about people, and how she doesn�t believe there are people in the world like that. �Well, never see �Training Day,� then.�

Or the �Blair Witch Project.� That has a lot of fuckin F words.

And definitely spare yourself from ever seeing �8mm...� because that movie opens a whole new sick world for you to learn about. It has a theme...that there are sick people in this world.

And although the badguys in �Panic Room� aren�t really sick (except Raoul, who was always ready for violence), they�re less rare than the really sick people. In fact, those people aren�t rare. When I get pissed off, I swear. I�m not nearly pissed off and I am unnecessarily using curse words. But my point for using these words for this entry is so that when I do use them (since the entry is half about them), they�re not at all powerful or offensive. Hopefully.

There are people out there. All kinds of people. Truth is stranger than fiction sometimes. And the difference between fiction and reality is that...fiction usually needs to make sense. Reality needs to make sense, but we the people can�t be really very surprised at much anymore. Don�t be sheltered. Have common sense.

Today, on Dr. Phil, Justin and I learned about a woman who persuades her child to be friends with good-looking kids. And she told her kid, when wanting to play with an �ugly child,� that �They are not our kind.� And she was on Dr. Phil to ask for advice on how to make her child know not to do that to HER kids. Dr. Phil simply said �STOP doing that.�
But I say, as I announced to Justin (who watched DR. PHIL with me, haha) just teach your kids common sense. And I was talking about common sense to my mom, like, yesterday, that common sense is learned in the kindergarten stage of a child�s life. That�s the most important thing.

And I think I�ve covered a lot of stuff in this entry. I didn�t want it to be more than a couple of pages, and I was worried that it�d be less than one. Hmm...I�m on the top of my fourth page. Time for �House of 1000 Corpses,� my dad�s off the TV, and my mom rented it for me on video. I don�t have a VCR because I�m the kind of person with an anger problem and accidentally hit the VCR too hard.

Yeah, my anger was for a good reason (my four months of playing San Andreas, and almost beating it was lost...and I couldn�t fly in the game anymore, and it�d take another 4 months of SO much playing to get back to where I was, and...I just knew that I wouldn�t play it nearly as much. And I hate to redo things. That�d be one of the big reasons any of my grades go down.), and I didn�t think I hit it that hard. Obviously, I wouldn�t ever want to harm my precioussssss VCR. I loved it. And I killed it. Accidents happen. Get over it. Move on.

I just moved onto another VCR.

~~

Written the next day:

The homecoming dance is tonight. I think I got well more than enough sleep since I slept in until 1:45pm like a bum. I hate sleeping in, and I don�t think I had any reason to, but... since there�s no school, I just didn�t feel any need to get up. Much like a school day. Anywho... �House of 1000 Corpses� was maybe the worst movie I�ve ever seen. The only thing that made it better was that, before the start, it had a preview of �Cabin Fever,� another movie that makes my worst movies of all list. And there was also a preview of a bunch of retarded horror movies that never went to theaters, and there were all these...well, I guess they were �catch phrases� that could never catch on, but they were delivered so awfully that it was hilarious. But the movie itself was awful...but I hear that �The Devil�s Rejects� is different...and better. But I�m too afraid to give it a try...maybe if it gets much better grades. Don�t ever see �House of 1000 Corpses,� it�s sick and the kind of people who were in that or made it or whatever are sick. There was no point to it. And I almost fell asleep, I kept dozing, and that made the movie feel so long. And it was so fast paced that it made it feel poorly made.

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: ""Panic Room" experience ; Homecoming Friday"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top