SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

Summer's Start ; "Kiss Kiss" ; Goodbye's
2006-06-20, 3:30 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

Saying goodbye to Nona and Papa was still harder than I thought it was going to be. I mean, there I was, back at Aunt Cathy's house, and after sitting and talking about memories from the cruise (which seemed like a disaster for everyone except the kids), we had to say our goodbye's. Of course, that was the minute Katie finally got there...she works at an FYE, an entertainment store at a mall near you. I hugged my cousins goodbye (they're all female), and shook hands with Jakob, who had been sleeping the entire time (after an 11-hour work day, so it was understandable). Uncle Robbie and Aunt Pegi had already said their goodbye's, and left.

But then I had to say goodbye to Nona and Papa. And I was happy the entire day, but it wasn't until Nona's hug that it started feeling...just awful. It was a good feeling, I love Nona, but...I hate goodbyes. And then Papa's hug hit me way too hard.

I'm actually tearing up right now, thinking about it. Why can't I hug Papa without my eyes paining in tears? I mean, even at graduation, after Papa said "We've never been more proud of you." It still got to me...and that was one of the happiest days ever!

And not only that, but Diana is going to Florida for the next 4 weeks! I've lived in Florida for 7 weeks in one year. The following year, I went down alone for one week (for Spring Break), and then again flying down by myself for two weeks...and then The Fat One went alone for two weeks (after Mom brought her down to go to Universal Studios: Island of Adventure). Now it's Diana's turn.

And I've never said this about a sister before...but I'm gonna miss her. While she's down in Florida, with Nona and Papa, I'm here...with the Fat One. These past two weeks have been so awesome, because I've been able to see Nona and Papa, and actually talk to them as I did when I was a kid. So missing them is just that much stronger this time.

And Diana's on her way, as of 9:00a.m. today...back to Florida. And in about three weeks, Uncle Robbie is going to fly down with his son, Ben (the only male cousin on my dad's side...and who wasn't there, yesterday)...and they're going to Disney World! Then, the three of them will fly back, and somehow Diana will be returned to us. I think we're meeting her at the airport. Good times. I'm jealous.

~~

So this summer has already started out as one of the greatest summer vacations. I mean, they always get better...but with a graduation party, and seeing everybody in my family...and then with Nona and Papa staying here...it's been fantastic.

And not only that, but before yesterday, on Saturday, Aunt Pegi had a pool party. When I first got there, everybody was, like, "How does it feel?" Knowing exactly what they were asking, I told them that graduation "feels great...so great."

Katie and I plan on going back to Aunt Pegi's...to swim...talk all night...and they want to see what I've done in Video Production this past year. I'm pretty proud of what I've done in that class...especially since I watched the previous year's Halloween Show. I remember when everybody in school was saying how good that was (and a few remarked that I had the best death scene (choked by Frankenstein)). But watching that, I learned how different my productions are. I'm not bragging, just saying that the Halloween Show last year was poor.

But I think Aunt Pegi and my cousins would be entertained. And maybe they'll be impressed. But who knows...I still have yet to write a "best of" for this year's Video Production class.

That's later this summer, hanging out with cousins (or at least Katie). I always plan on doing it...but it never works out! It'll happen. In the meantime, I'll be doing Thank You cards for all the money I recieved at my graduation party.

Thank you all for coming, by the way.

~~

Alec called me yesterday. Steve called me, too. I have a costume being designed, and I've gotten the part for their "Robin Hood" take on the classic story. I don't understand what I'm supposed to do. I haven't read a script. I haven't seen a script. Alec's confidence in the film just makes me doubt that it'll be good at all. And while I've promised myself never to be involved in a definite failure...getting any experience is more important. "The part," as I said, is just a role in their movie. I would usually like to be a cameraman, but if I can't direct, I'd rather Steve's vision be the one his "producers" see. Steve has been going to Biola, a school in California. So he's got some connections...he's never seen a big movie star, though.

~~

With a gift card from my graduation party, I went out to Best Buy...on the day IT came out...and I bought IT! "Kiss Kiss Bang Bang," written by Shane Black, and also in his directorial debut, the movie...was fantastic.

Before watching it, I knew I was going to like it.

While watching it, I wasn't too sure, even though I was laughing out loud at several parts.

After watching it, it took me 20 minutes to decide that it was really great. I mean, if I was given the director's chair, I would have made the ending much more action packed...but I found the movie really hard to follow. Upon a second viewing, with Emily, the very last scene was cleared up for me, even though I had many more questions. I think I understand it...but I think Alec and Zak may be my key audience to watch this movie with...since they're big Val Kilmer fans.

Robert Downey Jr. stole every scene he was in, which is hard to do for a lead role. He's such a charming actor. Val Kilmer was pretty gay, but he was supposed to be, and he was darn funny, in a different role than what he's used to playing. Michelle Monaghan was incredibly sexy in her role, and I think she's put herself in her place in Hollywood. She's great, and already got that one role in "Mission: Impossible III." She'll go places.

Grade: B, marked down for being hard to understand at times. Sometimes going for an unoriginal plot (which this certainly has) is too much work...even for the audience. But I hope Shane Black stays in Hollywood, where he should be.

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "Summer's Start ; "Kiss Kiss" ; Goodbye's"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top