SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

Halloween Weekend 2005
2005-11-01, 8:20 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

Written Sunday Evening when I was Supposed to be Doing Homework:::

Sunday�s are awful. It�s science. You have to add entertainment into the equation. Now, I knew that this Sunday was going to be awful, but I thought the rest of the weekend wouldn�t let Sunday effect how good this weekend was. And I was right.

Last night, especially. The funny thing is, and this thought just popped into my head, last night started out terribly. Picture me driving to Chad�s. It�s almost 9:00p.m. and his party started at 7:00p.m. Now, I was planning on being this late. At 7:45p.m, I was to receive a call. That was when it was planned for a soccer game to get over with. Then I was going to be called to go to the Community Center. Sure that�s where I work, but it�s also an awesome set for a horror movie.

�The Halloween Show,� a tradition for any Video Production class. And I wanted to be a part of it. I was planning on writing it and being in it and filming it and everything. I remember Chelsey wanted to, also. It would have been a lot of fun. But I blame the Talent Show for taking up all of my time. Sure I got myself into it, offering to do a magic trick, and offering to do a video...but �The Halloween Show� is something I also wanted to do. I hate time limits, and I hate that I had to choose...Chad�s party or �The Halloween Show.�

I mean, no offense to anyone, but you don�t know which is the right decision. I mean, at Chad�s, I could be watching movies and hanging with friends and seeing this girl who may or may not like me much longer. Filming �The Halloween Show,� I could direct something I had written for my class, and I could make a cameo, and it would have looked really cool...and being on camera is something you can save the rest of your life.

It was supposed to be filmed on Wednesday. It was supposed to be filmed on Friday. It could have been filmed pretty much anytime the last two weekends. They fucking put it off. They fucking fucked themselves. I move on. I won�t be expecting any apologies, but hey, I have a life...and I have friends who I could film my own thing whenever it worked out. We all move on. The Halloween Show doesn�t have to air on Monday, which is Halloween. I offered to do it tonight, Sunday. They said it couldn�t happen. Who�s right? I had a place to be.

I wanted to be a part of it, too. So we�re all missing out.

I pull up to Chad�s house. If anyone asks, I have not been arguing with someone I hardly know. I have not been stressing someone else out. I haven�t been screwing other people over, and I have not been getting screwed at the same time. I am not angry. I am Chris. I am loved at this party, and by these people.

...and then I hear loud music...lots of bass...people screaming. I follow Superman in the dark down to the fire...and there is practically an entire class of students around the bonfire. Holy...this is a Halloween party...there are, like, a hundred people dressed up and walking freely around. A topless dude with a bow tie walks past me. I am reminded that Halloween is no longer something people try to get scary for. I mean, when I was a kid, we didn�t really try to get scary, I was a Cowboy, or some cartoon character I knew on television. But Halloween is now...an excuse to dress like whores and gigolos.

I am not complaining.

I see Chad, and say hello. I have to yell so he can hear me, but I basically ask where all the cool people are. There�re a helluva lot of freshmen, and I�m sure most of the people are sophomores. Lotta junior�s, I�d guess, but hell, I can�t tell. The only seniors who were there were myself...

And then when I got up to the house, Chelsey, Justin, and Emily were there. Emily is known as �The Mexican,� yet we won�t be calling her that. She�s a really nice person who usually hangs in the crowd of Brady, Listy, and Jake. A cool bunch of people, I tell you. But Hannah�s there as well, hanging with her sister and the seniors. She�s cool like that, even though she is two classes younger. The friends of mine were pretty much just standing around. It didn�t look like they were having much fun. I mean, this was the party of the year, I�d say, and yet, we were alone. I almost started to regret missing out on filming. Then I heard about a mission of sorts.

�So, Justin, what�s this mission that�s going on? What�s the objective?�

�You�ll soon be enlightened,� Justin said as if I should already know.

I did. Chelsey wanted to go off and make out with someone. Or some dude should walk over to Chelsey and just make out with her. If this doesn�t sound much more exciting, then I�m with you, and I�d also rather leave the party. I mean, I�m not someone who�d hook up with someone, especially not when Hannah�s there. About a week ago, or a little longer than a week ago, she walked up to be in the halls and said that she had a huge crush on me. Wow. Not something that happens everyday. Hey, I was happy about it, as anyone who would hear that would be. But then Hannah said she was gonna go off and make out with someone. She was just gonna jump a guy. And no, I didn�t take this seriously, but hey, it didn�t make me wanna be there anymore.

She�s a great person and such a joy to be around, but things seem so different online. And I hate talking online.

So Justin and I left. Sure, there�s the chance of a grudge being held upon us by a few people, and although we couldn�t ask them to just understand, we figured they would anyways. We left.

