SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

Last Transmission out of ChrisLand
2006-11-06, 7:10 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

It�s been awhile.

I�m sitting inside the computer room, my first time since the new school year started (not mine), and I�m looking out the window. I�m not looking at what I�m typing. I can sense when I�ve created a typo...which I don�t think is a talent of any kind, but it�s definitely a useful skill. I�m looking out the window, and someone is playing a prank on me. It�s an extremely sick prank, too. Or maybe it is just snowing.

The snow only reminds me that I have not yet left Michigan, which is an extremely depressing thought, but I don�t let myself get too down. I have seen the greener side of the fence�and let me just tell you�there are palm trees and the sweet smell of success. The land known to most people as Florida, to me, is the ultimate in paradise and happiness. It�s a place where the seasonal transitions are so subtle that people are just unaffected. There�s no seasonal depression, and they don't have to migrate for the winter!

Florida is also the location of a school known as Full Sail, a college I have been looking at for the past year. Of course, if you had asked me a year ago where I was going for college, I would have given some unsatisfactory answer to which you wouldn�t be able to comprehend and would refuse to understand. I mean, asking me my plan for after high school would result in hardly an answer.

And that still goes. I mean, if you think about it, no matter how you would tell someone that you�re going to school, even including what you would be going for�would be much less of an answer than trying to explain what I really would like to do.

~
�I�ve been accepted into Michigan State University, and I�ll be majoring in political science with a minor in human biology. I�m also studying female anatomy.�
~
�If I had my way (which makes it sound like I no longer have choices), I would move out to California. To get into a business, you really need to be where the business is, and my passion has and always will be the movie business. California, Hollywood, Los Angeles�they�re really where it�s at. And if I had my way, I would take my little resume with high school activities, none of which really include anything to do with movie making. Video Production hasn�t really benefited me with anything I can show people. The little job I had filming a conference for a hundred bucks certainly wasn�t important in any way. But I would venture out in desire to prove that talent is more important than anything on a resume.�
~

The significance of tonight�s snowfall and the fact that this is the first night I�ve been on my computer in months is pretty interesting because the last time I saw snow was, I�ll say, the end of part one of my life. You could say the end of part one began on the last day of high school and the first day of part two was on this day, but however you say it, my high school days are behind me, and my working future has begun.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic ~ In the past month, I have visited this school, Full Sail. No, it�s not a school to go in training to be a pilot (though the Full Sail icon has a plane flying through it) or a place to get a boaters license (the name itself, with �sail� might have thrown you off), but it�s an art school. It�s probably the only school you can get an actual degree in �Film,� whereas most film schools, you couldn�t only get a degree in, say, screenwriting. And Full Sail was voted the third best film school in the country by Rolling Stone magazine (I�ve heard that, but never been able to look it up myself).

Students experience a "real world" education, with a professional class structure of 8-12 hours per day, and a 24-hour round-the-clock schedule which earned Full Sail the "Most Innovative Program" Award by the Florida Association of Postsecondary Schools and Colleges. Full Sail has also been named one of the top three entertainment media colleges by Shift Magazine alongside the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (No. 1) and New York University (No. 2); Electronic Gaming Monthly named Full Sail one of the Top Five Game Degree Programs in the world; Rolling Stone Magazine recently named Full Sail one of the "Best Music Programs" in the country, in addition to one of the "Best Music Business Departments" in the Schools That Rock: The Rolling Stone College Guide, and UNleashed Magazine has named Full Sail one of the Best Film Programs in the country.� � www.topix.net

And hell, you know it�s my dream school when every classroom is a movie theater.

To many people, college itself could be known as part two of a life, and instead of skipping it, I�ve just been giving it a lot of thought. Sure, going to college holds you back from being able to start your career, or at least that�s what I think of it, but Full Sail is different. The full title is �Full Sail: Real World Education,� and from what I�ve heard, it can be as real as having to get up at 3 in the morning for a class. I feel ahead of most people, which is where I thought I�d be, moving blind out to California. But unlike so many others, I really know what I want to do. And I�m willing to do anything to get there, and I think that by my even considering school, I am proving that. At least to myself.

Full Sail, as I have said, is an art school, though, and, therefore, expensive.

~~

I�m still dreaming. That is my curse, the dream itself. I live a life where I expect so much out of myself, and I think I can do anything. That�s part of being a teenager, I think. We believe we�re invincible. But I am turning 19 in about a week�beginning my last year as a teenager. I don�t want to be getting older�I feel like time is slipping away. Am I really doing all I can to be where I want to be?

What a cliffhanger. This is where I am. I�m working. I�m still in Michigan. It�s a week until my birthday. College is the plan�Florida is the destination.

It�s not yet time to start Part II of my life�meaning I won�t be starting another diary/journal/online thingy for a while. It�s good to be able to write, though. It feels good to write. It�s healthy. Don�t you wish you could completely start a book with the table of contents? You wouldn�t know what would happen, but at least you�d know where you�re going.

This is my epilogue and my prologue.

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "Last Transmission out of ChrisLand"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top