SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

The Hallway Next to the Auditorium
2006-02-05, 6:49 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

We�re well into the second semester, and my fear of psychology has been winding down. My only fear is that I won�t be able to stay ahead. I chose to go the way of the man (or woman) that doesn�t procrastinate. I stayed home from school on Monday, and this will now be in writing...to finish school work. I skipped school for school. Never before has that been done. Never before have I not been puking my stomach out the night before missing a day of school.

But then again, �missing a day of school� is an oxymoron.

An English paper, a psychology project, and an English poster. For English, we had to do a free choice book. I hadn�t gotten any reading days not only because of the play, but because we really didn�t get that many reading days anyways, and not only that (for those of you who disagree), I just plain didn�t have a book. So, on Monday, I chose to do Harry Potter. I knew someone else would be doing the latest Harry Potter novel (I assumed correctly...and plenty, more than 3, did the sixth book). So I chose to do the fifth. This would be the next film, coming out next year. And I had already read it, so that helped with making the poster.

That was for Thursday. And my presentation went pretty well. The class started out with the intern (teacher) asking Doug about his poster. See, we were supposed to cast actors to star in our books as if they were being made into films. �Who�s that?� she asked.

�That�s Chuck Norris.�

�Oh really? It looked like Chris.�

*laughter*

The rest of the class disagreed, when she brought it up when Doug presented.

But the class was already talking about me (and who I really looked like) just before I presented my project. And it just went well.

~~

Now I�m sitting online, for the second time today. My psychology class has been talking about memory. There are many ways, strategies, and tactics that people use to study. Studying is basically remembering stuff that you will need to know for the next day, right? Well, all I needed to remember (at least for that Thursday) was to turn in my psychology project that I pretty much skipped school to do (even though I didn�t do it until much later on Monday night). Well, there�s plenty of things I have trouble remembering. So I�ve been writing stuff on my hand. I have a blue spot on my hand, not because I haven�t showered, but because I�ve had my blue pen all week.

The funny part is...I don�t even look at my hand. So why do I write it there? Well, most people, including me, use writing things down as a strategy of remembering things. Like, I can�t remember a funny quote whenever I need to just remember it, unless I write it down somewhere. Then, I think, I have the visual on what it is, because I�ll remember when I wrote it. The brain is so weird.

I went to see �Secret Garden� tonight, starring my friend Hanny, who was pretty much the best part of that show. She was bright and happy and just looked like she was having fun. But also, she looked like she had character, as a good maid who took care of the whiny main girl. If you�re going to be a lead, and not a badguy, don�t make the audience hate you! Hanny did a wonderful job. And after the performance, while waiting for her to get out of costume and out of makeup, somehow the topic of my remembering things has been a problem during the last week. And my blue spot on my hand hasn�t made a lick of difference. Paul, Hanny�s step-dad (a cool guy who wants to be a cool parent and lets everyone know that he wants to be a cool guy, and not just a parent) said that I write things on my hand not because I look at my hand, but because other people look and ask me about it. Maybe that�s right.

But I sure didn�t remember to turn in that damn psychology project. I had to wait until the next day...today (Friday). The teacher was fine with it. I think I�ll get along fine in the class.

Over the blue spot on my hand, I can make out my latest note: �Call Chel,� which Chelsey stopped me from writing because instead of getting a call, she would just come over. And she did. And it worked out.

~~

Oh how school has been hell. Just when I think I�m out of the gutter and don�t have anything else to do, there�s all this stuff that pops into my head. School is haunting me even when I�m not there.

This weekend, Chelsey�s getting her wisdom teeth pulled. Ouch. I�m scared for her. I�m scared for myself, because I know it�s in the near future. What�s funny is, she wants the week of school to be over with...and then she�ll have Thursday and Friday off. I mean, what�s better? Sitting at home in a blanket watching Friends or going to school?

The price she pays to miss school...ouch.

Still, the prices we pay of missing school in the first place...hurts. But it�s still worth it.

~~

After school on Thursday, after trying to turn in my project (the teacher wasn�t in her room at the end of the day), I chose not to walk down the hallway next to the auditorium. Thanks to Mary and Emily, �Clue� auditions were after-school on Thursday, and Alec and his mom would be the judge. His mom works for the school and since her sons (Zak and Alec) are both actively involved (or have-been (for Alec)) in the drama classes, she is also...actively involved. I guess she�s the �advisor� for �Clue.� Instead of walking down the hallway next to the auditorium, I went right into the auditorium before Alec and his mom were there. And then I didn�t have the choice but to sit in the hallway...which was the setting for the �biggest turnout for auditions for a play.�

I couldn�t believe it, and Alec said it was bizarre. That being said, I don�t think I�ll feel too bad if I don�t get the part I tried out for. Or...I shouldn�t feel too bad about it.

