SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

[Getting] Just What I Needed
2005-12-11, 4:02 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

Friday, five-thirty in the a.m., I wake up. This is because of my mom telling me that there�s no school. My eyes squint to find something in my room that I can see. It�s not that I need to see anything, but I am so blind in the morning. It register�s in my mind...there�s no school. �Santa�s Spectacles� will not be seen. I will not perform of any sort in that play/skit/thing. Yahoo!

Plus, I needed that snow day from school, too.

Ten-thirty that same day, my phone rings. I don�t answer it until I am told it�s for me. It�s Mary. They want to practice �Santa�s Spectacles,� and then go sledding. I�m not too enthused at the moment, but it�s nice to get a call from Mary, and I know I�m gonna need to see real people (even though the only people I had seen so far in the day were in my dreams). But I�m talking about getting out of the house and away from my sisters.

Mary called later to say that there weren�t enough people who could come to practice the play. They were still going sledding and then going to Emily�s house afterwards for Hot Chocolate. That�s sound like quite the fun, except the last time that I went sledding (that sticks out to me) was when I went with McB. He ended up helping me to RyMo�s van to take me home since I had practically blacked out. I was so cold, and then I just got really tired, so I laid in the snow at the bottom of the hill (after a failure-ride on a snowboard). Maybe I got up too fast, but I just remember the world was so white outside, and it all went so black. I didn�t fall down or anything, but that was light-headedness. In fact, I didn�t even know that I had blacked out that day, so many years ago, until I actually blacked out in October (and I think that mighta been my third time). Whenever I get shots, I feel weird! Whatever they put on needles sends my nervous system into a weird funk.

Anyways, enough with that story. I almost blacked out the last time I went sledding. I knew, and always know that when going sledding it�s always really cold. So, I was not too excited about being outside in the cold for hours, but I was excited to be around cool people. Since I knew this day was gonna start off right (and it was gonna end well, too), I decided to make the most of my morning and do something I�ve always wanted to do.

My room was a bluish white. I�m in the basement so it�s kind of dark down there in the winter, but it wasn�t so attractive. I went upstairs where it was much colder (still gotta love my basement), and put on some hot water. Well, hot water to-be. Once that was done, and I don�t even remember waiting for it, I took my biggest mug and put some hot-chocolate-mix in it. It was just out of one of those canisters with a lot of mix. A just-add-water mix. So then I took my mug with hot-chocolate in it, and carefully did not spill down the basement stairs. Once I made it down there, I carefully put it on the floor, and carefully stepped over it (I knew I was gonna spill it all over the place), and got a book. And with that book, �The Colorado Kid,� which was my mystery for English 12 (that I hadn�t finished), I finished my hot chocolate the same time I finished the book. Not a very crowd-pleasing ending, but Mr. Stephen King told the complete story (as he thinks he did). It was my first Stephen King novel, and I�ve always thought he was a good writer. He writes for Entertainment Weekly, so I know how he writes. There were a lot of cool references in �The Colorado Kid,� some that most definitely set the book in the present time, 2005. I thought the book was going to be set in, like, the 1920s, with a real vintage style. The style wasn�t that vintage or anything, but Stephen King is really knowledgeable in pop culture, so he had to use that to take away some of the good-ol�-days feel of his crime novel. Who knows if it ever really was a crime, but King is a good writer and kept my interest.

I do need to read it again, I was rushed since I read it for school. Like, I had to read it. Couldn�t just feel like reading...until now, when I lay in bed with my hot chocolate. (After the assignment on that book was already due).

Usually during this season, the Thanksgiving-to-Christmas season, I go to school, and look out the windows. The snows seems so much prettier when I�m in school. I always think about how I want to be home, curled in warm, slept-in blankets, and I just want to sip hot hot-chocolate and read comic books. The comic books I read are Calvin and Hobbes, but they�re better than any Batman or some violent thing. Calvin and Hobbes, written and drawn by Bill Watterson, are the most brilliant cartoons ever. Seriously. I own all of the books, and I still want the new, like, Calvin and Hobbes bibles that just came out (they include all of the books). I�ve referenced Calvin and Hobbes plenty of times in this diary.

