SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

Spring Break: Sleep Overdose
2006-04-10, 3:06 a.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

The only thing I�ve read all week was the clock. My bedroom has been very strategically designed. In past years, not the most recent ones, when I was living in the upstairs bedroom of my house, my room would be moved around maybe once a year. Since I�ve moved to the basement, I haven�t moved anything around (such as the dresser, bed, or nightstand, or anything), so moving things around once a year seems like quite a lot for...switchin� it up.

Spring Break was always the perfect time to execute any plan of action for moving my bedroom around. Not anymore. My bedroom is perfect. I have my walk-in closet next to my bed, even though any clothes I need are only neatly folded on the floor...and those are only the clothes that haven�t been warn since being washed.

On top of the dresser that I never use is my CD player that I always use.

My nightstand is on the other side of my bed, but it is never used during the night, it has an alarm clock on it, but that is hardly used, even in the morning!

And then, across from my bed, I have another clock, the same clock that I had from when I lived upstairs, and that is barely a minute faster that the one next to my bed...and that was the only thing I read this entire break. And coincidentally...that clock is on top of my bookshelf.

~~

This morning, I may not have a chance to use my alarm clock. I sure didn�t get the chance yesterday, either. When my alarm clock (set for, like, 6:30 a.m, which doesn�t do anything for me...the earlier I set my alarm clock, the more I get to sleep in, I always say) went off yesterday, I paused �The Godfather,� and turned off the overly loud radio, which is activated as my alarm.

And today, again, I�m up before the alarm clock even has a chance to go off.

My sleeping schedule has been abused to retardation level.

It�s actually quite pathetic. I go to bed around 4 � 5 a.m. on a good day. And on a good day, I wake up at 2 in the afternoon.

~~

But when you�re on Spring Break, you�ll take advantage of every chance you get to go out with some friends. There are few people who call what we do �parties.� Some refer to them as �gatherings,� but I just tell my parents that I have another �thing� to do that night, and that I need the keys to the van, and the van to the keys, and that I�ll be home in between midnight and one o�clock.

And while every night this week I have gotten to hang out with someone (and some nights, after a �thing,� I�d go to a �party�), there was one night, which was spent at Zak�s house...I didn�t get any sleep. This may have been the beginning, but it was quite early in the week. That night was filled with the viewings of both �Kill Bill� films...then �Fight Club� and �Once Upon a Time in Mexico.� Zak had quite an obsession with Eva Mendes, who is pretty attractive in that movie.

But I think the best night may have been the one previous to that one. It was my first time at Kelly Ms. B�s house, and after playing a bunch of games on her sweet-awesome pool table, the �group� watched one of my all-time favorites... �Pulp Fiction.� And people appreciated the dialogue, loving the humor, and they ultimately loved the movie, and applauded it in the end.

Later in the week, at Zach�s house, I brought �Death to Smoochy� over, and people also loved that. That was a different group...with the exception of Casey and Kelly.

So there was Kelly�s house, and I don�t remember whose house it was before that...it seems like it was such a long time ago. This week seemed to last forever (which was great). Then Zak�s house...for the �sleep� over. Then we went to Zach�s house the following night, but left before the end of the �Spongebob Squarepants� movie (but, yes, after �Death to Smoochy�).

And since that, I went to Emily�s house once to watch most of �The Breakfast Club,� which I couldn�t finish, since my uncle was coming over later. That movie would be a good party movie. So we�ll finish it later...and it inspired me to buy �Not Another Teen Movie,� which mimics a certain scene from that.

After talking to my uncle about Prom, which I am getting a great amount of pressure from my parents to go to...that was Zach�s house night. But the pressure from my parents is weird...since I won�t be going without a date (and that was my rule, but it sounds like it�d be more fun in a group). And if I go with a date, it probably won�t be with someone who isn�t going with me just �as friends.� And since my parents don�t want me to just go in a group...which would still be the same if people paired up and went �just as friends,� then...it doesn�t seem like I have a shot at all. Since I don�t like anybody...more than I like everybody, I mean...

...and as far as I know, nobody likes me. �Likes� likes, I mean. But there�s this term that my uncle �taught� me, called �Networking.� Networking is when people talk to people and then those people talk to you...and you hear who likes you or who doesn�t like you...or whatever. That�s kind of what the High School is, sometimes, a network.

~~

Spring Break wraps up with starting to wake up at 4:30 in the afternoon, and engaging in a day entirely consisting of phone calls to and from people, and then spending the night at someone�s house...and coming home to watch a movie by myself. The last two nights of Spring Break (not including Sunday�s night), were at Erin�s house. And the first of the two started out at Emily�s house...her basement.

