SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

A Real Letter ; Up North Awakening
2006-07-10, 1:58 a.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

It's the 10th...suddenly it's been a month since my Open House. That sure passed quickly...

A week on a windy beach without any way or shape or form of technology, never including television, will surely add up in your lonely email box. Of course, leaving a week always makes me feel popular, but coming home to a mailbox of 58 items doesn't really allow further relaxation throughout my days. I could be checking the emailbox and maybe deleting those unimportant things, but a week without internet or computer altogether...has left me unable to write. To you, I mean. Or in response to those 58 emails, of course.

And it's not even that I have anything to say, really...I just wanted to write. I just want to advance my popularity by making you jealous. And we all know jealous evolves popularity.

What came in the mail today, not among the 58, was a letter. A real, actual letter, not from the government or the state in any way demanding I fill out forms or register to vote (which I've done twice now)...but a real, actual, letter. It was from my favorite sister...Diana. She's in Florida, and I've been planning on writing her, and it's not that I haven't gotten around to it...the problem was that...her time down there just went so freaking fast.

She's going to Disney World today! And while the family of hers (including me...obviously) is completely jealous, she has become the most popular of us. The neighbor's up north (where I was...yesterday) ask about her, mom calls her on a daily basis (which I guess is okay...just because it was her birthday week), and the family itself misses her.

I'm sure she won't mind if I dispense her writing in typed form...but without any editorial remarks or corrections:

Hi Christopher
Yesterday we went to see the new Superman movie with Frank, Hannah, and there kids I thought it was good and I liked the person who played lex luthern and the guy who played Superman but nona and papa said they like Christopher Reeve better.
I've never seen that movie so I can't compair but when I get back we should rent that movie and watch it and today I went swimming twice and aunt Mariam (Papa's sister) came over for dinner. We had nockworst, potato salad, and the pasta salad that was at your open house. It was good.
Also Becca said she can hear you crying every night before you go to Bed because you miss me.
Come on man Pull it together that is just sad!!

By the way I don't really recomend March of the Penguins

p.s. I saw the Space Shuttle go off today July, 4, 2006 at 2:37:30 sec.
I was swimming in the pool and I knew it was going off today and I saw it I could see the flaimes behind in too it was so cool.
Also I saw the preview for Spiderman III! It looks awesome! I can't wait to see it when it comes out we have to see it together.
Love, Diana

~~

Up north, I went to the Mackinac City "premier" of "Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest." I woke up that morning reading Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas for my second time since starting it last summer...and when I say "I woke up reading"...you know what I mean...I woke up with it in my hands in the midst of a chapter.

Not really.

Though my head was hanging not only over the bed each morning, but over a Bill Watterson's treasury of "The Indispensible Calvin and Hobbes." I, once again, fell in love with the strip. When I was a kid, I would read Calvin and Hobbes over my bed every night. And Garfield, of which I own quite the plethora of "works." Garfield just isn't worth it anymore, in my opinion.

But it feels so good to read something without a deadline. Of course, even though I'm up there a week, and I want to finish a novel before the week's end, I don't have to. But the funny thing is that I come damn close...the remaining pages of "Fear and Loathing" I have left are the best ones. And good pages mean fast reading...and being a naturally slow reader (even though I love to read) welcomes well-written chapters.

But Hunter S. Thompson was not the only author I read...I brought my dad's 30-year-old copy of Edgar Allan Poe's tales and poems. It has 'em all in there, all the great ones. The Raven (of poems) and The Tell-Tale Heart (of stories).

They're so good, but with his wide range of vocabulary and creative use of each word, my being a naturally slow reader became aggravating.

Anyways, that's how I woke up each morning. My bed had a dip in the middle, so all objects would roll to the center...and since I never wake up in the position I first position I lay down in (though, I must say I've grown out of my wiggle-worm years), I somehow always ended up with my head on a corner of the bed...my pillows on the floor under my head, and my body twisted in my childhood yellow blankie in the middle of the bed.

And after reading some Calvin and Hobbes, I chose when to go to lunch.

On the morning of opening day of "Pirates," Mom had come home from purchasing tickets...and calling Diana. Diana was one of the first people to see the film on opening day, going to an early show (of noon). Then mom talked about all the people working at the theaters dressed as pirates. I was so jealous of Diana.

But she wasn't talking about Diana's theater experience.

Later that night, I put on a bandana, and the family went to Mackinac, walked around for a few hours, then went into the crowded theater that held 246, and all the people working there...were dressed as pirates. And many of the audience-members-to-be were also appropriately dressed. Many women had old-fashioned dresses that exaggerated the top of their breasts, and we all packed ourselves tight into the theater. I actually left my family just so I wouldn't have to sit next to the wall. I wanted a good seat for this movie, and thankfully there was one aisle seat that nobody else wanted to sit by their lonesome in.

I'll have to review the movie in another entry...along with many of summer's big movies:

Mission: Impossible III
The DaVinci Code
X-Men III: The Last Stand
Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest
and after tonight:
Superman
and hopefully later this week:
Cars
and...the making of "Robin Hood: The Beginning"

All that and more...next time...

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "A Real Letter ; Up North Awakening"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top