SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

The Birthday Ticket: What a Surprise!
2005-11-20, 3:16 a.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

The day wasn�t a very happy day. If every day, each day, had an emotion, made known by the weather...it was just not a very happy day. Depressing grays are brought to us by the season of winter. It�s here. When asked what our favorite holidays are, most of us would be most thankful for Thanksgiving. It is a time when families go to whoever is the best cook, and we make a day of celebrating what we eat. However, some people don�t enjoy family so much, so they may say Halloween, where we can dress pretty much however we want, go to parties, hang out with friends, and watch scary movies. Children would say Christmas, �cause they get stuff...or because that holiday really is awesome, I mean we gotta love the Christmas feel. The sad part is that the Christmas feel comes with spending money on others. The stress of maybe not having this money to get gifts for others also comes, as Santa does.

Barnes & Noble might possibly be the most fun of places to hang out in. I mean, you pretty much have a world of knowledge on two stories of store. Bookstore. There�s even a movie section...and a music section...but I haven�t been to those sections in too long. At Barnes & Noble, anyways. But you go in there, grab something to read, which, in effect, is something to talk about, and you are in another social zone. This is what school should be. Send 400 kids into a bookstore...and keep high security on the Sexual Improvement section.

What is your section of the bookstore?

Well, on this anti-joyful day, it was the magazine section. For Byrdman and I. Don�t get any ideas, there really wasn�t anything there. And I wanted to go to hang out, but apparently Byrdman had to be home at around 6p.m. Finding our way to East Lansing and back was harder than I thought it�d be...but I was right in thinking that road signs would lead us to our desired destination.

So...I have hung out with Byrdman at a bookstore...and it was about what I expected. I had been reading about certain magazines the previous week. What magazine would I want to buy? On the internet, I don�t think there was that many magazine reviews that focused on the interests of certain magazines. I wanted one with funny articles and...I don�t even know anymore. But for FHM (For HiM), all of the reviews were quite good. Well written articles and hot women. Haha, don�t judge me, the articles, or the way they described the writers who work for FHM, sounded good, and something I�d be interested in. That�s what magazines are, they�re for your interests. For example, I have a subscription to Entertainment Weekly. I�m interested in entertainment. But I am also interested in being entertained. Overall, since I have bought FHM and read it (forced to skim past too many pages to ever buy again), it is not entertaining. Hey, we learn from our mistakes.

There weren�t even any movie reviews. So that�s why you don�t see any of this: �Two Thumbs Way Up� � FHM magazine. But you do, however, see a few quotes said by Playboy. I shoulda gotten the Playboy. I�ve only held a Playboy once in my life, and it belonged to a basket next to a toilet in my neighbor�s bathroom. I guess I was a curious child. All children are curious. It�s their nature...it�s not only in their nature, it is their nature.

Driving home, satisfied by my purchase of FHM (only to be dissatisfied later), the whole trip felt like a disaster. From not knowing where we were going to...*sigh*...a damned parking ticket. I was so pissed off and angry at the bastard officer who ticketed us for our fucking parking! I mean, there�s parking meters...but I guess I just haven�t ever parked before 5p.m. and wasn�t expecting to be ticketed. So then I felt guilty about the whole trip. We go, and Byrdman said we wasted a quarter of a tank of gas...and then we go home. No point. Pointless.

I just wanted to be home and give the ticket to my...my mother. And she�d take care of it and it�d be all good. That�s one thing that�ll suck in much less than a year from now...not knowing what to do...not being able to ask questions.

I mean, now, I am uncomfortable asking questions because I keep getting accused of not paying attention.

�Excuse me, what do I do if I get a ticket?�

�You pay for it.�

�Oh okay, thank you...� *prolonged pause* �Where can I pay for-�

�Jeez, kid, weren�t you paying attention in �Life� Class?�

It says it on a ticket. And it even gives you a generous little map...and the choice to pay only $5 if you get to the X on the map within 2 hours. This is just another reason why people do not have time to die these days. The price of your parking ticket will go up.

People have places to go, things to do, we�re all busy. We don�t have time to die. I mean, you�re at a football game and you and your friends decide to go to someone�s house. Someone gets hit by a car...that�d just ruin the after-party, you know what I mean?

And I�m thinking about all of this as we�re driving home. Byrdman�s talking away, saying that he won�t let me pay for it, even though I would, and my mom would write the check, and his mom wouldn�t need to know about it. After a while he said �No, I�ll pay for it, it�ll be part of your birthday present.�

I have always wanted to get a ticket. Not those wussy movie tickets or tickets to a nearby Coheed and Cambria concert...but a parking ticket. (Note: this is no offense to Byrdman, the ticket was pretty much my fault). Next time I see a cop, I�m floorin� that gas pedal...speeding ticket, baby, they�re pretty much the hottest ticket out there, everyone�s getting them.

�Hey, aren�t you one of the Village People?�

Okay...back to my little story here, I�m stressed. The lame day of weather turns to night, and the darkness only lightens my mood slightly. I took off the unneeded plastic slipcover of Byrdman�s Playboy (what is read in my entries stays in my entries, we had to exercise our ages of 18...well, he did, anyway). Playboys have more beautiful women in them...and my mood wasn�t light enough to actually read any articles...but maybe the nightfall also had an effect...on how much I could see.