I don�t like calling it a diary, but what else is it? There needs to be a cooler word for �diary.� Journal, record, log, chronicle, memoir, account, periodical, pants, magazine, underwear, dog, beach, time, crime, rhyme, or a penciling.

On the phone, Mary mentioned watching a movie at Emily�s. I knew that later that night (I was thinking around 6p.m.), Byrdman was gonna come over and have a night of movies and random questions about the future. So I didn�t really feel like a movie, but for a couple minutes, I figured we wouldn�t even watch a movie. I cleansed my mug and put my book on the shelf with all of my other great books (ones that I�ll read all the way through), and looked at my movie collection. I think my closet is just a great thinking place, it�s where I keep my cartoon/comic books (Garfield, Peanuts, and Calvin and Hobbes), and my move collection, and my magazines. My closet pretty much has everything except clothes. My mom liked to make that joke whenever family came to see my closet/room/basement for the first time (after it was built).

So I looked over my movie collection, not seeing anything that I would want to take. I figured I�d let Mary look over it, also letting her see the inside of my house (so many of my friends haven�t...but then quite a few random ones have...Phil). More about Phil later.

Then I walked into my bedroom and thought about how I couldn�t let Mary see it like this...and I was quite bored. Wanna know what I do when I�m that bored? Clean. Well, I clean what I can. This mostly consisted of organizing my clothes in a less-messy style. Then I went into my closet and took out some embarrassing stuff and moved some other stuff around until 2:00p.m. when Mary was going to be picking me up. She didn�t come for another 20 minutes, so we were in a little hurry and we didn�t bother to pick out a movie...which is probably a good thing. We went sledding, said some funny stuff, and then at Emily�s house, we watched �I Heart Huckabees,� which was a hilarious movie, and could have been quite brilliant, but I think it was a little too...confusing. Sadly, I just can�t recommend it to anyone.

Also, when we were sledding, the first run down, I didn�t quite get on the back of the sled, and decided to grab onto the back. Once Justin saw me (yeah, Justin was there, too) grabbing on for dear life (which doesn�t make any sense), he grabbed me and dragged me down. Oh man was it cold, but oh man was it fun. Mary and Emily saw me and started cracking up...so it was worth it. At one point, I was sledding on my crotch (sorry, but I had to say it), and sending waves of snow out and into my face. That probably was unhealthy, but it was a blast. The greatest sledding trip ever.

Later that night, Byrdman and I watched �True Lies,� �From Dusk Till Dawn,� and �Office Space.� That was quite fun, although I found myself getting quite frustrated with Byrdman more often now. I really think seasonal depression is kicking in. I mean, the next day...

I worked on my English story for too long after waking up. I had a severe case of writer�s block, and totally pooch-screwed myself on any ending. It was a mystery story that was to be 4-7 pages long. Mine began the ninth page, but it wasn�t very good. I mean, that�s a lot of bullshit. I tried to have fun with it, but I felt increasingly depressed as I got into it. Then, later, Justin called, and I ended up unable to go see a movie with them (even though �The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe� didn�t appeal to me). I had to do something with my sisters. The Fat One was being a bitch to Diana, who had a headache, forcing her to get up so we could go to the movie (Harry Potter). Not only did Diana only get up at the last minute, but it was a couple minutes after the last minute.

I was furious and miserable, thinking too much about missing the opening minutes. And this is me doing whatever the Fat One wanted, letting her see �Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire.� And Diana with her headache and not feeling well and me missing too much of the beginning just did not seem right. And the Fat One doesn�t quit with her bitching and swearing for no reason and complaining and whining. And the darkness of the film didn�t help me feel any better. �The Goblet of Fire� was way too dark. As in colors. And I couldn�t help blaming seasonal depression for it. I wrote at MySpace last night after the movie. Just a little entry to complain.

