SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

Senior Pictures ; 5th Grade Camp ; Drama
2005-09-28, 2:10 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

�Unique� was my biggest compliment of the weekend.

My photographer was in the front seat of the van on the way back to his house/studio. The Fat One was more talkative than usual, asking him about how he could do a volleyball-themed picture. He got into monologing (a term from �The Incredibles,� yes) about the different things he could do with his computer. Then he said that there were other unique ways of getting a volleyball-themed senior picture. �Your brother is as unique as you can get.�

Why did he say that?

Of course, going into his studio changed the way I thought these pictures would turn out. For some reason I pictured a huge room with lights all around me, and with props everywhere. That�s probably as fancy as you can get for a studio that takes your picture. My ideas soon changed when I saw that the pictures were pretty much being taken only in his garage that had some bedsheets over the door. He was an awesome person, though. He had ways of making me smile, and that�s what was so impressive. Apparently my smile wasn�t natural (says my mom who watched me being photographed).

The first thing he asked me was �Do you like being photographed?�

�Actually, no, I don�t.�

�Good, that means you�re normal.�

~~

Monday morning I woke up around 6a.m. feeling very sick. At 7:30a.m. I woke up again and ... didn�t feel any better. School starts before 7:45a.m. For this Monday, however, it was different. At 7:50a.m. I was driving my mom to work, and then I went to the High School, and right out in front waiting for me was Byrdman...who was not at the career center where he usually is in the morning. Monday was to be the worst day thus far of the school year.

Sociology presentation...English 12 presentation...and after school singing tryouts for the new play.

But all of that was off my mind for this Monday (except for singing tryouts, which I just had to do).

Brandon and I headed to the elementary school and ended up parking where my mom always parks (she works there), and making my having to pick Byrdman up completely unnecessary. We ran into a lot of memories walking around our old elementary school. Everyone was supposed to meet in the science laboratory, and we did, and we were the first ones. I kinda wished, at that moment, that I had walked to Chelsey�s class that morning to tell her I wasn�t going to be there all day. I would have only because she�s my sociology partner on the latest project. Sociology is not a cool class and is nothing like I thought it�d be. The teacher is cool and he means well, but this class was supposed to be a blow-off class.

Cut to me sitting on a bus. I am in front of Kelly (senior) and am conversing over the play. The play is a huge deal, obviously, and is going to be an enormous part of my life for the next bunch of months.

We are now on our way to the campsite. I had stood in front of the class with Tyler and Byrdman, introduced myself, and announced that I like pizza. I remember fifth grade. I would look at the seniors and think about how friggin huge they were. Now I�m the senior. I signed up for fifth grade camp, and then ditched the idea of even going. However, the previous night, Byrdman calls me up and tells me to go. I had a bunch of projects due the next day, but hey...all the more reason to go, right? If it�s a test, then it�s a bigger problem...but still...you go to fifth grade camp as a counselor. It�s probably more important.

You be a mentor. You work with kids.

It�s definitely more fun, I�ll tell you that.

So we�re at the campsite and learning about compasses. Compasses are so much fun. I didn�t like this lesson of the day, because all the kids would walk off in different directions, counting their �paces,� and I was the guy who was counting the kids the first half of the day. �Alright, when I tap your head, run to Brandon.�

There were 12 of them, and I wish I had some awful story to tell you, but my kids were excellent. On the way home, I was hearing stories of having to take two kids to the campsite nurse, but [thankfully] I can�t say the same for my kids. I can�t even say that two boys went into the bathroom together for too many minutes. Although, someone else CAN say that. And did say that.

They�d ask me questions about whatever they had to do, and I�d be able to help them. I mean, I�ve covered all the stuff they did, and it�s fifth grade stuff, so I should be able to help them with it. And I could.

Then they�d get into �Chris is my best friend� moods, which was charming and funny, but I can remember when I was like that. But it�s all part of the experience. Now I need to start filling out a 7th Grade Camp application. I must be a counselor. I�m telling you, these are experiences that we need to have. As seniors. And as seventh or fifth graders. We gotta be a part of it, and the memories will always be there. Good memories or bad, they gotta be there.

~~

And then there was today, another fine day. Sadly, a lot of people are disappointed in the parts that were given. There have never been so many people crying. There have never been people crying. At least none that I�ve known of. And the teacher, who chose the parts, was supposedly crying today, too. It�s been awful, and I feel so bad for the many who are disappointed. At lunch today, I found out that we may even do an understudy play. Where the people who didn�t get to perform as their desired roles will get a chance to perform. Whatever you do, don�t think of it as a pity performance.

I won�t reveal the parts of the play or who I got...but the play is �The Sound of Music,� if I haven�t said that already.

And then people were talking about the romantic leads of the play and how they�ll have to practice their PDA.

I came home...went to the handy dandy �urbandictionary.com�...

...and had to look up �P.D.A.�

Public Displays of Affection. Why am I so awful with names? I knew what that meant.

I�m so gonna screw something up sometime.

And if that wasn�t hint enough, yes...I�m in a romantic role (to all of my readers out there, half of which are probably in my drama class, and know which role I won).

~~

�...and I had to look up �P.D.A.��

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "Senior Pictures ; 5th Grade Camp ; Drama"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top