SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

Letter to the Future...recieved
2006-05-26, 2:18 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

Right after turning in a final for English class...which took me an entire night, beginning right after school, to complete, I was handed an envelope. On the envelope was written my name, �Chris Eidt,� in my own handwriting. But the handwriting wasn�t written in all-capital letters, like I�ve done the past year. I opened the envelope to see a letter I had written to myself at the end of the tenth grade. The following is what my tenth grade self says to my twelfth grade self (as I am now, a senior)...:

Grammar has not been, and won�t be corrected.

~~

This is your 10th grade version of yourself. Your pre-Video Production, pre-Prom, after freshman and sophomore year. Right now life is very awesome, but I hope you�re not wanting the years back. This summer, you are planning on getting a job. Do you have one yet? You had better have one.

Lately, on Thursdays, I have been going to Brady�s house. I just got my license, and have been taking [the Fat One] to her Haslett middle school for volleyball. That�s fun to drive to alone. The newest movie you have seen in �Man on Fire� and rented �Kill Bill vol. 1.�

Thursdays have been the most fun, Chelsey and Brady are going out. Jake and Listy are going out. I have been enjoying single life, though I�m the fifth wheel on Thursdays, but the other four enjoy my company. Last week on Thursday, you didn�t go, and Chels said that it was much quieter without me.

Last summer, you went on a cruise and read a lot up north. This summer, you will probably read a lot, and definitely join a lot of parties. I hope you have kept all of your same friends. As a senior, this summer should be the biggest summer of your life. Are you making money? Are you moving away to be on your own?

Never give up your friends, because they might be all you have for a while. Keep in touch with old teachers, use this letter as an excuse.

Yesterday was the day the seniors ripped up their work and got outta here, when you watched them as a sophomore. You should be outta here, and without any excuses. �If you never take time, how will you ever have time?� Go, and come back and see how everybody is in a year or two. Be proud and confident. It is your time now. Be happy and excited. All people need motivation.

I wish you could talk to me, haha. Don�t have any regrets.

-You know who
Sophomore, 10th grade
6-4-2k4
4 more days of school.
Yo tengo 16 anos � know what that means?

~~

I think, at the time of writing that, I expected to be moving away in the middle of the summer of my senior year. At this time, I just can't be sure of that. I don't want to right now. But the pressure I get from family, friends, and even The Fat One will grow, and one day become unbearable. I'm just a little scared of myself, putting off what I want to do with my life for a summer. But, believe it or not, I have a plan, and I believe in myself...I have the confidence and definitely the motivation I need.

And while I think my past self and I would get along very well, there is one other interesting part of the letter. The fact that, after I had written it, �Man of Fire� was the last movie I had seen. Well, before I read it this week, I had watched the film �Man on Fire� for my first time since seeing it in theaters...which is quite a huge coincidence. And that movie immediately goes in my top...50...favorite films of all time. It�s a really good movie, a really well made film, and it sets up its own atmosphere. That�s what I like about movies, to go somewhere else, to take a vacation.

Last night, I didn�t watch �Man on Fire� for a third time in two weekends like I had been looking forward to do. I�ve saved it for Emily, since she let me borrow it (that and �Heat,� which is also a fantastic movie�. It�s weird how every movie I�ve borrowed from Emily, I have really enjoyed.

"Man on Fire" grade: A. Captivating, emotional, and I kept thinking about how entertained I was...Dakota Fanning is amazing in her most mature films. And Denzel Washington is still amazing, reuniting with "Crimson Tide" director, Tony Scott. Tony Scott...he's the rockstar of movie directors. Written by Brian Helgeland, the dialogue is amazing, the story is amazing, and each scene moves beautifully through. "Heat" grade: B. Al Pacino, I actually hate to say it...he sucks. While I've seen movies that he's in that I like, such as "The Godfather," I just don't find any of his roles well done. His laid-back style with tough-guy acting just doesn't appeal to me, and I don't find him entertaining, except when I'm laughing at his...well, laughably bad performances. I hate to say it, because he has a huge fanbase out there...but the rest of the movie was amazing. Perfectly dramatic...a really good heist scene, maybe one of the best robberies in a movie...and I am officially a Robert DeNiro fan.

Last night, I did watch �Munich.� (No spoilers follow). This film is a fantastic film and would be enjoyed by any movie lover, anybody interested in the event of what happened at the Munich Olympics, and anybody just looking for a night of entertainment. Before watching it, I was expecting it to be too long, but it really wasn�t. The ending was on a really dramatic note, and may not be the most crowd-pleasing, but it was sufficient. With a movie like that, and I was thinking about this during the movie, you can�t really expect an amazing ending. It was a lot more story-oriented than I expected, renting the movie. But Spielberg continues a streak of amazing directing and amazing ideas.

While the film was captivating and emotional at times, there wasn�t a consistent tone. This was probably the biggest problem I had with the movie. See, there was a lot of action, but the action was brief, often just being cut off in the middle of a machine gun being fired. The action was also quite realistic, but with the dramatic tone of the movie, you were always ready for this action to happen. The story is about a team, lead by Eric Bana, and consisting of the new James Bond, Daniel Craig, who is sent on a mission to kill the people who brought on the Munich massacre. The story of what happened at Munich is visually explained, but only as the movie goes on. When the film cut to flashbacks of the tragedy, I found myself lost at times. But in the beginning, with the flashback starting through the window of the plane, you understand that we�re going back to the event, and also because we�ve seen the scene before. The scene seen through the plane window (you�ll see what I�m talking about when you rent it, which you should), is pretty graphic. But other than that, I suggest you pay attention to who the terrorists are, because they�re the key to recognizing when the story goes to flashback.

Munich Grade: B...for not really having a consistent tone, and being too fast paced at times. But the dialogue is also quite good, every scene is really good and beautifully done (for the most part)...but the film moves really fast for as long as it is. Which is a good thing, probably. You�ll want to watch it twice.

~~

Entry to come: What I�ve written to people on the backs of my wallet-sized graduation cards.

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "Letter to the Future...recieved"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top