SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

Weekend Up North
2004-04-18, 9:07 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

Oh boy! I just got home from a fun filled weekend up north, and first of all, I must apologize to you, my screaming fan, that I didn't tell you about this sooner. Second of all, I got my license in the mail TODAY!

*Opens it*

"Gross." Is it possible to actually like your picture? I look like my uncle Rob (no offense to him) when he got married. I have longer hair, though I had just gotten a hair cut. My moustache isn't really visible though, which would make me look the most like Uncle Rob. Plus, my signature is total crap. I hate cursive. The A, for my middle name, looks like a 9. Poor uncle Rob. Mom says "Woohoo, lookin good." Ew.

I have more news on that situation and I promised I would keep you posted. Uncle Rob is the one who filed for divorce, I know, and I told you that. Me, being the one to blame the woman, Aunt Amy, lost respect for her. Well, I gained it all back tonight. Dad talked with Amy on the phone around Christmas and told her to come to the get together. Well, she refused because, for some reason she thought that that would make Uncle Rob want to stay with her. They were separated, I guess. She told my dad that she wanted to get back together with Uncle Rob, but still didn't want him at the house. So this is where my theory of the other woman comes in. That's still my theory. Well, now that I know that Amy actually wanted to get back together, I have gained respect. Uncle Rob, actually, was the one who was unhappy being married. He feels bad about it, though. I think Amy will get custody of their son Ben, who is about 5 years old.

So that's what I learned on the way home from the cottage. This was the first time going up north for me this year. I expected it to be crappy and yucky because of the snow and wind, but it was REALLY nice! On saturday there was sun. Friday night included beautiful lightning. I love lightning. I think its actually sexy. Haha.

So yeah, Friday after school I go up to the cottage with Dad. He drives the whole way. We talked a little bit, but I don't remember what about. We listened to my audio tapes of "Everybody Loves Raymond." It was fun and cool. He laughed a lot to it, which, I'm sure, had an effect as to how good of a mood he was put in. When we got there, the first thing we needed to do was turn on the electricity. Yeah, seriously. Then Dad turned on the water, and dammit, a pipe broke again. So, no bathroom or shower.

So, we decide to take a walk, starting out on the beach. It was a great night, Friday night. Dad wore a t-shirt while I wore my winter coat, like a dork. I wasn't yet used to not wearing it. We talked about little things. I read my Entertainment Weekly, so he had some tv show questions for me. I asked him about his girlfriends after college. He had a couple during college who were "study buddies," and I believe my dad on that, because I've known him, and these girls eventually got boyfriends and stopped studying with my dad, and he talked about how that hurt. He had one girlfriend before my mom that was close. But he didn't get any closer to her, they were different and then the girl broke up with him and my dad was, again, hurt. Obviously, he never forgot about that. Is it possible to forget about relationships? I dunno. There are certain things I will always want to remember, but those things are for another entry.

On the beach, I remember wanting to ask Dad his thoughts on women. In general, what he thought about women. I am sorry to say that I never asked.

Saturday, I woke up at noon, and Dad was watching "National Lampoons' Vacation." The plummer came about an hour after and while they worked on the piping, I played video games. The previous night, we watched "Goldeneye," and "Swordfish." My dad didn't like "Goldeneye" this time for some reason.

This was my favorite time watching that movie. It is the ultimate Bond movie. It shows Bond's weaknesses, women, his charm, cool Bond girls, good and bad (and naughty). It has huge action, including a tank chase down a town that wrecks buildings and smashes cars. There's drama. There's comedy, a funny Q scene. And there's a really awesome badguy. Go see it. It is my favorite James Bond movie.

After lunch, which was ham and swiss sandwiches on a bagel, we took a pretty long walk on the beach. We were quiet, but could both speak whenever we wanted. I still didn't ask him about his thoughts on women. Shadow came up with us and she could go anywhere. We trust this dog to do anything, including come back to us. I mean, she has the life. We allow her to do everything. She was about a hundred feet ahead of us or ten feet behind us the whole time. Accassionally she would walk into the water. It had to be freezing! She looked pretty funny walking in the water because she would drink it. Picture a dog walking and flipping its tongue like it was drinking on every step. Shadow is a cute dog, so she looks cute doing it. She seems so innocent of her dumbness, but it's funny to watch her.

After our nice long walk which took about an hour and forty-five minutes, we walked up to one of our neighbor's who own a huge house and a huge dog. Baxter, the name of the dog, likes to sniff Shadow's ass. They got along better this time. Shadow has really calmed down. Sue, who is from Ohio, is a high school counselor, so she told some funny stories of a kid in her school who is extremely gay. He has a lisp, too. I've always wondered how gay people get their lisp. Some don't have it, I guess, but I think it's so cool. "I like my lisp," Sue said the high school told her. That's it, I guess. But this kid really annouces his flameness.

Then we talked with another neighbor, also named Sue. She is alone up north except for her new chocolate lab, Heide. Heide is extremely wild, and if you bend over to pet her, she will smack your chin and that'll make your tongue slice in half because of your teeth. I, thankfully, did not experience this. Shadow used to be that wild, and it annoyed the crap out of me. Shadow didn't seem to like Heide very much, but I'm sure she will once summer rolls around. Can you believe another summer is already coming?

With both Sue's, I talked about how I was in a play over the winter and how I played a major role. Then we got into talking about my school's drama productions, and that's how she started talking about her school. This Sue has a funny southern accent and thinks she is the best. She talks and talks, but she's nice. She is a great person too. "This Sue," meaning the one with the big house. Sue "Dahooney," is the other Sue, who lives alone up north all year.

We went out to dinner, my dad and I did, with the big Sue, with the big house and big dog. For the one quiet moment, I peered over at the table next to us. There were four old people laughing at each other, and the woman sitting next to the window gave me the quote of the weekend.

QUOTE OF THE WEEKEND: "Condoms are so expensive these days." -Old woman in diner.

Yucky. Funny.

Dad and I went home, got the dog out, and took her for a walk on the road. Shadow is a trotting dog, I noticed.

That night we watched the first "Lethal Weapon," and half of "Bad Boys II."

Dad likes the first "Lethal Weapon" the best now. He noticed how, for the Thanksgiving weekend, we watched THREE movies a night. This time we barely watched two. This is because the sun doesn't go down that early anymore. For winter, the night was very young when the sun was going down.

Well, this weekend, I neglected to shower at all. I haven't showered since THURSDAY night! I'm PROUD of it! This Saturday, I missed out on a bon fire, I guess. I'm gonna ask some friends about that before I go off and take a shower that I need so badly.

Plans for the near future with Dad: Mom talked about how she may be busy for a couple weeks, so Dad and I might be going up to enjoy more nights of movies and going out to eat and walks on the beach. Dad told me he would show me his guns after watching a couple scenes at the firing range in "Lethal Weapon." Dad told me he would show me his records of Peter Gabriel in "Genesis."

"Pretty kick ass [weekend], I must say."

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "Weekend Up North"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top