�Oooh, those are real...mmm, real...okay, those are so fake, look at those! EYES ON THE ROAD! ...jeez, dude. Okay...you�re taking this home...alright...*sigh*...those are real, wait...no, they�re fake. Haha, fake...fake...real...real fake...�

And Byrdman and I were making fine time...the only thing that bothered me now was that he was meeting someone at Spags. Damn it, I didn�t even wanna go in, and I thought that�d make him go faster (if I just stayed out in his van to wait). I don�t know why I went in...maybe I wanted to see this friend of Byrdman�s. On the way in, I saw a car that looked like Chelsey�s...but I always see cars that look like Chelsey�s, and I always think �There�s Chelsey again,� even if two of her are driving next to each other...even in Florida.

I walked in with my head down. We headed straight back to Byrdman�s friend�s table...and apparently it was a birthday parties. Hmm, there certainly are a lot of November birthdays. Chad�s was last week, as was mine on Saturday (November 12).

Sadly, November birthdays are the only ones I can remember. So I can say I remember a lot of people�s birthdays. Just not my friends...like Chelsey, who shares a birthday with Megan...or Justin...or...anyone else.

Chelsey was sitting at this table. She was sitting close (if not next to) Justin. And sitting right in front of me (as I walked up to the table) were Mary, Casey, and Kelly Ms. B. (Kelly Ms. B...I dunno why I call her that...but it�s different).

What the hell were they doing here without inviting me?

I was a little frustrated because I had been talking, recently, to a friend about not getting invited to stuff anymore...we all know how frustrating that can be. Then I saw my mom.

Oh good, I need to talk to her...my mind was brought back to the ticket.

She had taken my picture, which I was ignoring. I went up to her to talk...and Diana and her friend were there, too. Man, this is one huge coincidence...them all being here. I guess I didn�t think it was that big of a coincidence since I always see someone in Spags when I go there...

I was too stressed to talk to anyone there, and now a little angry at all of them for not inviting me, and not even telling me about it. I was especially angry at Chelsey, because I saw her car in the cramped parking lot, and I must have imagined walking in there seeing Chelsey with someone and not inviting me.

This is about when I noticed the 18th Birthday balloons. I had finished talking to my mom, and walked down to Byrdman to get the ticket...he was sitting opposite Justin at one of the, like, 4 tables put together to fit in this whole group. Then I noticed Doug was there...which was quite awesome...I don�t get to see him enough anymore. Doug�s one of the nicest guys...

And there were a couple cards with my name on them...one of which was from Doug. The other was from Mary, both of which I found out later...and there was a third item with my name on it, and this was from Justin. It was shaped like a DVD, and I felt it to get the hint that it was a Warner Bros. DVD, since their movie �jackets� or �covers� have a distinct packaging. The older Warner Bros. DVDs do, anyway. It ended up being... �The Road Warrior� starring The Mel Gibson.

So, for times like these, before Thanksgiving, and well before Christmas, these people were not worried about time or money when it comes to the holiday season. This �holiday,� being my birthday...not only nationally celebrated, but worldwide as well.

...or will be...someday...

But there was Doug, Justin, Hannah, Chelsey, and soon later Chad, and then Kelly Ms. B, Casey, and Mary...and then Byrdman who fooled ME...

�So Byrdman, do you still need to be home at six o�clock?�

�No...sorry about all the lies.�

�Haha, you�re awesome, Byrdman...I can�t ever trust you again.�

(I hope I�m not missing anybody (from Spags)...even though there were a few others who I had wished to see there...Zach Mr. P called me the next morning to wish me a happy birthday...I dunno if he knew my birthday was a week ago...even though I think pretty much everyone knows I was celebrating my birthday last weekend).

And what a surprise that was...I mean, they had me completely baffled for about a whole five minutes before realizing that it was actually for me.

�Jokes on you, Byrdman...you THOUGHT you were bringing me to my belated birthday party...but no...your birthday came first (the 6th of November)...it�s your birthday party. Haha, we gotcha good, didn�t we?�

Chad�s was the 14th, a Monday.
So thank you a million times to everyone who showed up. Later that night, as I was laying in bed, staring at my bedroom light (which was off) made up of three spotlights...my friends are so awesome. I think it was my mom�s idea, who actually wanted it for my actual birthday...then Byrdman made a list of people...Chelsey corrected the mistakes on that list, surely laughing at it a little. Again, no offense to Byrdman, I just heard it was a funny list.

It was a great surprise. I can�t believe I never even had a clue as to what was taking place that night. I mean, it wasn't THAT big of a deal, so it would have been easy to just not talk about it (like, in Blogs 'n stuff)...but I loved it. Oh...it was just so...it was friggin' huge. Thank you, Mom. Thank you, Byrdman and Chelsey, and to anyone else and everyone who showed up. Including McB , who showed up later after calling my mom to ask if we were still at Spags. He came in, and it was great to see him once again (even though he gave me a ride home after school...it was freezing outside). He walked right in and put a gift card in my pocket. Too nice...too nice.

Then, afterwards, Doug and Justin, and then McB, came over to my house. Doug played guitar and piano...half simultaneously at one point (haha, not really). Then we all played Euchre...and one of the closest possible games of Euchre occurred, with me on Justin�s team. It was truly remarkable.

Then we played Mario Party 5...on the ol� Game Cube. That brought back some great memories. I�m sure we�ll be having a Halo party at McB�s over the Thanksgiving break next weekend.

My favorite holiday is coming up...�tis the season.

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "The Birthday Ticket: What a Surprise!"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top