So, I am quite depressed last night. Then I�m online, and I get into a conversation with Phil. At first his handle (screen name) threw me off, and I thought it was Chelsey�s cousin, Cody. That kid depresses me because he says �Hey,� and then nothing else. So Phil says �Hey,� and I don�t know it�s Phil, so I say �hey� back, and then say something too rude about how he never says anything back. Then I realize its Phil and apologize. It�s funny how we treat some people so terribly and others like Jesus�.

Phil invited me to join his website (I promised him I would), and it turned out to be quite a cool-ass website. It looks very professional, and is written very well. It�s a forum and a little arcade site that he created with Doug. It�s f�n brilliant. So I�m a member there now, and wrote a couple things. I wanna write an article sometime.

So I�m online and Doug sends me an instant message saying that I should go to McB�s. It was gonna be only McB and Doug, so that�s just fun. But it is Halo, and Halo isn�t that great for a whole night, so I took the van and stayed until 1a.m. It was just what I needed.

20 minutes before I got there, my mom told me I couldn�t go because I was being terrible to my sisters. I let them go to Harry Potter, I let them let me miss the opening minutes (which might have ruined the movie for me, �cause my poor attitude during the whole thing didn�t allow me to enjoy it). The only thing I didn�t let them do was order a pizza. I had already eaten, and expected them to find something (which they fucking did), and I didn�t think spending all of Mom�s money on food would have been a good idea. �Why don�t you just eat a burrito or some ramen?� I asked.

�Cause we�re not cheap,� was the Fat One�s answer. I guess they aren�t cheap when it comes to spending someone else�s money. But that�s the kind of bitch she is, she really truly doesn�t care about anyone but herself. She�s the kind of person who needs too much attention and claims everyone else is the favorite. She just doesn�t get out much, and that really has messed her up. She depresses me since it is impossible for me to feel sorry for her. I hate how I hate her so much, but it�s just a powerful hatred.

Anyways...Mary was asking me the other day how I could hate her or how I could get so angry towards her...so I felt like I needed to answer that. The answer may come in the form of quite a lot of entries (you�d have to read my entire �diary�), but maybe nobody will ever fully understand. Usually I just hate talking about her, but...*sigh*...she talks to other people, like my cousins, about hating me. It�s sad how she talked about me on the cruise, that�s all I�ll say...right now I�m kinda just ranting in a pretty open entry here...I need to wrap it up a little.

But yeah, spending 2 hours with Doug and McB was seriously like being in heaven. I didn�t let the girl�s order a pizza because I had eaten and didn�t want them to get one by themselves...and here I was at McB�s, finished his pizza, which he told me to eat. It smelled like McB�s basement (of course), and brought back so many memories, and I was eating Domino�s, which is now my favorite pizza place. And they were playing a �Splinter Cell� game. It�s a pretty hilarious game, Doug gutted some badguys. It�s a stealth game that reminded me of the SO-good-ol�-days of the games of James Bond. Ohh...it was so much fun last night, just sitting back, relaxing in McB�s basement eating Domino�s pizza and watching them (and maybe even helping a little) beat a Splinter Cell mission.

It was great. I was in heaven for those two hours. Then I came home, watched �Mr. and Mrs. Smith� while testing out my Holiday-pack of Jones soda. They pretty much almost made me barf, but that�s okay. I have yet to try Turkey Gravy and Cranberry. Cranberry will probably be really good. But the other three would have been better off remaining a mystery. I can�t finish them, unless I wanna jump-start a vomit sometime, but some things in life are better off to remain a mystery.
With �Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire,� I just assumed that it was going to be one of those great well-made movies that are purely for fun. And my assumption was better than what it was. I didn�t, couldn�t enjoy it...and even Ralph Fiennes (Voldemort) couldn�t make it better (he helped, but what the hell was he wearing?). The Jones Sodas would have been better left untested. But this weekend, complete with a snow-day on Friday...was amazing. It�s still only 5p.m. right now...and I�ve got the house to myself.

And I�m wearing some really comfortable pants.

And my dad�s cooking one of those dinners that take all-day.

Oh, it�s a good day.

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "[Getting] Just What I Needed"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top