SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

Nona and Papa's 50th Anniversary
2004-06-28, 4:02 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

Dad and I pulled up in Aunt Cathy�s driveway after we left our house 45 minutes after Mom and the girls did. They were still not there. The first person we saw was Papa, who talked to us about little things until Nona came down. I didn�t want to ask if they were nervous because I was sure that they were, and didn�t want them to think about it. I also had a joke that I wanted to say, but never got to.

�Now when they come up and say �You have the right to remain silent,� wait, no, that�s not what they say...�

Nona and Papa were going to be remarried at 6:00pm, right after the church ceremony. It turned out that Mom and the girls had made a stop at a Target store and had to buy some stuff. That didn�t make Dad very happy. He acted stressed out for until we left the house.

Church is Church. I always find myself looking around at all the other people in the Church wondering how they could come here every Saturday or Sunday. My dad sure does, he goes to Church every Sunday. And, of course, there is always a baby crying. I would have used the opportunity to get outta there. �My baby is crying, she needs to go sit in the car with me and listen to some rap music.�

This Church ceremony went by a lot faster than most I have been to. That was sort of odd because I was waiting for Nona and Papa�s vows to be renewed at the end. Actually, I was sitting there thinking �This guy has a monotone voice, I wanna go read what is in that book.�

I actually have a monotone voice, but if I know what I�m reading then I don�t use a monotone voice. So if I just talk for a while to somebody, I�m sure they would get bored. I�m great for telling stories at nighttime when somebody has to fall asleep.

The vow�s ceremony went great. I�m sure Papa was very nervous, because he laughed extra hard at every joke the father said. I have a great aunt from Brooklyn who talked to me and knew me so much better than I had known her. She acted like she saw me everyday, and I don�t remember ever seeing her. My uncle Jerry and Annie Marge asked me if I still loved watching movies and was still interested in movies, �Yes, of course, I always will.�

I never talked to Uncle Jerry or Annie Marge after that, and I felt really bad when I first realized that.

Nona and Papa both said �Yes, I do,� and got remarried. Afterwards, Papa was very happy that Nona said �I do,� as if she wasn�t going to. That joke got some laughs, even though I heard it a couple times.

The party we had was in a building that seemed like a hotel. It was a restaurant though. A very fancy one, too. Everybody talked until the food was ready, and then we all sat down at our assigned tables. Papa asked for everybody�s attention and told everybody that the father (from the church) wasn�t able to show and Papa had to give the prayer/blessing himself. As he did this, and whenever he talked that night, he looked at me. When speaking in front of large groups, people look at their most comforting site. I have heard that. Whenever I speak in front of class, I always look at the teacher or my really good friend, because those are the people I become most comfortable with in the class. So I felt really great with that thought in my mind.

The food was good though. First, we had great dinner rolls or garlic bread. I ate about 4 pieces. I would have made a whole dinner out of that. Then we had some really great Italian soup. As always, I was the first one to get the parmesan cheese.

The next thing, after the servers took our soup bowls away, was the main course (or so I thought). Our plates were stacked on top of each other. The first main course was my favorite. It was some kind of spaghetti with good cheese and meat sauce on it. There was also Fettuccini Alfredo, but that wasn�t as good to be. I thought it was overcooked. It was still good though.

After two helpings of the spaghetti, the servers took those plates away to reveal a clear glass plate under than one. That was for salad. I took very little salad, getting full. They took that plate away to reveal a large plate that I thought was for dessert. Nope, it was for potatoes and meat. I ate very little of the breaded chicken, and little of the beef.

I sat with my family, my grandparents who live in Michigan (Nona and Papa live in Florida, I�m sure you know) and another family who I had not met before. They lived in Michigan on a lake, they told us. My dad was very sociable to them, and so was I. They were very interested in how I was old enough to drive. We talked about a lot of stuff, and throughout the night, whenever I visited that table, they always had something to say to me. They were very nice.

Dessert came around while I was up in front of everybody not talking. It was Ice Cream Sundaes or cake. Sundaes and cake, actually.

My dad gave his toast before the dessert came around and there were people in the back tables always talking. His toast was nice, but I noticed that he really doesn�t know how to control his audience. I would have known how.

I wanted to give a toast so badly, but since I am just a youngling, I don�t think that I would have been allowed. I had very little prepared because I knew I wasn�t going to be able to get up there. I was going to talk about how everybody in the room knows John and Mary Ann (Nona and Papa) and I was going to tell how I was related to them. I have had the greatest of memories with them, going down to Florida to be with them, even while I was alone. This is what I was gonna say: �I flew down and met them in the airport. I loved flying on that plane though. This was before the 9/11 incident, of course, when all pilots gave us a taste of Chuck Yaeger saying �Heey everybody, nice to be with you on this flight, we�re flying non-stop to Orlando, Florida, so let�s take this sucker down to end of the runway and see what she�ll do.��

So, that was my short comedic act. Then I wanted to introduce the scrap book my mom made, and have her stand up for everybody to see. �She made it, and it will be passed around among all of you, for if you want to have a look-see, so enjoy the rest of the night.�

I wanted to say that. But Mom got up there instead. I stood up there for no reason, I didn�t even do anything, but I was up there for when my aunt Pegi introduced the cruise that my dad and his siblings (Pegi included, obviously) bought for them. Papa later said that he was in shock when he heard that they bought him and Nona a cabin on a cruise.

That was when the dessert was passed out.

Papa talked about the two questions everybody�s been asking, �How the hell have you been together for 50 years,� and I have forgotten the other one. Papa answered them both and then thanked Nona for staying with him for so long.