~~

I�ve been at Chelsey�s to watch �Sex and the City,� a marvelous show, and I just got off the phone with Mary.

MaryonIM: hey are youtalking to anyone else right now

ChrisLo1112: yeah [-a lie]

MaryonIM: oh, i was just wondering if you cared if i just called you

On the phone, much of the stuff I could have written out and talked about here was said. It�s funny how, when you�re talking to somebody one-on-one, it�s not really entry-worthy, but it�s more like an entry itself. Like, when I was talking to Justin yesterday, I went on my own monologue of how I�ve recently been addicted to Propel Fitness Water. It�s good stuff. I mean, I take little sips at a time, I can�t have too much at once, but no matter how big the sip is, it gets me out of breath. Almost like it�s been a workout just to take these sips. And then I�m right back in the fridge again to take more sips because I can�t get enough of it. But now I�m out of my Propel, I�ve finished it, and it�s all gone. And I was standing in the fridge just moments ago...and it was so unsatisfying. It felt like I was being rejected by the damned refrigerator.

�No Propel for you any more.�

So I grabbed a thing of apple sauce and finished that with three spoons. Three dips, I mean. Three spoon plunges immersed in apple sauce.

Writing entries has been increasingly hard, too. I mean, when I sit down to write...and have my usual writer�s block, I start to feel like a bad writer. It�s just the motivation that�s gone, really. I haven�t sat down to write a whole entry in so long. Half of what you�ve already read (or skimmed through) was written a day before what I�m writing now.

Only half...because I�ve added other stuff in. Like...Chelsey�s wisdom teeth being pulled, which I didn�t know before today.

I�ve been writing in my LiveJournal a lot lately. And I only say that because you�ve been (some of you) checking out the same entry there for so long, when really I�ve been adding �private� entries. What�s the point of that thing if I have a link to it on my diary? Pretty much, I was just having fun with HTML. And my fun with the HTML source was before my Internet/Web class...which is pretty damned interesting (I think it's important to understand HTML, especially if you wanna be experimental with creating your own website). It�s purposeful. If I ever became a teacher, I would want it to be purposeful.

Unlike English 12, where you�re marked down just for the hell of it. The intern could go on about how your drawings on your poster were fantastic and then have to think about why you were marked down. �Too much white space.� It�s a good reason, I mean, it�s important for people to learn how to advertise their posters. Sure, yeah. Even though the teacher is the only one who sees the damned poster.

I actually got marked down to a 3.5 for not having enough white space.

~~

The �Clue� auditions went great. I�m sure everyone felt good about what they did, and it was just fun. This time, with Alec...and his mom...I stole Emily�s glasses to make a joke.

�So yeah, I�m here to try out for Mr. Green who has that awesome line... �I�m a homosexual,� and wanted to show you guys these glasses. �Cause I was walking down the hallways with these things on, and people kept sayin� I look gay. So I think I could make a good Mr. Green.�

No matter how I said that, they laughed. So pretend it�s funny, even if not in writing. It was funny, they laughed, and since the glasses were real glasses (they had thick lenses, and with my blonde hair, I looked queer), I had to take them off as not to hurt my eyes. And then I didn�t put them back on. I wasn�t nervous or anything (well, not really), but I just did that thing where you hold your glasses up to your mouth. For the sake of Emily�s reading this entry...the glasses were not IN my mouth.

~~

It�s Super Bowl Sunday...and I�m home. Like New Year�s, this is the first time in YEARS that I�ve been home for the Super Bowl.

~~

I don�t think I could cast a show. I�d be too afraid of hurting people. I heard that there were a lot of people trying out for Yvette, the role of the French maid. Well, if you don�t get that part, get over, and move on not because Alec didn�t choose you, but because there were a LOT of people. And if your best friend (or anyone else) gets the role you wanted, don�t hate them because they�re better, don�t hate the director for thinking they were better. It�s just a play, and I want variety in the roles. I tried out with a girl named Erin, and she wanted Ms. Scarlet, and she seriously made a pretty damn good Scarlet. And it was really cool, because we were sitting out in the hall, and she kept asking me how to say stuff. I felt like the director then, because she would agree with me, �Yeah, that does sound better.�

And hey, I heard that Alec thought she was really good. He was impressed with her audition. Awesome. Erin will be glad to hear that.

