SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

Religion and Politics is All I See
2020-04-30, 11:10 pm

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

I’ve been waiting for an email from you and just now realized it came through! Unfortunately, email is unreliable as my notifications do not alert me so well. Apparently.

FDR seemingly paled in comparison to Eleanor. From my understanding, it was her pushing that got a lot of progress made. But where there is progress, there are always people who fear it. Change is really traumatic for some people. “Make America Great Again” is a nostalgic cry in its simple language, certainly a message I can appreciate (although I’ll always argue that we could be much greater, an argument from principle if not just hopeful).

I recently finished a book about introversion (vs extroversion) in terms of personality. This book lauded Eleanor Roosevelt, and used their relationship as an image of two very different people. Of course, The President wasn’t the strongest husband, but she’s always been painted, at least to me, as a really good wife...and mother. But her love for the people of America is certainly the prominent truth in all her biographies.

And that's what I wish was in the slogan. “Make America Great Again” is a terribly materialistic ideal. It disregards people...but the maker of the slogan hasn’t really made people a priority, and we’ve seen that now more than ever (although, I hope his three wives would disagree with me).

“The Great Upheaval,” I’ll look into this one. I feel like I’ve heard of it. My apologies if I get “political.” I do hope these conversations are the future, however. As a movie lover, politics is all I see now...and if it’s not political alone...it’s religiosity. Arguably a more hot-button topic, but a far more interesting one, if you ask me.

I’m just now finishing my book on the founding fathers and looking forward to what I’ll open next. The books “to read” on my shelf are generally in the religious studies section...but I’ve been making a steady transition into the history section. I can’t get away from bias, and I know this, so I seek to understand the author’s point of view. With that knowledge, I’m able to discover authors from different biases. When it comes to right-wing media, I’ve found many more outlets, many more podcasts and journalists that favor the “right wing” than those who really speak for the left.

Until I leave the country. I’ve found American voices are stronger on the “right wing,” but outside America, people are generally “left.” At least...they’d be considered “left” by our terms. “Center” and even “conservative” if we’d judge by their standards.

It’s 11pm here.
Chandler fell asleep less than an hour ago.
With me, I’ll approve a 10pm bedtime (reading books by 9:30pm). We’ve done writing everyday. He really seemed to know every letter today. I see improvement...but I know we should be onto sounds now. Were there any tricks or ideas you’d use to associate sounds and letters?

I’m sad to see the art of writing dwindling.
Of course, if I edited my emails...I’d probably delete any political talk, but there’s no expectation for thorough response. Movies are still my main passion, you can be sure, but those books aren’t on my bookshelf...they’re on my nightstand, constantly being read.

Another controversial figure is the subject of my current read. Marlon Brando. Certainly a “king” in the world of Hollywood...and yet he was above Hollywood, transcendent. Even he, though, I’ve discovered, is more of a political figure than an actor. And he was not loved by all, either.

And so it goes.

Good night for now...

- Christopher

On Mon, Apr 20, 2020 at 8:32 AM Phyllis Webster wrote:
Hope you are hanging in there during these very different times.

I'm not sure it it was Ken Burns - American Experience or what - know I enjoyed the episodes about Theodore Roosevelt - have not caught the ones when Franklin Roosevelt developed polio. Know I've probably watched before. As a President he was not loved by all - as with all the Presidents. All have their flaws; some have more leadership abilities than others - and so it goes.

Several years ago Larry Hill made me aware of a book called The Great Upheavel by Jay Winik. Think I read parts of it at the time - a big book. It is about America and the Birth of the Modern World 1788-1800.

Cool weather has hung on; sun is out today - so far less wind. Yesterday was very windy - so seemed very cold even as temperature was in 50's I think. Did not go out.

Not anything special for exercise - walk a little with good weather - routine household things - up stairs - to basement etc. etc.

Take care - Love, G'ma

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "Religion and Politics is All I See"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
The Language Around “Self-Interest” is for Simpletons - 2020-08-31
“Dreamgirl” - 2018-10-04
Love is a Skill, not a Feeling - 2020-07-08
They Cannot Offend You. They can only try. - 2020-06-01
They Cannot Offend You. They can only try. - 2020-06-01
Back to Top