I think that if you stay together long enough to be too old for any other people, then you�re safe. Plus, if somebody is used to taking care of others and being taken care of, then they�ll stay with anybody.

I talked with all of my cousins for the whole night. The Fat One was quiet all weekend, she never says anything. I think that�s why she�s so damn annoying at home.

We started talking about condoms, I don�t know how. I told them to stop with their profanity, because The Fat One always repeats it to Mom and I, so I said �Stop now, because I think it just went in one ear and out the rubber.�

The party was sort of boring for the kids, but the grown-ups had a lot of fun. Dad socialized with people he had not seen in a long time, so that�s what made it so much fun for him.

That party lasted until 11:00pm. Then it was time for the after-party. Katie drove me to her house where I played pool and The Sims on her ps2 while she was on the computer for a short while. Then we went to Jennifer�s house (Julie�s sister) to talk and listen to music. On Friday, I bought �Kill Bill� the soundtrack, but nobody in the room at the time liked that music. We listened to Good Charlotte and other soft rock bands. Katie likes listening only to her music. After a while, Katie convinced everybody to go upstairs, and I was very thankful. Then, when the Fat One and Diana fell asleep, Jennifer and Melissa (Katie�s sister) came back downstairs.

Jennifer and I are very comfortable with each other. Jenn is very much like a mother and she�s awesome to be with. She is adorable. I almost fell asleep with my head rested in her lap. Is that odd? I didn�t think so at the time. When Jenn stayed with us up north two years ago, she and I laid next to each other all night. This would seem odd to me if she wasn�t my cousin. So it�s nothing to think about. Melissa, at one time, laid on top of Katie, which was very funny. Poor Katie, she was trying to get some sleep. We watched the beginning of �The Craft� and I fell asleep on the couch with only a pillow and a blanket. Jennifer went upstairs to sleep once I had fallen asleep. Melissa fell asleep early, and Jenn started yelling at her, waking her up every couple of minutes. That was an awesome night.

The next morning, there were a bunch of little kids all over the place. When I commented on this, the older kids laughed and then I tried to go back to sleep. Katie then said �I�m only getting up if Christopher does.�

I ate lunch with Nona and Papa and showed them my Kill Bill CD and talked about movies. When I make conversation, I talk about movies, that�s what I�m best at. Katie and Melissa left saying they were gonna be back later, but never showed. Most of that day was playing volleyball with Jacob, Jennifer, and my sisters. That was a lot of fun though. We counted how many hits we could get to. I think our record was 32. And if it wasn�t 32, it was 5.

Earlier that day, we went to see Julie and Jacobs house. Once I saw that, I thought of how awesome it would be to be married. I figured, I only want a wife who will be a good mother. A good mother wouldn�t lie, and she would be nice enough to be with me, too. Julie is definitely the most talkative between her and Jacob, so it seemed okay. I am usually uncomfortable with that. I figure that I won�t meet my to be-wife until after high school when I am living in another state. Julie and Jacob have a really cool house though. I was sure to give compliments. I didn�t follow the others with the tour of the house, so I missed out on seeing the basement.

Jacob�s parents died before Julie met him and he got a lot of money from them. He has an awesome car and always has. He also has a motorcycle. He uses his money for entertainment stuff. They have a really nice TV with a really nice sound system. Jacob was on the computer while we were there. They have a really nice computer. The floor was hard floor, which I didn�t like, but that�s the only thing I didn�t like. They had many matching chairs and one couch. They had an extra bedroom for anybody. They had a really nice kitchen with nice wooden cabinets. Julie talked about how Jacob did the laundry while Julie did the dishes. That sounded good to me. Jacob was in the computer room which also had an easel for Julie to draw and do art. I saw a picture she did on the wall which was really great. Then we went upstairs. There is a very nice walk in closet for them and they have a great king-sized bed. I was surprised going upstairs because I had thought that the guest room was for them. I saw the two night-stands they have which I recognized being in Julie�s room a year ago.

I also noticed a little black box with colored flowers on it. That was where I once found three condoms in.

When I saw their house with all this cool stuff, I really wanted to be married and living in a house. The house was smaller, but it was perfect for two people. It was just so awesome. It was enough. I was jealous.

Later, when it was time to leave, I shook Jake�s hand, and he enthusiastically shook mine and I said �by the way, you have an awesome house.�

�Thank you, thank you very much.�

Jacob is a sweet guy.

My mom and Uncle Robbie were on the couch talking, surely about how Aunt Amy had treated him badly. Robbie is hurt and wants everybody on his side. He has been with Ben always since I�ve seen him. Aunt Pegi hates Amy, who is no longer my aunt. I was surprised at this. I have hated Amy because she was a woman, that isn�t a mistake, it�s just that the Eidt family has always been nice to each other, and Amy kinda screwed that up. Aunt Pegi hated her with a vengeance and I was surprised. I don�t think they should all hate her, only I get to hate her. Since I�m just a youngling, I don�t really get the chance to understand about all of that shit. My mom may tell me some stuff, but I�m not expecting anything. I wish Uncle Robbie could talk to me. I could help him, I could make him feel better. I would tell him to think of other people. I heard that he maybe was thinking of somebody else, which caused some of the problems. So was I right? That�s what I had heard. I think this was after the divorce shit came into play though. I don�t wanna talk about this anymore because I�m just not sure on my information. I wish I could be one to talk to.

The weekend was awesome. This Wednesday, we will be driving down to Warren again to see Nona and Papa one more time before they leave on Friday.

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "Nona and Papa's 50th Anniversary"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top