Emily and I walked in on the Erin gathering watching �Brokeback Mountain.� After the last five minutes (which I refused to watch), we played some amazing games of foosball. Amazing. Games. Later that night, after dropping Emily off, I acquired her copy of �Brokeback,� and watched it at my house, alone.

And that night, after watching �Brokeback,� and not knowing exactly what to think of it, I watched some bonus features on the fifth season of �Everybody Loves Raymond.� The blooper reels on those things are hilarious!! Oh...I love that show.

But the next day, after pondering a little more about the film, �Brokeback Mountain,� known as the �Gay Cowboy Movie,� I decided that it was ultimately quite entertaining, but not as good as it should have been. I wished I had the chance to direct it...of course, that would be after directing a thousand other films and this would be like a career-finisher (which I think Ang Lee may need to seriously consider). But it was about two sheep herders (and one was also a rodeo cowboy), who live alone together for a couple months...mostly not talking or anything...and one night they decide to get gay with each other. Of course, that�s only going to last one night...until the next night. And then, when they leave to go home, and Heath Ledger gets married (Heath, I�ll give it to him, created quite an amazing character). And then Jake Gyllenhaul (sp?) gets married. And they continue their relationship in secret, sneaking off away from their wives to get gay with each other.

If I was directing it, I would have had the writers write more relationship-developing dialogue in the beginning. And instead of herding sheep (which more than a plenty amount of people complained of dragging on), I would have made them gun-slinging assassins. Maybe that�s not exactly what the movie needed, but if they were gun-slinging assassins, it would be more entertaining that just an excuse to film the sheep and the scenery, but also, �Brokeback Mountain� would be their hide-out and a place where they�d have to talk to each other. And then, once they felt comfortable enough to become a couple of queers, they would quit their lives as assassins and move back home. And then, when at home, they�d miss each other.

SKIP TO THE NEXT PARAGRAPH>>>SPOILER ALERT:
The end of the movie has Jack Twist (Jake) getting killed. And his death is pretty much left up to the audience�s interpretation. The wife of Jack Twist, played awesomely by Anne Hathaway, tells Heath Ledger�s character, Ennis Del Mar, that Jack got himself killed when changing a tire. And in some kind of silent flashback, we see Jack getting beaten to death. It looks, to me, like a mistake in continuity or something. I didn�t think it was a good way to end a love story, and especially since it seemed like the only �heartbreaking� moment in this �epic� of a love story. But if they were assassins, perhaps a certain recognizable target from the beginning could have been seen in the flashback...and that kind of violence wouldn�t be unnecessary. And if they were assassins, that would also explain how Ennis Del Mar would be a good ass kicker (since he has one swift action scene that takes place at a fireworks show). And later in the film, when he gets beaten up, the symbolism of him getting beaten by some random trucker that he picks a fight with would also show his retirement from being an assassin.

But that�s if I was directing.

�Brokeback Mountain� grade...B. When I watch movies, and notice something I would change...then I just can�t look at it as very good. At least until the second time. If it�s a good movie, then you�ll watch it again, and �Brokeback Mountain� will surely be much better the second time. While it was a love story of two men, I think the women of this film stole the show. From Anne Hathaway and Michelle Williams to Anna Faris and Linda Cardellini, they were all quite amazing.

For all of you wannabe directors out there...make your movies for your audience that will watch it a second time. The twist ending may be beautifully done, but it�s only a twist one time. Then the second time will be worth it to see how differently the audience will see it. Movies that pull off the twist ending very well are �The Sixth Sense,� the �Saw� films, and �Fight Club,� among few others.

Also, �The Godfather,� now that I�ve watched it a second time, is quite an amazing film. I must say, I really don�t like Al Pacino, but Marlon Brando�s scenes are the best ones anyways. It�s a little long, but it�s a great movie.

~~

Anyways, that�s was my Spring Break for the year 2006. My my my, this year is wrapping up pretty damn fast. In three weeks, which is no time at all, we have another play to perform. �The Three Musketeers� has also snuck up on us, but that was expected to sneak up on us. I�ll be cracking down on all of my memorization this week, for sure. Like I said, the clock, and watching the time go by has been the thing I�ve read the most in this past week. Not �Boy�s Life,� for English class, or any of my psychology book. Just that damn clock...

And it is now 5 in the morning. Yesterday, I stayed up all night, and then I slept all day...and finally, hit a sleep overdose. I have to go to school in 2 and a half hours. Fantastic.

I�ll see you all there.

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "Spring Break: Sleep Overdose"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top