SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

High Maintenance parenting
2004-08-09, 1:06 a.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

Being gone a week is like dying, and then coming back to life a week later. Well, I was up north, walking a mile on the beach everyday, walking past nice people who said "Hello," or even came up to me to get their dog off me. But no girls for me, a whole week, and my woman search didn't do anything for me. I didn't do anything to help it, though, but no girls looked at me twice, except one lady on the last full day of the "vacation," but she worked in a store and I just smiled back at her.

*sigh* It's kind of depressing. Me, dreaming everynight about somebody only ended up making me think about how the person is not thinking about me. If you think about it even harder, the person has no idea that I'm thinking of them either. Somebody is always thinking of you, and you probably have no idea about it, because you cannot read minds. Listening to the lake everynight put me right to sleep. I had a dream that I met Peter Gabriel at a park, and he gave me advice on parenting, because he thought I was there to watch a kid on the playground in front of us. So really, that was myself giving myself advice on parenting. Weird?

Uncle Rob came up with Ben on Friday, and the first day was waiting for dinner to come. Then we watched "Finding Nemo," and again the next day. Except, the next day, for the evening, we went to Mackinac City and walked around. Uncle Rob had never seen the bridge before and had never been in Mackinac City before. Did you know that the bridge is one of the largest ever built, and possibly the strongest ever built? It has to survive through strong winds and ice water below.

"Ben-jammin'" is such a handfull. He is known as a "high maintenence" child. Right now, through the divorce, he is being a problem child, putting on that act "Mommy would let me do what you won't let me do." Not only did he do that, but Uncle Rob gave in!

In Mackinac City, Ben wanted a slurpy, so my dad found where a slurpy place was and Uncle Rob bought it for him. Whenever Ben wanted to play my video games, Uncle Rob asked, but that was only the morning before we left.

I played cars with Ben on the bed in our guestroom, which was fun, it kept him occupied, but after a couple minutes, I was finished and told Ben to get the ambulance car and take all of my dead cars to the hospital, and got outta there. So Uncle Rob, who should be so tired of all of this, treats Ben like the prince he acts like.

Any normal kid nowadays would say that was the coolest Dad. But sometimes, it is possible to be too awesome. When Ben gets any older, do you think he'll notice the coolness of his dad? Think about how his dad will be as cool now as he will be in years. If not more demanding or harsh or finally sick of Ben's demandingness himself.

Uncle Rob is an awesome guy, but for his own sake, he is too awesome. There is a limit, and Uncle Rob is over it. Or maybe that is Ben who is over it. Lucky child, you would think. Ben will not understand until his friends talk about how they wish they had as cool a Dad as Ben has.

Ben reminds me of Melissa, one of my cousins, a normal girl, but Ben reminds me of this young woman. He talks like her. I'm afraid of his lispy-talk affecting his queer eye. Our family does not include any supermodels, and I don't see Ben looking at other women. How do you control that? I'm worried about the kid. I'm worried about Uncle Rob. I'm not worried about the mom/wife. She talked to Ben on the phone at the laser show in Mackinac City, and after Ben was done on the phone, he cried for his mommy (which, to me, would hurt if I were the Dad) until my dad and I agreed to go home.

This is how divorces affect children, and this totally sucks for Uncle Rob. There were certain things Uncle Rob didn't want to do, and my mind thought of this, but I'm wondering if it was because certain things remind him of the wife. Like, the raft he gave us a couple years ago, my dad asked if he remembered and he said "Yeah, that was a wedding gift."

QUOTE OF MY DREAM: "Some Dad's have life-draining jobs, and when kids learn that, they back off. Then, neither one makes an effort." The point being all guys and their kids need to have some nights out. Just like the guys and their wives. This doesn't have much to do with Uncle Rob, but he is a father. This dream was Thursday night, I think. That was what Peter Gabriel said. He was a Grandpa. That was different than his "Father, Son" song.

The girls, my sisters, I mean, got a couple of jobs over the week. They baby-sat and house sitted for another neighbor. They made $30 and at the end of the week, Diana asked me how much I made. "I'm on vacation."

I did make good money for the one day the Fat One and I bailed straw for Grandpa, but the weather was not to our advantage and that day was the only day we could do anything. I hate money, but I like a bunch of stuff, so I need one to get the other, I guess.

I need money though. I want a job.

~~~~

I'm missing out on a couple movies. I have a large list of movies to see and it got longer. For one, I must see "Collateral," because Tom Cruise should be awesome as a badguy. I don't like either of the leading actors, but the movie has good reviews and it looks really good, too. I also must rent "Kill Bill vol. 2," which finally came out. I can't wait. The week up north was fun, and it went damn fast, but it was fun.

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "High Maintenance parenting"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top