SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

Harry Potter and Ender's Game
2004-07-12, 7:14 a.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

I'm in that phase where I'm still remembering my dreams and awakening. Short phase. It's damn early but something told me to get up. I didn't feel like laying down. It's the first time I've ever felt that, I think. It's summer and I don't have school, otherwise, I definitely wouldn't have wanted to get up. Weird. I had a scary dream last night, I was in a swamp and this nasty centipede (it was huge) started getting tangled around my leg. I woke up, frightened. However, I did not wake up screaming (like I was in the dream) and I didn't jump up and I was not too sweaty. This is little proof that movies are fake.

Yesterday night I got back from my cottage. It was quite fun and I kinda wish I was still there. However, it was a long time, a week plus another weekend. And I need to write instead of just read. So here I am, writing.

For the beginning of the week, I needed to finish my Harry Potter book. I read on chapter on Saturday, the day we arrived, maybe two. I finished it on Monday. On Tuesday, I was feeling weird about finishing it because I felt like "That was it?" So I didn't read on Tuesday. Instead, I went to see the third Harry Potter movie. It was funnier than I expected, and a good movie. However, I liked the first one the best. I am an original-liking guy, so I usually like the originals better than the others. Almost always, if ever. That's why I watched the second Godfather film recently. I actually didn't like it all that much, and I commented to my dad about how I disliked the Robert DeNiro as Corleone scenes because they were just that random. I actually did like those scenes, but not the randomness. Dad said that I needed to read the books to understand it.

But I've read all five Harry Potter books. The only one I don't remember liking was the third one because of the ending where Harry and Hermione went back in time a little to change the story of the book. I felt that it was made up and I was wondering why everybody didn't have one of those things and now I wonder why the little time machine gadget hasn't been used again. Anyways, I thought that was awesome in the movie. It was really fun to watch. All these random things happened to our characters and then they're all explained, in the final scene with Harry and Hermione going back in time. Watching the scenes twice was a lot of fun, but it seemed kinda easy to do. They were really random, but it worked. You should see it to know exactly what I'm talking about. I saw the movie in Mackinac City, and that's the first time I saw a movie there. Most of the people saw "Spider Man 2," and I wanted to, but I'm glad I saw the third Harry Potter. Emma Watson is much better looking than Kirsten Dunst. The movie screen was much smaller than normal ones though and it was much higher, meaning I had to look up to see the movie. My least favorite part in the book (time travel) was my favorite part in the movie. The fourth one already has a director and is in production. That should have a really cool Quiddich scene and be a lot of fun. The fifth one...I want to direct. That'll be how I meet Emma Watson. Pray that happens.

Ron has always been my favorite character because he is always the funniest. Hermione is also awesome, she adds some girlish scenes, which is a good thing, and has some good lines. Harry is the deepest character. He gets the angriest in the books and in the movies he never says his lines in the funniest way. I'm sure the actor, Daniel Radcliffe is an awesome guy though. I want to meet him. I also want to meet Emma Watson, Hermione.

Since "Harry Potter and the Prizoner of Azkaban" was the only new movie I saw all week, it was the only one I could think about for the week. So I actually formed a little obsession with Emma Watson. She is hot! I wanted to read the sixth book right away just to think about her. I had brought another book with me, "Ender's Game," and didn't want to read it. New book, new characters, more to figure out.

The Harry Potter book characters are really great. I see now how awesome a writer JK Rowling is. She's really great and she's so much fun to read. But seriously, they could not have chosen better actors for the roles of Harry, Ron, and Hermione. Ron, redhead, is hilariously funny. Harry is not as funny, but you learn to love the guy. Hermione has some good lines, she's smart, but I don't think she's supposed to be that hot. Hot as in pretty and beautiful. But I'm sorry, I can't imagine any guys at my school walking around "Hermione's hot, dawg." That just doesn't seem like the type of thing to be the topic of conversation ever. So I need to move on too.

I'm planning on moving on to Sharon Stone. I want to see "Basic Instinct." I'm planning on calling Chelsey around 10:00am to see if she would go into town with me to rent that movie. She'd bring Killian, and I'd get to meet him. I've seen him, but not talked with him. Chelsey is his baby sitter.

I was a kid watcher two weeks ago. Watching Diana, her friend, and her friend's sister. The week wasn't the best, but it ended with me making a movie. I was behind camera mostly, and then showed up for a cameo as a monster hunter. It's a kids' movie, about clones turning evil and capturing other clones. It was fun to make, a LOT of fun to make and the girl's who acted for me, helped me too.

It took me a while to get into the book "Ender's Game" though. I read one chapter and then another and it was a slow process until I knew the characters and then just read. It took five days. On the fourth day, I put it down and made a sandman on the beach. I used the long beach grass around me to make him a grass skirt. I thought it was cool and so did my family.

"Ender's Game" was about a boy who is expected to protect the world from aliens known as "Buggers." He goes to military school where all the kids play "games" and I imagined these games as laser tag except when you get hit, that part of your body freezes. It sounded like something most people would have fun playing except they formed strategies and did them everyday for four years. Then Ender was sent somewhere else to play simulation games and defeat aliens. Of course there are many other characters and he meets some mean and good people. When other people pick on him, he fights them and there are two kids that he beats while they're on the ground. Later in the book he finds out that he killed them. This is really bad news for him because he feels like his brother, Peter, who is an abusive guy. Ender does think about him and his sister, Valentine, a lot throughout, but doesn't come in contact with Peter a whole lot. If Valentine wasn't his sister, there would have been a great love story there. They loved each other as brother and sister but it always seemed more. It was an awesome book full of little violence, space violence, if you can imagine, and it is just a really smart book. It was just plain good.

So now I have two books down and plenty to go. At the rate I'm going, I could read my three softcover books in one week. I'll write more later, though not a lot is happening.

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "Harry Potter and Ender's Game"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top