The music at Chad�s fades out of my mind. You see an empty house with lots of wood floor and a wood kitchen, and a pantry that, whoops, is a refrigerator. Five people are in a living room. Justin and I enter, and walk in on everyone playing guitar. A much quieter setting, not much of a party, but so far more entertaining that the previous half hour. I told everyone that I wasn�t going to stay very long...but it didn�t turn out that way. Songs were sung, which isn�t really my taste of a party, but it�s fun to watch someone else in the middle of a spotlight. There was a brutal fight between Zak and his brother, Alec, which was good for a couple of pictures, but rough-housing isn�t a good idea. Zak had the wind knocked out of him. Tough guy. The match was taken outside. Neil and Alec jump on each other with much grab-assing and end up rolling around in the wet grass. Oh, it�s so cold, and I�m just standing around watching Justin take pictures. Then Justin discovers a spiritual presence on Neil�s lawn, and I discovered that hot breath can be seen at night on camera if you have flash on.

We sat around and invented swear words, although I didn�t really get into it. I sat with Zak and made a few humorous comments and then he got into making phrases sound dirrty. Phrases such as �I raked her leaves� and �cooked in her kitchen,� made to sound like a hot date.

�I buttered her biscuits� was what I held my tongue to say. I coulda said it.

Midnight curfew. Well, guys, I�ll see you later.

Driving past Chad�s, I thought of everyone I ditched. Yeah...get outta the car. I left it running. Dashing over Chad�s lawn, I stopped at the end of my tracks and slid on his cement...seeing Chelsey�s car. She�s still here! Dash back to car. Van. Turn van off. Lock van. Dash back to bonfire. Stop. Unlock van. ...turn off headlights... Run back to bonfire. Stop. It�s dark and quiet. Dash inside, it�s effin cold out.

There they are, in the basement. The party is a lot calmer, and a lot of people have left. I have 15 minutes to get home. Chelsey�s angry with me at first. That must mean she hadn�t had a guy since I left. They, really, didn�t look like they had moved since I left them there. I talked to Chad, who is always a positive guy, and acted cool towards my leaving. It was his house, his party, he�s got plenty to do. Maybe it was his sister�s party. Anyways, Hannah sat opposite Emily at a glass table. More people were watching movies in a 70�s-era-looking-room with a TV. I think someone came out saying �Jeez, that movie�s awful.�

�The Grudge?� I ask.

Yeah, it was �The Grudge.� The worst �horror� movie ever.

Anyways, Chelsey mighta wanted to give me a little silent treatment, but you can�t stay mad at me. Hehe, Chad asked if I wanted to go to his room. Nothing gay...the girls came, too. Nice room. It didn�t seem like he spent too much time there. Most of his movies were elsewhere, but he had �Sin City,� �Mean Girls,� and �Love Actually� in his room, at least. All movies I�d like to have in my collection.

We went through his drawers...his dressers...which had not much in them. They had a bunch of random stuff in them. Too random to seem like they were for anything. I laid on the bed next to Chad. So did Hannah. Chelsey took the floor and Emily took another part of the floor. I didn�t feel like Emily was having much fun, except for going through Chad�s dresser. It�s always fun to go through people�s stuff. He had some kind of oil in one dresser, which I didn�t understand why it was so funny that it was in there. I figured it was some dirrty little secret.

Then we got back into the topic of how Chelsey can�t stand hair. I mean, if I was a guy...er, I�m a guy, and wouldn�t want to me making out with anyone with hair on their face...but guys have guy needs and girls have girl needs. Girls like guys, and hair comes with the package. Odd smells come with the package. No matter how big the package is. But Chelsey doesn�t like facial hair or much hair on their heads or hair on guy�s backs...or hairy chests.

And then I looked at Hannah�s hair. I don�t know why I want to call her Hannie, but it�s Hannah. They�re the same. I think Chad calls her Hannie, so it�s making me feel like it. Like, we all call Brandon �Byrdman,� so I might even call him that in front of his mom. Anyways, Hannah and Emily have really nice hair. Hannah�s might be a little highlighted, though. And then I thought about how I love hair.

First of all, I�m an ass man. Breasts don�t bother me, no matter how big (as long as they�re not gigantic) or how small. I don�t think I�m shallow, but if a girl has nice enough of a personality, I don�t care about her face, it�s the butt that�s the hottest part. Maybe. But the first thing I notice on a girl...isn�t her ass. I don�t look down and say �How�re ya doin?�

I notice hair. If she�s got a nice haircut, it�s cute. Hair can change, though. Like, if someone looks really good with long hair, and then you start dating them, and they get a major haircut, it could be a little...it could totally change how you look at them. But Hannah, I couldn�t not notice even more right then, looks really good with long hair. And I noticed the little highlight in her hair, and was really attracted...lying next to her. Maybe it was the extreme comfort I was feeling from Chad�s bed, I dunno. It was just an unforgettable moment, and almost made my weekend. It definitely would have if the previous night wasn�t so damn fun.

