SPECIAL FEATURES
email me at [email protected]

the latest

the entries

the profile

quotes page 1

quotes page 2

quotes page 3

notes

blogspot

host

design

Internet Movie DataBase

IQ Test
Free-IQTest.net - IQ Test Quote of the Day:

New Movies; Presents; Camera Work
2005-03-05, 3:25 p.m.

WARNING!!!! If you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of reading things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is okay to read, save yourself, and me, the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, I.E. my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. This I hope you keep in mind, and thank you for reading.

Everyday this week felt like Friday, especially Tuesday, which was a needed snow day, but any snow day is needed...not just wanted. School sucks so damn much. For instance, in my Spanish class, I've been doing nearly perfect all year until now...la senora doesn't teach anymore. She gives us videos (I use the word video instead of movie for a reason) and books to read with huge packets that go with them and...basically "Here you go, do the work, I'll see you when grades go out."

Wednesday was McB's birthday, so shouts out to him, 17 years old. He can go see R rated movies now. Even though he looks 20 years old. His birthday party is tonight.

Last Monday, I'm walking home like every other Monday, walk inside, kick Shadow out of the house, walk to my basement door...and there's a box. On this box is "The movies you have requested have arrived."

It felt like Christmas morning. There was a couple days where I was obsessed with this DVD club thing I found in a magazine and thought it was too good of an opportunity to pass up. So I signed up for it, wrote the movies that I wanted (they took hours to choose), and sent it in, never expecting to get anything in return.

But they arrived, and there was a moment I felt all too happy...I think I even skipped to my bedroom. I kept looking at the box thinking "Oh my God, it worked!"

I couldn't get the box open, but that didn't bother me, I wanted the moment to last. I didn't recall all of the movies I requested, but I remembered some of them, waiting for the surprise of opening my box to hit me every time I looked at one of my film selections.

Once I got the box opened, I looked at the first movie, it was just a fun movie that I knew I would watch, "Secret Window." Damn that Johnny Depp, he rocks. The next one I saw was "Dumb and Dumber," haha, a classic. Then, "The Ring," one of the scariest movies I have seen. It is well made and as of last night (Friday), it is the first movie of the...SEVEN that I bought (for $20)...that I have seen since I bought them.

"Mystic River" was the next one I saw, so happy to own that brilliant excuse for Entertainment. It's such a good movie! The next two are two that I have needed to own for quite a long time..."Gladiator" and "Braveheart." Sweet good movies, right there. And the last one that was in the box was "The Matrix Revolutions," which I have decided is a good movie! I hated it, so disappointed when I walked out of the IMAX version, but it's actually good and really smart. I like it. Except for some acting.

So now that I own seven new movies, I get to watch them, and had plans to maybe watch more than one or maybe more than two per night this weekend, but as it so happens, I got a job (which will be talked about soon).

But because of this job, I had to get up at...like 7am this morning. That's earlier than school, folks. And tonight I have McB's party, which will prolong my wait for viewing another of my new movies. I don't watch movies during the week, by the way. Only television...if anything good is on. Which there isn't ever anything good except Mondays. But "The Simpson�s" and "70s Show" reruns everyday makes the day go by less boringly.

For McB�s thing, I�m not getting him anything. Getting friends gifts is just�I dunno. I mean, everybody appreciates getting stuff, but does anybody like giving stuff? If any of you girls out there like giving, we love you, but guys pretty much don�t like that. I mean, seeing their face when they get new stuff is�not even cute, its like seeing greed. And whenever I get stuff I have to act like it�s something really cool unless, of course, it is something cool. You can�t go wrong just getting me a movie. I don�t like getting or getting money, it�s not personal �n stuff.

Chelsey and I get stuff for each other, or we did last year, and she�s pretty much the only friend I exchange with. Which is weird, because I don�t usually do stuff with her any other time�unless it�s with a group of people, I guess. I owe her a phone call sometime�a boredom call, �Hey, I�m bored, lets do something.�

I was hired a couple of weeks ago to go film a conference and that�s where I was today. It was incredibly boring, but the speakers weren�t bad speakers, except for the one girl in the end. I was almost asleep, really. They had pizza and salad for lunch and that wasn�t bad. I had never heard of the pizza place before, so I knew it couldn�t be that good, so I dipped it in ranch dressing. But I gotta say, I like having a camera, even though I�m not really good with the camera. See, for a conference, you can�t really pause/record a lot, you hit record, and film the people talking. You can�t pick out the highlights or anything, it�s not that hard, it�s as simple as it sounds.

But I always tried getting the people in the audience, whenever they would speak. And I did. I got them, and it looked cool, there are good close ups of people, maybe adding a dramatic effect. Whenever somebody told a joke, I would zoom out to get everyone laughing. But I actually had to move the camera a lot. People don�t move out of the camera�s view for you, so there is a lot of shaky camera shots�which sucked. And since it was on the tripod, you see me tripping over one of the legs every so often, trying to get a better angle. It was�harder�than you would think.

I don�t make it harder, I hope I made it look better, but hey, I got done what needed to be done. I dunno what the people will think of it, all I know is I�m not sitting through it again when I copy it.

~~

Quote of the Day: "My father used to say to me, 'Show 'em what you can do, and don't worry about what you're gonna get. Say you'll work for free and make yourself invaluable.'" - Clint Eastwood, one of my favorite directors. Except, he's really organized and doesn't spend a lot of time on one scene, often, his first takes are the ones he uses. That seems really stressful. But real. How is that good for his movies? His movies are so good, and I don't understand how.

| | Back to Top

Current Entry: "New Movies; Presents; Camera Work"

Previous Entry -- Next Entry

Lets keep it PG, mkay?

Have you missed any?
Life's a beach - 2014-07-11
Faith - 2014-06-11
l SXSW Notes l - 2014-03-28
Teaching; Lower Your Expectations - 2014-03-17
Slut-shaming - 2014-03-15
Back to Top