But then, like I told Erin, and like I told a few others (who just happened to be trying out for Mr. Green, and therefore, being my competition), Alec doesn�t really know what people�s abilities are. I actually have quirky ideas for whoever plays Mr. Green that I didn�t get to show Alec. I would have so much fun with the role. But just to make me happy, I also tried out for Mr. Boddy. He�s the victim. If I played him, and I didn�t do this in audition, I would so want to use an English accent.

I never thought it�d be fun to give myself challenges, but if you were to give yourself a task, there is no greater feeling in the world than completing it. I mean, �The Sound of Music� was fun and challenging because I really tried and tried to make my characters different. And in the end, when a lady asked me who played the �guy with the strong accent,� I was proud...of myself. That�s the greatest feeling in the world, the feeling of accomplishment. Accomplishment and reassurance. Good stuff.

And right now I�m typing all of this with a progross (typo, haha) report in front of me that has all of this work on it. It�s so freakin� amazing how we can go weeks in English class and not do anything, but I miss one effin� day, and have a load of shit for homework.

~~

But no matter how the cast list for �Clue� turns out, I�ll be happy with it. I could be happy that I don�t have any work to do, and happy for whoever else got Green. I could be happy just for trying out. I mean, I tried out. I didn�t try out last year, not only because I was sick at home, but I doubt I woulda tried out anyways. I was afraid of trying out. Last year�s tryouts were for �Revenge of the Space Pandas,� which was changed to �The Princess Bride,� and turned out to be a fantastic play.

That was before that summer when a group of us got together and watched �Clue.� The idea of doing that play was floating around about then. And I don�t think it got really serious until the end of �The Sound of Music.� Mary and Emily set out on a journey (well, they set out) to get the rights to do �Clue.� All you need is something on paper, and then you�re good to go. And it�s almost too easy. But now the production is going forth and it�s going to happen.

It�s cool and really good that people like Mary really wanted to do �Clue� and went forth with it. It�s so good for them, and I�m so happy that they spent all of this time and were really committed to doing it. That�s how you have fun. Doing what you love.

I love drama, and everything to do with it. I have fun acting, and I have fun bonding and getting to be with people who share what I love. The choices for the next play are pretty much down to �Three Muskateers� and �The Sting.� I know there are people who really don�t want to do the �Three Muskateers,� but I don�t understand their reasoning. I really want to do �The Sting,� because it�s really good and it�s nothing like anything I�ve done before. But there are people who don�t want to do the �Three Muskateers,� and it feels like they don�t just because others do. I want to do it because others want to do it, and I�m happy that others are really excited for it. It�s better than being forced into it when so many others don�t want to do it. I get caught up in the hype, but it gets me excited because now I know that the next few months, the months before I�m out of school, will be spend doing something special. �Clue� will be fun and �Three Muskateers� or �The Sting� will be fun. I know how to have fun because I know what I like.

Like...going to a strip club. There�s nothing wrong with it. My good friend Brandon (Byrdman) has, in the past week, had a temperature of 104 and been in the hospital. I should be worried, but he�ll pull through, and everything will be good. And it�s about time we took another trip to D�j� vu for some adult entertainment. He deserves it, and I wanted to go in the week after the play was over to get it all off my mind. Sure it gets me really excited (even though you can�t really...get off in a place like that)...and sure I sound drunk and feel the need to call people to say what I�ve been doing afterwards...but that�s unintoxicated entertainment. That�s why my friends are so great...we know how to have fun without having to go out and do drugs and drunk alcohol.

We can have fun sounding drunk just because we know how to make people laugh.

�If there was one person I could kill...it wouldn�t be Hitler...it wouldn�t be Stalin...it�d be Shakespeare.� I hate King Lear, and I hate Shakespeare. Why the hell did he have to live? How did he change the world? What was his purpose? Why is his style of English the only one we know of? Because it�s not good! For some reason, people think Shakespeare is good. He�s got some popular lines out there, but his writing is not that great. His stories maybe have some entertainments in them, but damn, man.

Being ahead of your time just makes the future look back on you to say �now is where you should be.� But if Shakespeare was here...and wrote like he did today...he would seriously be assassinated. Nobody needs that. I�m sorry...that�s my opinion.

Being ahead of your time means nothing when your time has come. And you can quote me on that.

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "The Hallway Next to the Auditorium"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top