~~

After �Saw II,� we had to take Zak home. He was having friends over. Now, this would have seemed a little rude, but Zak�s cool. He�s too nice of a guy to get mad at...making us have to drive all the way back to Williamston after the movie. But also, the other Zach wanted to go home, too. I took him back to Chelsey�s, where his car was. But the reason that we weren�t too happy (even though we were all having a blast together), was because we were gonna go out to Denny�s.

We�re all excited after seeing this crowd-pleasing movie. First of all, seeing a good movie always makes your day. I guess watching people get tortured with pain is the new form of entertainment. It�s sick, but jeez is it entertaining. It�s disturbing, that�s what it is. We can�t take our eyes off the screen! THAT�s entertainment! You gotta have those moments...that make a movie memorable. Keep that in mind, filmmakers of tomorrow, I hope to see you in Hollywood.

Breakfast 24 hours a day. Denny�s. Open 24 hours. We walk in, and the place is packed, even though it�s 3 in the a.m. We push together some tables and are allowed to sit away from the smoking section, which seems to take up most of the restaurant. Byrdman sits next to me, not very hungry. I don�t want to spend that much money, so hey, put one-and-one together, a simple solution, one meal for the both of us. We converse about the movie. The plusses and the minuses. All good movies gotta have minuses, and the human mind remembers the negatives...This is so that the human mind can avoid them in the future, even if the negatives aren�t that big of a deal. But yeah, this is just a movie, and we�re talking about it.

The biggest moment in the movie was the characters walking into the room that the first �Saw� took place in. What an awesome moment. I so started the audience in a light applause.

It was a huge effin� audience, too.

So, we�re at Denny�s. Hannah sits at the other end of the table. Justin�s to my other side, opposite Byrdman, since I�m on the end of the table. Chad is opposite me. Heads of the table, baby. Kelly sits next to Justin. Chelsey sits next to Byrdman. Chad, Hannah, Chelsey, Byrdman, me, Justin, Kelly...and...I can�t think of anyone else. My biggest apologies if I�m missing someone, and I know I am...

Casey and Zak had been there, but Chelsey dropped them off. I dropped off Zach. So that�s 1, 2, 3...9. We had ten. Shit. SHIT! Oh, and me. 10. I missed no one.

We�re all sitting around this restaurant. I love the diner feel that Denny gives. It�s all breakfast, yet Byrdman and I only spend $3.50 each on a club sandwich. Everyone gets to talk and everyone is having fun...I hope everyone did. I didn�t get to talk to Hannah at Denny�s, and Chelsey took her home, but I�m sure she had fun. The needle scene bothered a lot of people.

I�m only disturbed if someone gets hurt in their nails. Otherwise, I�m cool with anything. The eye thing in the beginning didn�t even bother me. Zach and I, who were sitting at either end of the 10 of us, were saying �Oh...SNAP!�

That was just awesome. What an �effin awesome weekend.

Thursday night I saw �Corpse Bride.� I was expecting good music and awesome characters...but...you know what, just skip this one. I can�t believe you have this opportunity and the power and ideas to make a stop-motion animated movie, and you waste it. How pathetic. Tim Burton, what have you done? Skip �Charlie and the Chocolate Factory� while you�re at it. That�s just disappointing.

Good Halloween weekend.

�Corpse Bride,� and then to Alec and Zak�s house for �Batman Begins,� although we weren�t paying attention to it. It was fun to watch with his sound system and everyone�s enthusiasm for hardass scenes. Later that night, I watched �Signs� as part of my Halloween weekend. �Saw II� on Friday night, opening night. Bitch, what a time. �Bewitched� on Saturday night. Will Ferrell is always worth watching at least once, but I�d skip this movie if I were you. It felt like some child wrote it when rushed. Nora Ephron, what have you done? The movie felt like �You�ve Got Mail,� without Tom Hanks. Will Ferrell had some noticeable rewriting in there...but whatever. Now...what I�ve been waiting for for three weeks...I�m going to watch �Army of Darkness.� It�s Sunday, and nobody�s stopping me, baby. Groovy.

~~

HAPPY HALLOWEEN, everyone! *Eats a Trick-or-Treat* �Thanks, Grandma, you�re a day early, but...mmm...marshmallow.�

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "Halloween Weekend 2005"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top