SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

No Contradictions ; Valentine's Entry
2006-02-22, 3:18 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

�The High School Relationship�

Valentine�s Day Entry (at bottom)


As few may know, the Feb. Follies dance is this weekend, along with the Homecoming basketball game. My good friend Justin has been announced as the representative for the class of 2006, and this is the last chance anyone has to be the rep. for our class. So I think it�s pretty cool. He also may be crowned king (or prince, whatever) for this year. After my high school career, I�ll be able to leave knowing that two of my best good friends were the representatives for the class of 2006 in their final year at Williamston High School. Zach Punch was not only the rep, but also crowned king for the night...which was pretty amazing and he was not too shy to rub it in. You gotta love that guy. And now Justin is the second rep, and at the game this Friday, we�ll find out if he is crowned king...or prince. I�ve been hearing prince, which may be gay, making it sound like he�s Zach�s son or something. It�s pretty cool, and I�m happy for them.

~~

But it is this weekend. The last all-school dance for me. I�ve never liked the dances. In fact, I hate the dances, they�re so awful. I mean, I�ll walk around the dance floor...literally around the dance floor...or outside. Occasionally coming inside to look around and either not dance with someone or dance a meaningless dance with someone. But I�ll admit, there are some people that I�ve danced with that I would prefer any dance to be meaningless. I don�t think that meaninglessly dancing with so many people should bother me.

This morning, in second hour, I was talking about relationships with Justin and Chelsey. I said, strongly, that I was against high school relationships. But then I said that high school should be a place for experience. As not to contradict myself...I would like to elaborate on what I mean...

I have always said that dating in High School is good for experience and is very important for entering �the real world.� When I say �dating,� I don�t mean taking a girl out for a cup of coffee. I don�t mean a pleasant conversation over lunch. I don�t even mean having to worry about your prom date that you will spend so much money on in just one night. What I mean is the simply complicated stuff, the �will you go out with me� without a date in mind, being married without a proposition...a �steady.� I�m talking about the kind of thing where breakups aren�t assumed...they�re hurtful. Technically easier than divorce, what I�ll call �the high school relationship� isn�t a kindergarten playground...its real life. What many have yet to learn, however, �the high school relationship� is actually the most important part of high school. High school relationships are very important. They are our introduction into the �real world.�

That�s what the �real world� is...a world where relationships between people are more important. A world where you have to get along with people that you don�t want to.

Having to do extra assignments, or extra credit, or whatever for some science class isn�t excusable by some �teacher� saying that you need to get ready for the real world. School work prepares you for what you may be interested in. Take English class for instance...in learning reading and writing. Reading and writing is important for someone like me because I like to read and I like to write. If you became a writer...or a reader (like someone�s editor), then you would have deadlines, and maybe school giving ridiculous deadlines helps prepare you for the real world.

Question mark (?)

I don�t know if that�s right at all...I loathe deadlines, they piss me off like nothing else, they frustrate me to insanity, and that�s why I like writing on my own time like right now. And not only am I writing unfrustratedly, but I can invent my own words and trail onto nontopics such this not-on-topic paragraph.

We are un-on topic.

But so is this piece of paper that I wrote on to help me remember to write this entry.

Alright, so I�m interested in reading and writing, and I�m also interested in girls. I like girls. I like relationships. I like relationships with girls. I like having my guy friends to hang out with. And it�s always interesting to see my friends get boyfriends and girlfriends. I get experience through them, learning what they�re going through and figuring out why they�re going through whatever or how they�re going through whatever. One of the strongest high school relationships I�ve ever seen is still happening to date. It�s phenomenal that Zach and Kelly met, became friends, liked each other, dated, and not only are they still dating, but Zach bought Kelly a diamond necklace recently. They�re going on a year. Only a fricken year, and it�s astonishing. It�s so hard to imagine people going out for so long.

Yet, if people are going out for a year, then they wouldn�t have any reason to break up. It�d have to be something awful and unforgivable. The list of forgivable things is pretty big, though, I�d say.

Everyday relationships...they can teach you a lot about people. And that�s why I�m not against �the high school relationship.� High school is for learning, and �the high school relationship� can teach a lot.

But I am against stupidity. As we all should be. �The High School Relationship� isn�t for everybody. Anyone can be a part of a relationship and be happy...and my theory is that everybody has a chance...just maybe not today. But the advantage of �The High School Relationship� is that you have time. Brandon, �Byrdman,� works a lot and soon won�t have time on weekends to do anything...but he has a girlfriend. I don�t know how that works, but it�s possible. I think he�s saving up for his future, as you�d think we should all be. I wonder what you can do in this world without money. I should be worried. That�d attract a lot of girls, I bet...to have a plan. Oh well.

It�d be the coolest to have a girlfriend who believes in you. Who supports you. True love isn�t hard to come by. I think everybody has it in them.

Good luck to all of you in getting more than lucky.

~~


Essay


Poem


The following could have been an entry...written on Valentine�s Day, and written for Valentine�s Day. In English class, we had to write a 100-word essay about love and/or Valentine�s Day, and we also had to write a 15-line poem. At first I thought it was a ridiculous way to spend class, but then I decided to be honest. At the end of the hour I was hesitant to turn in what I had written as my poem, but did it anyways, and the intern said, in handing back the assignments to the class, that she liked mine and that it was creative.

February 14, 2006
Valentine�s Day
Chris Eidt

Today is February 14, a day dedicated to the love between couples. Boyfriends and girlfriends. Husbands and wives. Some may feel lonely on this day, and it is a known fact that today the suicide rate goes up. (Teacher�s note: frowny face) But the truth is that Valentine�s day is no more than a pathetic Hallmark holiday. (Teacher�s note: yes) It�s just a publicity stunt for card companies and chocolate factories to get better business. It�s still just a normal day for most and no reason to have a day off of school. It�s really not that special. I don�t hate this day or the reasoning behind the holiday, but I don�t consider myself romantic, to perhaps in the future, Valentine�s Day can be one day that the card companies, the chocolate factories, and even the flower shops will be open for me. (Teacher�s note: good pt.) And my girlfriend, my wife, or just someone I care about will know that I care about them. (Teacher�s note: This was a very nice journal)

[Author�s note: Valentine�s Day is what you make of it. Back in the day of kindergarten and grade school, we�d all have valentines for everybody else, and it was kinda special. But not that special.]


To whom it may concern,

Roses are red
Beaver�s are brown
I wanna see you
In a white wedding gown.

Today is for St. Valentine
A day on the 14th of February
A day I will shower and shave
To be clean and unhairy

Valentine�s Day, for some,
Is quite the wonderful day
But, for me,
It�s the day I prove I�m not gay

I won�t be seeing you
Until later tonight
We�ll be on our date
And get lucky, you might

Roses are red
But they�re not the best
When you talk to me
My eyes are on your chest

I love you! *heart* *heart*
-Chris Eidt 2-14-06

[Author�s note: If you can help it, don�t be concerned.]

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "No Contradictions ; Valentine's Entry"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top