SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

"Young Life," my new experience
2003-10-13, 10:11 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

Today felt like a weekend. It felt like a Sunday because I know I have school tomorrow. I hate this feeling. Vicky and I hung out after school and then went to the Fat One's game where she didn't get to play at all. I have no idea why. It was fun to film though. It'd be fun to watch. I like working with a video camera, its so much fun.

From 7:30 to 8:30pm, I spent my time at a "clubhouse" named "Young Life." It started off weird where this girl came up to Vicky and I "I don't believe I've seen you here before."

She was really nice and it took me a while to say my name because she was talking with everyone. Then Steve, the leader of this thang came up to us to meet Vicky and I also. I'd heard about him from Doug. An exchange student was there also, Juan. He was the only guy I wanted to talk to besides the people who I came with, Vicky, Doug, Chels, and even Kim was there. We sang songs and told few stories. We also played a couple of funny games where Steve came out talking like Shaggy from Scooby-Doo. Cool guy, he is. He has a really good singing voice and an awesome talent with his guitar.

The whole thing was weird to me. The people introducing themselves was really weird to me. I know that SOUNDS nice, but I think my greatest problem was that I went in there thinking "I'm in a cult."

The people introducing themselves seemed to want to suck us into their little cult. There were so many people I would never expect to be in a thing like that. It was totally weird to me.

I'm sorry, Doug and Chels, I'm very glad that I tried it and now I can say "I went to Young Life," but it was too weird for me. I might go again if I didn't have any plans, but otherwise, I wouldn't make time for it.

Singing songs isn't something I like doing, and definitly not every Monday. I'm no fun. I did like some of Steve's comic attitude. He's a fun guy, but the whole time I was thinking "Why would these college people be doing this?"

I'm gonna end with the conclusion that they just wanted to meet people. I found out about it from Chelsey, nothing else. I don't know, it confuses me, and its never something I would do, although I would like to meet new people.

I liked the songs we sang, I just didn't sing along, haha. A lot of the other people didn't participate either, but some of them did seem really into it. I can't figure out why anybody would want too, no offense to any of you normal people out there. I'm very abnormal, and maybe I just need to get out more. I felt like watching "Fight Club" for the first time. I felt like all the clubs the main character went to were sick and he did that for help. I love that movie now, so maybe I just need to go to "Young Life" again, but I don't know how I could like that.

I wouldn't be doing "Young Life" for help. It wouldn't help me, and I don't need help. I wouldn't be doing it for God, because that club is almost nothing to do with God. The leaders were young and it made me sad to see them doing this. Why aren't they out making money? Maybe some people put money into it. Maybe it is a cult.

There will be a camp though, oh my gosh. I could not imagine going to a camp with those people, I would be frightened. I guess it makes me feel bad more than good. I dislike many of the people in it. Singing that much and sitting on the floor cross-legged isn't for me. I might try it again, but I do not know. I cannot say now.

It was disturbing to me for the FIRST time. I am really sorry about how I feel and I wish I enjoyed it. It was totally different than what I expected. I wish I saw the Matrix-like video that they did. I just remembered that. I was just disturbed tonight. I have a problem. I didn't know if I was going to like it, but I had a plan to go once and maybe not again. I do not know though.

I am glad I tried it though, thanks Doug and Chels.

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: ""Young Life," my new experience"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top